We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (840)
Filter reviews
840 results
Traveller rating
568
204
45
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
568
204
45
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews business trip excellent hotel guest relations lobby bar turkish bath breakfast buffet swimming pool steam room spa center central location enjoyed my stay sushi non smoking room rooms are spacious visiting almaty special thanks central asia
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 840 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2018

I really enjoyed the hotel but too many minor niggles to give it a 5*

1) Really annoying and jarring discordant harsh trumpet jazz music in public areas, NOT what I what as peaceful music to enjoy breakfast or before I set off for work. Moreover it was on a loop and alternated with lovely classical music but repeated EVERY day. I imagine this is what hell must be like.

2) Only 2 tiny cups in room for tea with NO saucers, and 2 tiny wineglasses. In the bathroom 2 small tumblers. Why? I'd like a decent range of tumbles and mugs please.

3) The TV would cut out after 3 or 4 minutes. I would hear the click in the electrical box, then have to re-boot it. So annoying I gave up and did not try to use it much, but tried each day same result. Ans such a small cheap one with small screen size. There are bigger ones in 3* hotels.

4) Aircon could not be lowered easily. It was winter but seems the air was set at 25C and even lowering the thermostat could not change the room temp. Sweltering.

5) Some really weird security staff.

6) Some really weird unsmiling, glassy eyed very tall and skinny red dressed ladies in the lobby standing by lifts and in front of the restaurant. What is their purpose? They were sure not welcoming or had any charm about them.

6) A weird spigot in the toilet bowl which got dirty every time I used the loo. Unhygienic - you'll see what I mean! I had to use a jug of water to wash it off each time. Yuk.

7) Huge and impressive bath in the room, but being very deep means difficult to get into, and out, and you can't lie flat and you can't sit up easily. There also did not seem to be a switch for the pump, so just a bath, not a spabath

Other than that the room was large and well furnished, breakfast was a reasonable choice, staff such as wait and front dessk were really nice and polite, and driver from the airport really good. But no 5 from me!.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zakaria T, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to write such a detailed review. We appreciate your overall nice rating and delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel overall as well as the staff, though there were some points we still could do better. Indeed candid your feedback as yours helps us to improve the service we are delivering to our guests.

Regarding the first point, every 4-5 months we change our background music and classic one was chosen in order to contribute the atmosphere of the business hotel.

Upon your next stay, we definitely provide a decent range of mugs for tea/coffee as well as in the bathroom.

We are sorry that TV and air conditioning did not work properly. Your comments were shared to further follow up to our Chief Engineering. Hopefully, upon your next stay, there will be no this type of shortfalls. Having said that, may we kindly ask you to inform us of any future technical issues, so that we can solve it right away.

The red dressed ladies you met in the lobby of the hotel were from the company which held its event in Rixos to meet and greet the visitors of the event and not related to the hotel team.

The spigot you mentioned in the bathroom is a bidet which many our guests found useful and worth to have. Nonetheless, your comments were shared with Executive Housekeeper.

Once again thank you very much for your comments and suggestion. We are looking forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Central location next to beautiful green park, spacious lobby full of flowers and trees. Fast and responsive service for 24 hours. Delicious dining and great variety of food for breakfast. Enchanting spa experience, one of the largest indoor hotel swimming pools. Rooms are clean and spacious, free amenities and bottled mineral water on demand.

Room tip: Park view is the the best. Should try swimming pool and spa, helps to relax. Cheaper to order taxi using UBER, GRAB or Yandex Taxi.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Oybek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zakaria T, Director of Rooms and Guest Relations Department at Rixos Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear Mr. Oybek K,

Thank you very much indeed for choosing our hotel and sharing your great experience with other guests.
It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay and loved many aspects of our hotel including the location, food, rooms and pools. We hope we continue to remain your hotel of choice for many more visits to come.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

The hotel is probably one of the best best hotels in Almaty. Great lobby to spend some time, spacious rooms, great breakfast, good service.
Good location (you can also use Uber Taxi to go anywhere).
If you're planing to spend some time in hotel (working, meeting etc.) this hotel is where you should stay.

Room tip: Rooms connecting with suit rooms can be smaller
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guzin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zakaria T, Director of Rooms and Guest Relations at Rixos Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Mr. Guzin K,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much indeed for your warm and positive comments about our hotel services and facilities and most importantly for selecting our hotel as your accommodations of choice when you visited Almaty.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and moreover, we are happy to hear that you liked the service first, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Rixos Almaty.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you again as a regular guest and wish you the best in your business endeavors.

Sincerely Yours,

Zakaria Tamni,
Director of Rooms and Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

We spent a night at the Rixos hotel and enjoyed our stay very much. Our room is spacious, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The balcony has a pleasant street view. Bathroom is clean and rain shower works great. We spent a lovely day relaxing at the hotel. Dinner at Brassier restaurant was terrific. Breakfast has a wide selections and choices. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zakaria T, other at Rixos Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear Mrs. Caroline D,

Thank you for your kind words and the time you took to share them with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed our hospitality, room cleaning, accommodation and dinner in Brasserie Restaurant.

Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Best Regards,
Zakaria Tamni
Director of Rooms and Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

Very nice hotel and a positive experience from beginning to end. Nothing too much trouble for the professional and helpful staff. The hotel itself is modern without being super-chic, with spacious rooms, great bathrooms, free wifi, satellite TV....everything you need. Room service came within 20 minutes of ordering, and the location is very central and convenient. Would happily stay again.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bennelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zakaria T, Front Office Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Dear Mr. Bennelong,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much indeed for your warm comments about our hotel services and facilities, and for choosing Rixos Almaty while you visited our city.
We are happy that you enjoyed the comforts of your room and the central location of the property.

Your comments will be shared with our team members accordingly and we will be looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews