We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yellow watermelon juice at makan place @ hilton doubletree jb”

Makan Kitchen at DoubleTree by Hilton Johor Bahru
Ranked #5 of 1,049 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$37
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Malaysian
Description: An eclectic mix of famous local cuisine prepared in a live, interactive kitchen, showcasing the diversity of many native favorites from all over the country.
Restaurant details
Description: An eclectic mix of famous local cuisine prepared in a live, interactive kitchen, showcasing the diversity of many native favorites from all over the country.
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

They have practical what u need for a good breakfast. From chinese, malay and indian cusines.
Infact it is all certified halal and all can eat all out.

Plus they have fresh squeezed fruit juice and we tasted the best YELLOW watermelon juice there. Thats rare and the taste is awesome!!!

Go and try it... (please check with hotel if yellow watermelon is avaliable cos it is rare)

Nic
Singapore

Thank Adam Nic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tilekkerisnan, Manager at Makan Kitchen at DoubleTree by Hilton Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Dear Adam Nic C,

We are glad to hear you had a great time during stay.
Your review serves as a confirmation to all of us that our efforts in the selection process are making a difference in the daily lives of our customers Everyone here is working hard to create experiences and deliver first class products that inspire you to continue visiting us.
We hope you make us part of your traditions and we have the privilege to serve you for many years to come.
Know that we are here to serve you and will always try our best.

Kind Regards,
Tilek Kerisnan
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 41 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2018

Excellent choices of fruit juices and delicious local and western food available here in Makan Kitchen.Very friendly and helpful staffs.We enjoyed the Malay and Indian selection very much.Freshly made prata with loads of planta was just right.Nasi lemak was very good too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tilekkerisnan, Manager at Makan Kitchen at DoubleTree by Hilton Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Dear Thomas T,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of our hotel.
We are so delighted to hear that your recent stay was a happy one.
Your review makes a difference to us and it is incredibly helpful as a way to introduce others to what we do here.
We are honored by your choice to do business with us, and look forward to your next visit.
We will do whatever it takes to once again deliver an experience worth bragging about.

Kind Regards,
Tilek Kerisnan
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Great buffet spread at a reasonable price. Indian kitchen is definitely a highlight but lack of western choices. Kids section is a very nice idea with a very lively clown but gets very dirty at time with spilled food and drinks eveywhere without any cleaning from time to time. Overall, good dining experience.

Thank Billie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tilekkerisnan, Manager at Makan Kitchen at DoubleTree by Hilton Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Dear Billie T,

I wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience with us.
However on particular day which is Christmas day buffet, we did not have any kids section or lively clown.
Can I have more details on your dining.
This buffet referring to Makan Kitchen Kuala Lumpur or Makan Kitchen Johor Bahru.
Do let know, we will improve the outcome. Do contact me thru my email Tilek.Kerisnan@hilton.com

Kind Regards,
Tilek Kerisnan
Restaurant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

Group of 8 adults and 5 kids went for Friday dinner buffet. I think weekend the restaurant offer more variety of fresh sea food, i.e. Chilled oyster, prawns, clams, sashimi, crab, etc.

It was a very enjoyable buffet experience in Johor Bahru. We get to try Chinese cuisine, Indian food, Malay food, local delights, great variety of desserts. So much tasty food and we are not worried about food contamination (at least all of us are ok, after so much food)

My personal favorite were:
1) Chinese porridge with fresh and carefully selected condiments
2) chilled creamy oyster
3) grilled lamb
4) curry laksa noodle
5) satay
6) walnut pie
7) Tandoori chicken
8) Malay style braised beef

I tried almost everything and spent 3.5 hours for our dinner. Nice place for gathering and food.

There was a table with chair for kids to draw or coloring, as such, kids spent some time there after meal. Adults get to eat more and chat more when kids were occupied. This is considerate.

There was only the Chinese roasted duck which we found not thoroughly cooked and had a raw taste.

Overall good. We will visit again.

Adult RM138++, kids half price and below 5 years old free. If you park at their car park, get it verified and enjoy flat rate RM2.

Thank Whatdoyouwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tilekkerisnan, Manager at Makan Kitchen at DoubleTree by Hilton Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Whatdoyouwan,

Thank you for taking time to complete a review after your recent visit to Makan Kitchen. We greatly value your feedback on our service & offering.
I was pleased to note that you find our extensive food & beverage selection to your liking and your kind comments are much appreciated - we would certainly share with the team as it is always a great motivation to note we have added value to a guest’s experience.
Thank you so much for your positive comments which will certainly be shared with the team.

Kind regards
Tilek Kerisnan
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

I went there alone but it was great not only that the staff didn't bother me at all but also they really treat me kindly and friendly. Quiet and warm ambience was perfect.The foods consist of Indian, Chinese and Malay and they are very nice. If I come to JB again, I'm visiting this buffet for sure to feel the relaxing mood.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tilekkerisnan, Manager at Makan Kitchen at DoubleTree by Hilton Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Dear Nicole K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion
Our team members take great pride on what we do and receiving feedback like yours encourages us.
Customers just like you make doing what we do a true pleasure. Everyone looks forward to serving you and yours on your next visit.
Our brand promise is all about delivering seamless experiences that exceed customer expectations!
We sincerely look forward to serving you time after time.

Warm Regards,
Tilek Kerisnan
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Makan Kitchen at DoubleTree by Hilton Johor Bahru also viewed

 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Makan Kitchen at DoubleTree by Hilton Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;