We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
HolidayInn.com
US$50
View Deal
Free cancellation until 11/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
getaroom.com
US$55
US$45
View Deal
SAVE US$10
Hotels.comUS$50
Booking.comUS$50
Trip.comUS$55
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
13
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
13
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews within walking distance jbcc level ciq lift
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2020

Booked 2 rooms from 27th Dec to 29th Dec. A total of 6 pax. Hotel is strategically located with a fantastic view overlooking the city center, causeway and Singapore. Surprised by the amount of shops and things we could do around this part of the city surrounded by a blend of new and old shops. Hotel is new and rooms were very clean and very comfortable. A lot of preparation to ensure social distancing . Staff were always helpful and courteous... gave us a 5 star treatment. Buffet breakfast with a standard choice was delicious. My family really enjoyed ourselves and we plan a return trip soon.

Date of stay: December 2020
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keyin Tay, Marketing at Holiday Inn Johor Bahru City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2021

Hi Peter O, first of all, thanks for sharing your review on your recent stay with us. We are glad to know that our team have hit every mark! We definitely looking forward to serve you again at Holiday Inn Johor Bahru City Centre. Till then, do stay safe there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2020 via mobile

newly opened last month and what better time to stay than now since we are currently under cmco.
room - clean and bright with good view of our town. there's a sofa plus a table and chair for work/dining. also provided are coffee/tea facilities, mini fridge, ironing facilities, hair dryer, safe and slippers.
bathroom - clean and spacious with automated blind for privacy if preferred. this hotel is the most generous i have come accross so far; providing 3 sets of face, hand and bath towels for two pax. the body lotion, hand & bath gel, shampoo and conditioner are from australia and smell awesome. water pressure is good
parking - ample roof top parking space on level 7 and it's FREE; just exchange the ticket at the concierge for an exit pass. lobby is two flights of stairs above or you could use the lift.
cafe - spacious and cosy. buffet breakfast was available this particular day we stayed with distribution of disposable gloves to guests. despite cmco, the spread was very good and staff were serving drinks and sending requested foods to guests' tables.
staff - polite and friendly.
location - above jbcc shopping centre and adjacent to city square shopping centre. you can also conveniently walk to CIQ or R&F shopping centre along a sheltered walkway. the numerous cafes and night bazaar are also within walking distance.
others - there is a swimming pool on level 32 and although closed during cmco we could still access just to get a view. it is breathtaking and even more so during sunset. also on the same level is a gym which is open 24 hours.

do come and stay

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank lingwongsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keyin Tay, Marketing at Holiday Inn Johor Bahru City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2020

Hi lingwongsl,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us, and we are happy to know everything was great! Our team work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we are happy to hear that we hit the mark. Do come back soon! Till then, stay safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2020

A brief review of my recent business trip:

- Location: goes without saying that it is strategically located in JB town centre and within walking distance to many points of interests: JBCC, CIQ, and even Princess Cove (via the covered bridge walkway).

- Parking access: you may have read on other websites about customers' complains about parking on Level 7 (with direct access of hotel lifts) of the Komtar JBCC mall. Well, it's actually not that bad - you drive up a ramp off the main road and enter the car park at Level 3, and then just a few more levels up in the comfort of your car. Easy. [note: columns at the entry to the downhill ramps are quite narrow, so drive carefully.]

- Parking facility: I'm not the first and will not be the last to comment on this. The problem is that Level 7 is open air parking, i.e. not covered. So your car gets heated up in the hot sun and/or you get wet when it rains, which happens very often in recent months. There is a small covered parking area, but it was cordoned off for some reason which was not disclosed. Was informed that you can park on Level 5 & 6, however there's no direct lift access to the hotel. You will have to use the mall lifts to get to ground floor and then walk to the hotel ground floor entrance. Notwithstanding, parking is free.

- Hotel room: nicely designed, well-appointed and clean. The mattress and pillows are very comfortable - note the pillows with hard and soft types are clearly labelled in the stitching. Good sized bathroom (stayed at premier room) with solid sanitary wares, fittings and fixtures. Particularly loved their permanent large bottles of body wash, shampoo, conditioner & lotion: very eco- and user- friendly. Oh yes, and the bath towels are very soft and fluffly. One other point to note: the size & dimension of the hotel room floors are straightforward rectangular and not too long - i.e. access from the lift to your room door is a relatively short walk (I am comparing to some other 5* hotels in JB).

- Overall hotel and facilities: am happy with the overall look and feel - stylish, yet inviting and comfortable. Didn't get time to use any of the facilities, but I'm pretty sure they won't disappoint.

- Food: now this is a "hit & miss".
(1) seafood chowder - tasty. But at RM33, you would expect some decent bitesize portions of fish, whole prawns, etc. and NOT bits and bobs of tiny seafood 'crumbs'. [note: compare it to Amari hotel's 'seafood hor fun' which is similarly priced but very generously decked out. Unfortunately its taste was under par.]
(2) lamb shank - flavorful, well seasoned, tender, al-dente vegetables. Good.
(3) pasta carbonara - let's just say I won't be ordering this again.

Breakfast - something everyone looks forward too. Now, due to the pandemic and low occupancy, there's no buffet but instead a set breakfast menu. Surprisingly, I'm happy to report that they have done this well - the plated food looks appetizing; a table selection of cold cuts is wheeled to you; choice of freshly baked pastries or toasts with a selection of condiments is provided; and if you are able you can continue to order other hot foods after your set is finished. My gripe and a definite focus area for improvement is the quality: poached egg is overcooked and is a mess; chocolate croissant is overbaked until the chocolate inside is burnt; cheeses are stale and harden (remember to request them to cut a fresh piece and slice off the fridge-harden 'skin').

Would I say here again? Absolutely. It's still a good hotel that is well managed and the staff here are all very pleasant. I just have to lower down my expectations of the food and hope I don't get soaked getting to my parked car.

Date of stay: November 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank uareatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keyin Tay, Marketing at Holiday Inn Johor Bahru City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2020

Hi uareatraveller,

First of all, thanks for sharing with us such an informative feedback. It took us a while to read through thus the slight delay in replying to you. The above-mentioned information, such as parking, amenities in the room, and our location is very useful for our future guests that will be staying in our hotel, and we sincerely grateful for the thoughtful sharing.

We always aim to deliver a great experience for our guest, but in the selected food sections, this time round we miss the mark! Thanks for taking the time to bring this to our attention and we have taken note on some of the food selections mentioned. We have brought this up to our chefs for improvement, and we hope should you be ordering the same item again in your next stay, we hope it will meet your expectations by then.

We do look forward for your next stay with us, and we hope it will be better than before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2020 via mobile

Our stay at Holiday Inn JB was great. Building was conveniently located at JBCC thus easy to go out and about ( food, shopping, entertainment ). Hotel facilities was amazing. Kids love pool & in-room tub.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank feed78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keyin Tay, Marketing at Holiday Inn Johor Bahru City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2020

Hi feed78, thanks for sharing your recent staycation experience with us at Holiday Inn Johor Bahru City Centre. We take pride in our strategic location & facilities for our guests, and we are glad you like it too! Do come back again when you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews