We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Simple Hotel near to SG & JB Sentral - need improvement” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru
Ranked #84 of 104 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Simple Hotel near to SG & JB Sentral - need improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

This Hotel is few kms away from JB Sentral. Good for visitors who have their Own Transport.

* The view of Singapore City is very good and can watch the Causeway Bridge & Woodlands Checkpost from this Hotel ( which is in JB / Malaysia )

The Sultan's Fort view is also good .

We had a warm welcome from the front office staff and the stay was good.

Few points were - the Bath room was very small and not clean when we checked in.

Hotel Rooms not have WIFI but can use internet by having a cable ( got from the Reception Staff )

I could watch Vasantham TV ( Singapore ) in my room so could able to spend the nite watching the news channel.

Carparking is not so good in this hotel.
Breakfast was simple food with traditional Malay items but however other items like Milk, Cornflakes can help foreign visitors.

Value for money as i booked thru Agoda.com

Visiting JB Sentral is very easy ( with our own car ) as it was very near.

The Glass Temple ( Rajakaliamman Temple ) and RajaMariamman Temples are very near.

Overall the stay was good.

Room Tip: Please carrry an Internet Cable - Because the Hotel asks for 15 RM Deposit for a small Cable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsdurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Guest Relations Manager at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Thank you for spending some valuable time reviewing us.

We appreciate your kind comments and certainly look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    22
    39
    25
    28
See reviews for
20
17
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

got myself a deluxe room since standard room located eithin the creepy old block. the reception was so slow in dealing with check-in throught agoda. fir parking, you have to park at old block for better security. the room was big but average... no nice decor or wow facilities inside.... too simple & quite disappointed with this hotel for its awesome location. strategic near CIQ and Stualang Street. facing the Tebrau Straits toward Singapore but we got a room facing an empty wall of the neighbouring hotel! the breakfast still acceptable for he price etc RM158.00 that we've paid. overall was average. do not expect anything except for a sleep and meal. such a waste for this kind of location.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goshocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Stayed there on 17/6 for a business trip. Given room at the south wing on the 7th floor. Nicely done with the basic things. Twin sharing room. Very good location near to the Zon, next to JB Sentral and you can see the causeway from the balcony.
I must say that the front office employees are attentive and responsive.
My second stay was on 20/6 also for a business trip. Stayed at the south wing again but a different room. Still the same twin shaing setup and happy with the room for the price that was paid.
A decent hotel at a strategic location.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MHasni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur,malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

I stayed in a room with a view of the strait.the room is pleasantly decorated. Functional and have everything that I need.
I love the fact that it is loacted very close to the check point to Singapore.Convenient for me because visit Singapore is part of my itinerary.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mad_yahya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

I was impressed with the courtesy of the staff and the way they handle my bookings and stay.

Room Tip: For single traveller, ask for main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eddy1KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Sentral Johor Bahru
Hotel Sentral Johor Bahru
#74 of 104 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.3 km away
Meldrum Hotel
Meldrum Hotel
#54 of 104 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
8.0 km away
Grand Hallmark Hotel
Grand Hallmark Hotel
#75 of 104 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#27 of 104 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
8.5 km away
Silka Johor Bahru
Silka Johor Bahru
#31 of 104 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
2.6 km away
Ritzton Hotel
Ritzton Hotel
#39 of 104 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru

Property: Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru
Address: No 10 Jalan Bukit Meldrum | Tanjung Puteri, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 104 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price range (per night): RM71 - RM107
Hotel Class:3 star — Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and AAE Travel Pte Ltd so you can book your Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suria City Hotel, Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing