We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
354
13
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
13
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teaour honeymoonbrown lemurshis teamfishthe reservenight walklocal communityprivate beachclamsflora and faunaboat tripvery special placeindian oceanspent daysdry forestan adventure
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2017

We returned here for a much anticipated stay, 7 nights this time. Still a beautiful special place, expertly run. The staff are delightful and helpful. The tables were sometimes put by the swimming pool for dinner which is lovely, and on one night our table was in the Oasis , a magical experience. Afternoon tea in the Oasis is delightful, watching the sifikas and lemurs is a unique treat. The view from our room was unobstructed beach and sea, great for sunsets.
Probably the villa bathrooms might be due soon for a bit of a refurb, but it hardly matters, the rooms are very well looked after with lots of nice little extra touches.
Enjoyed our week there very much, it passed to quickly!

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach side of the boardwalk don't have anyone walking past the front of them.
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank llewellynroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

You can only reach this resort by plane and so it feels really remote.
The resort was amazing. The rooms were beautiful, there were good facilities but what was the most special was tea at the oasis every day and having the lemurs around you.
The staff were so helpful and wonderful and always remembered your name and preferences. They made so many personal touches to make the experience so special for us.
The food was hands down the best in Madagascar. It was actually very high by any standards. Apparently some Americans find the portions a bit small but I am not so I was fine.
The rooms were lovely too. They were in keeping with the nature around.
The wifi is not great but I think that is a good thing, and this is common in some of the remote parts of Madagascar.
Can't thank everyone at the hotel enough for this amazing experience.

Room Tip: Rooms can be a little far from reception
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

We concluded our 14 day Madagascar visit with 3 days at this hotel. It was an outstanding experience in every way. Having spent 30 plus years in the hotel industry I cannot say enough about the incredible staff. Honest, kind, caring and hospitable in every way.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrphillips2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

We stayed here in 2010 and 2014 and were so glad to have the opportunity to come back, and to stay for a week this time which wasn't a day too long. As usual we loved how the lemurs are so close and how they fed on the trees around our villa, the beautiful beach, sea and swimming pool, the walks in the dry forest both on our own and with a guide, visiting the caves in the tsingys in the forest and going on a sunset boat cruise in the mangroves. The food quality was rather mixed this time, not as good as three years ago, apart from the snacks at tea time in the oasis which had improved. Our table for dinner one night was laid in the oasis and it was so pretty with lanterns hanging from the trees.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank MyrtleWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

We spent the final 4 days of a 2 week Madagascar trip staying at Anjajavy and we definitely saved the best 'til last. The resort is beautifully maintained, and provides the opportunity for quiet relaxation or activity in equal measure - all in a wonderful setting overlooking the Mozambique Channel. The hotel is run by local people who are all passionate about what they do, whether related to running the hotel, cooking up excellent meals using locally sourced ingredients or escorting guests on the various activities or walks in and around the reserve. The staff were charming and went out of their way to make our experience the best it could be.
Daily afternoon tea in the Oasis garden is a highlight and a chance to see lemurs up close yet in their natural habitat.
We loved it!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews