We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deluxe, bath tub, sound proof, above avg breakfsat standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Room
+ spacious deluxe room 32m2
+ tv list
+ big but old safe box (yellowish)
+ twin bed very big
+ plasma tv
+ table to do work
+ carpeted floor
+ many lights to brighten the room
+ big window
+ good sound proof, didnt hear people slamming doors or talking at the walkway
- Very limited channels
- should have tissue box at the living room instead of

toilet

Toilet
+ Bathtub water temperature can adjust
+ hand towel and bathing towel
+ comb toothpaste toothbrush
+ bath tub is nice
- bath tub not long enough
- need manually turn on hot and cold water

Lobby
Deposit 100myr one night
+ Big Lift, can take in 10people
+ Lift was fast
+ Staff were polite and friendly
- Check in at 2.30pm, room not ready at 2pm
- very little seats, 2 families of 10+ people occupied the

whole lobby seats

Facilities
+swimming pool was nice, but quite small
+gym with lots of gym equipment

Location
+ beside holiday inn plaza, have kfc and macdonalds. Watsons

and guardian also there.
+ grab to city square at 7myr one way, or 2myr after using

discounts
+ 10minutes drive to city square and kustom
+ 10 min walk to ksl city mall

Breakfast
+ Lots of choices. Spacious dining place
I think prefer KSL and Grand Paragon hotel breakfast buffet

spread
+ noodle section to cook your own noodle
+ scrambled egg were nice
- miso soup no tofu and seaweed, just the soup plainly

My personal review:
Hotel Ground (Lobby, reception): 7.25
Staff (Knowledge, helpful, friendly): 7.65
Room (Design layout, amenities, bed): 7.95
Bathroom (Water pressure, design): 7.65
Location (Surroundings, mall): 7.75
Breakfast (Ambience, choice, taste): 8.15
Facilties: 8.5
Price vs Quality: 8.0
Service: 8.0
Wifi: 9.0
Bonus: 5.0
Total: 84.90/110.00 (77.18/100)

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ben10tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us recently. I sincerely apologized for the inconveniences that you have experienced, and we are grateful that valued guest like yourself have taken precious time to provide feedback. Meanwhile, your comments have been shared with the departments concerned so that they may be addressed. We sincerely hope to welcome you back to Mutiara Johor Bahru soon. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 64 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

We booked connected room for 4 days 3 nights. We book directly from hotel reservation and spoke to a staff name Subrina she advised us to take both king room so it's easier to get connected room. We were so glad that this is what we want and we confirmed our booking. We inform Subrina that we need early check in due to we got young kids as we can't wait long. She said room are already reserved and everything will be fine on the day we check in . 1st trip to Mutiara and really felt this will be our last visit here.. We came in at 1pm and front desk push us around by saying WE ARE VERY BUSY DOING CHECK OUT PLEASE GO NEXT COUNTER which there is no more counter. There were and Indian guy the front desk we were directed to his counter but walk to his counter in front of us he told his colleague IM HANDLING A GUEST CHECK OUT HERE .. BUSY.. Very bad SERVICES AT FRONT DESK . After that we were settled at 1 counter for check in the staff told us our rooms are not confirm yet, can't get connected room, We can't put our 3yrs and 7yrs kids in 1 corner and we stay another corner right? I argued and told the staff that we were promised that there is a connected room for us. She said again no it's not confirmed..Just imagine how we feel . We are here for a holiday trip and ending up got stressed . The Snr Front desk Manager Sumita came to us said mdm don't worry your room are confirmed we are just doing room service now and ask us to wait. Than Sumita told us that 1 of the room is ready we got to wait for another few hrs for the guest to check out . Since we at least got 1 to rest a while we just grab it. Happen to see the other room it's not the room what we wanted.. OUR FIRST DAY GONE.. Definitely we can't stay in that rooms . Happen to see the Jnr Club House Suite poster in the lift and ask for that there will be 1 kings size bed and children double decker bed .. Next day we wait and manage to get a room from our 1st room we got transfered to the Jnr Club House Suite at 3pm almost 5pm the a.c. not working .. omg omg it was darm stain air.. I called the manager and also spoke to Sabrina . The manager whom handle us this time was Mr Hafiz Iqbal I didn't expect the tone he use towards us and his anger on us.. We are paying and being treated this way ???? Mr usual told us the other room will be ready at 6pm we got to wait.. my worries is my first day stress 2nd day pack my things twice , me and my hubby had planned to go for the Ramadan Buffet at 7pm . 6pm by the time we pack and unpack our thing to settle in the other room ..I'm thinking twice should I go for the buffet...Came all the way here to distress and got Worst STRESS... SRRVICES FAILER , CUSTOMER SERVICE FLOP mayb just to stay eat sleep go.. would be great not for Family.. worst staff I ever imagine .. I'm writing the whole issue here is to let who ever reading to know how stress it is.. Don't trust what front desk says.. Managers are not trained in Customer Services at all.. Regret coming to Mutiara .. Please confirm instruction clearly by recording ur conversation with the reservation.. Very very bad experience ...

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sheela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear guest,
We would like to express our regret over the unpleasant experiences that you have encountered during your recent patronage. Please accept our profound apologies as there are absolutely no excuses for the deficiency in our services.
I have personally taken a serious stand to address the issues that were highlighted; we will put more focus in our training programme to enhance our service delivery and guest relations.
I am truly grateful that you have taken time and effort to tell us about our lacklustre performance as it is through the eyes of our guests that we see our weaknesses best and strive to perform better in the future.
I believe nothing is more important than regaining the trust of our guest and all of us hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome and serve you again.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

The hotel was rather old but well maintained. Staff at the check-in counter were pleasant and the process took no more than 5 minutes. The room was large and well cleaned - certainly worth the money paid around RM250 (approx. USD60) for the Executive Club room. There is a 24-hour restaurant in the hotel which serves decent local food. Location was excellent too - everything seems to be just a short Uber ride away. Will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RJ_Choy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Dear guest,
We appreciate your time and effort in sharing your experience in our hotel with us and fellow travellers. It’s good to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and wish to return to our hotel again. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you soon. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

My girlfriend booked this hotel to celebrate my birthday.

The room we booked is Superior non-smoking c/w breakfast.The furnitures and bedding in the room looks a bit old but still well maintained. Spacious and comfy. However the drain hole/strainer of basin is choked and dirt unable to flow through.

The variety of breakfast are good enough which really fulfilled as 4 star hotel.

This hotel just a 10 minutes walk to KSL mall where we tried the local delicacies and satisfied.

Overall we enjoyed the stay at Mutiara JB Hotel and will return in future.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank gin0bili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear guest,
We are really glad to know that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel, and we would like to thank you for letting us know it with your review. Meanwhile, we will continue to improve on our services to meet guest’s expectations. We are looking forward to your next visit soon. Kind regards - HP Khoo, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

Check in and Check out was fast. Room ok but bath tub was small. Breakfast was good with mixture of local and western food. Hotel does look and little tired and in need of an refurbishment / up grade. Would I stay there again probably yes.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendanfms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest at our hotel; meanwhile, we have taken note of your comments and we would be delighted to welcome you back soon. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
2.5 km away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
3.3 km away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,347 reviews
0.5 km away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Amari Johor Bahru
Amari Johor Bahru
#3 of 109 in Johor Bahru
360 reviews
6.2 km away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#2 of 109 in Johor Bahru
934 reviews
3.1 km away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#14 of 109 in Johor Bahru
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mutiara Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mutiara Johor Bahru

Address: KB No. 779 Jalan Dato Sulaiman | KB No. 779, Johor Bahru 80990, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Johor Bahru
#9 Luxury Hotel in Johor Bahru
#10 Best Value Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range: RM200 - RM339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mutiara Johor Bahru 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for corporate and leisure travellers, Mutiara Johor Bahru has 336 well-appointed rooms and suites. Hotel provides WIFI, Pressreader digital-online reads, in-room complimentary coffee and tea and shuttle to selected shopping centres. It is about 15 minutes from the Causeway to Singapore and 40 minutes from the Senai International Airport. There are function halls for up to 500 persons, three restaurants and a lounge with live band, 24-hour room service, Executive Club Floor, business centre, laundry, florist, outdoor pool, gymnasium and lobby shopping arcade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Mutiara Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiara Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing