We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant ”
Review of Gianni's Trattoria

Gianni's Trattoria
Ranked #19 of 1,244 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 15 December 2018 via mobile

Loved Gianni’s.... always
Special main dish which is not in the menu.
Check out this special dish.
Salmon Mango Chutney
We all loved this special dish all the time. Thank you, Mr Hans. We love you.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Juara101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2018 via mobile

Ambience as pretty good especially for Christmas. Felt the pizzas were OK. Soups were quite good. Worth a visit definitely.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank nik_men
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 November 2018

My dinner at the restaurant was wonderful.
The staff were welcoming and friendly.
I’ve ordered Fried Calamari, mushroom soup, pan-fried sea bass, petto di pollo aka pan fried chicken with cheese, tiramisu, cappuccino and ice lemon tea. The bill came up to RM 319 (with service charge and service tax).
They served focaccia right up that was accompanied with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. It was excellent – I love it so much that I bought a loaf home.
Mushroom soup – It is not the creamy soup. It has lots of real mushroom and with a spoon of full cream. It was tasty.
Calamari – well fried. Not too oily and the portion is big. Good to share for 3.
Pan-Fried Sea bass with assorted seafood – the fish was excellent. However, the shells that accompanied with the assorted seafood was not the most fresh. Overall, it was still good.
Petto Di Pollo – it was chicken with cheese when you cut the meat in half. It taste great. The mushroom and grains (which I can’t identify) was nice too. It is a filling dish.
Tiramisu – It is very nice to end with a dessert but not suitable for kids. The fingers were soak with alcohol that I felt warm after eating it.
I like the ambience and the food. I will be back with my kids in tow to try out the fire-bake pizza.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Ulily
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

Gianni bit around for quite some time. It's a well known authentic Italian restaurant for local scene, warm light ambience which suitable for dating and reservation will be needed for dinner as most of the time it's full. Second time here, ordered the lunch menu set on Saturday, crowd was lesser and no pre booking needed. Love the pre meal bread with vinegar/olive oil and the creamy pumpkin soup. The lunch set is around 60rm ++ per pax. Good portion and tasty as usual, would recommend their pasta and barramundi risotto. Out of lunch set dessert, we have chosen tiramisu, quite a big piece for two persons =) overall nice experience again and recommend for aunthetic Italian food seeker

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank ych2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2018

It was already 11.40 am and we were hungry and drove pass this place and saw a waiting staff writing the Special of the Day menu on the board. Parked the car and became the first customer. Ordered a set lunch of pasta that came with salad and drink. For ala carte, we ordered the lamb and risotto. Serving not big but the taste is really good. They served us warm bread that went well with our mushroom soup. Tiramisu was also good. A bit pricey when compared to the surrounding area cafe, but i would say it is value for money.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Gianni's Trattoria also viewed

 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Gianni's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.