We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should visit again”
Review of East

East
Ranked #81 of 2,144 Restaurants in Almaty
Cuisines: Japanese
Description: The contemporary Pan-Asian restaurant East is famous not only for the best dishes from Malaysia, Thailand, Vietnam, Japan, China and Singapore, but also for its distinguished interior design. It is not just an attractive decor, it is also a beautiful story. A story about river and ocean, authentic boats that were used by fishermen in the Indian Ocean, and the unique work of art by the modern artist George Pusenkoff - Big Wave. The chef of East, Mamu (Rashidin Abd Rashid, Malaysia), has an impressive experience: he worked for the Hilton hotel chain, Formula-1 and many Hollywood stars. He personally supervises all the stages of creating the culinary masterpieces - from purchasing products to serving the dishes. Every dish of the restaurant menu combines respect for the cultural traditions of Asia and the European approach to presentation.
Restaurant details
Description: The contemporary Pan-Asian restaurant East is famous not only for the best dishes from Malaysia, Thailand, Vietnam, Japan, China and Singapore, but also for its distinguished interior design. It is not just an attractive decor, it is also a beautiful story. A story about river and ocean, authentic boats that were used by fishermen in the Indian Ocean, and the unique work of art by the modern artist George Pusenkoff - Big Wave. The chef of East, Mamu (Rashidin Abd Rashid, Malaysia), has an impressive experience: he worked for the Hilton hotel chain, Formula-1 and many Hollywood stars. He personally supervises all the stages of creating the culinary masterpieces - from purchasing products to serving the dishes. Every dish of the restaurant menu combines respect for the cultural traditions of Asia and the European approach to presentation.
Reviewed 3 December 2017

Everything was good at this restaurant! Very friendly staff, fantastic food, great athmosphere and even music really nice. They offer a variety of fresh seafood and panasian dishes that are indeed delicious. I decided to take udon noodles and duck salad and wasn't disappointed. Sauces are very good. They announced a new turkish dessert pahlave, and it's also extremely tasty. Chef was going around. A waiter and manager took care of the dinner. Thank you a lot, East! Should visit next time for brunch.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diabalde M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meruyert A, Quality Manager at East, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Dear Diabalde M,

Thank you for sharing your dining experience at EAST!
We are glad that you enjoyed our pan-asian dishes, great atmosphere and caring staff!
Our Team puts a great effort into making every guest's visit outstanding and your kind words are indeed a wonderful reward.

Once again, thank you for visiting us!
We hope to welcome you again soon.

Warmest regards.
EAST

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2017

A restaurant with very good service, dishes, design and atmosphere. They greet you from the main entrance. Clearly and interestingly explain the dishes. Food is superb! Combination of salmon and cheese in the rolls was so soft and tasty... Ginger tea is one of the best I've ever had. Ilyas was helpful and pleased me with the ceviche advice. For me, their service is the level up among the most places in Almaty. Car parking service is an advantage. Must-visit restaurant for sure.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gastronautian14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meruyert A, Quality Manager at East, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear gastronautian14,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent visit at EAST restaurant.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We would like to thank you for highlighting our service, superb dishes, design and atmosphere. Your words make us very proud of what we do to to ensure we deliver an extraordinary dining experience!

Your comments have been shared with Ilyas&the rest of the team and we are all looking forward to welcome you again soon!

Once again, thank you for visiting us.

Warmest regards,
EAST

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Must come and dine here. For Malaysians best of u ask for Mamu the chef here; as he can make special malaysian dish for you.

Thank shfauziyahsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meruyert A, Quality Manager at East, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Shfauziyahsm,

Thank you for taking the time to share your dining experience at EAST!
Your kind words are our biggest reward. We are truly delighted to read that you enjoyed our cuisine - Chef Mamu sends you his best regards!

Looking forward to get a chance to serve you again soon!

Best wishes,
EAST

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Today should have been my party. But East has changed our table from nonsmoking for smoking. Guests have a little child and smoking is unacceptable. We had to change a restaurant at last minute! It's a bad attitude for such an expensive restaurant like East.

Thank Inesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meruyert A, Guest Relations Manager at East, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Inesh D,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your booking experience with EAST Restaurant.

While I regret the inconvenience caused to you on a special occasion, your comment comes as a total surprise for us. As discussed with the management, we have contacted you on the phone in advance to inform about the upcoming wine event and offered you both alternatives to avoid inconvenience, as well as the non-smoking floor.

Our guests’ feedback is what helps us in meeting and exceeding our guest expectations. Hence, we would like to get a deeper understanding of what had happened to ensure everything goes perfect during your visit. If you would like to discuss the matter further, kindly contact us at info@pgr.kz.

Looking forward to hearing from you soon.
Kind regards,
EAST

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Walked in on Saturday evening and was able to get a table upstairs. Very nice place both upstairs, down or outside. Food was good. Asian mix with menu with photos so it’s easy to choose. Lemonades were good too. Service was fast and friendly even in a busy evening. For a good Shisha and mixed Asian cuisine and pleasant trendy atmosphere- the choice is right. Location is central and upper, plus they provide valet parking. Recommended.

Thank Azat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meruyert A, Quality Manager at East, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Azat B,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your pleasant experience at EAST!
We are glad to know that numerous factors such as service, cuisine, atmosphere, location and shisha have made it worth spending your Saturday evening with us.
Our Team puts a great effort into making every guest's visit outstanding and your kind words are indeed a wonderful reward.

Once again, thank you for dining with us!
We hope to welcome you again soon.

Warmest regards.
EAST

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed East also viewed

Almaty, Kazakhstan
Almaty, Kazakhstan
 
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Almaty, Kazakhstan
 
Almaty, Kazakhstan
 

Been to East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing