We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tosca Trattoria Italiana at DoubleTree by Hilton Johor Bahru
Ranked #3 of 1,244 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$52
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located poolside on the 13th floor, our Italian Trattoria and bar offers rustic Italian food prepared with a contemporary flair for lunch and dinner, along with stunning views over the Straits of Johor. Dining options ranging from indoor, poolside and private dining rooms.
Reviewed 16 August 2019

From reservation to sweet ending, Tosca has never failed to fulfill my requests. Revisited this restaurant after a year for a belated birthday celebration for my boyfriend.

I made the reservation through phone and was greeted by Lilly - also the same hostess who ushered to our beautifully decorated seats. She made sure we were comfortable and all the preparation for the surprise was all in good place.

We were shortly greeted by Tejah, the assistant manager who gave spot on recommendation on my last visit. This time, we ordered the Cheataubriand steak for 2 cooked in medium - amazing flavours and juices flowing out on each bite we took.

After stuffing ourselves full - Aaron, the assistant manager with years of experience as a bartender and mixologist, recommended The Junglebird as an after meal cocktail. As we were both too full, we decided to share one. The bittersweet flavour from the rum and campari concoction left a good impression, definitely ordering the same cocktail on my next visit.

At the end of our meal - we surprised my boyfriend with a birthday Tiramisu. Really thankful for Tosca's service and kitchen team for providing a wonderful experience again. Hope to see you next time!

Date of visit: August 2019
3  Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tilekkerisnan, Manager at Tosca Trattoria Italiana at DoubleTree by Hilton Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2019

Dear Unnessessary,

We are thankful for your time and your willingness to write this review We believe that our business is all about people and the greatest compliments we can receive are those that highlight the commitment of our team to deliver the best possible service.
Our goal is to be the leaders in the industry and have everyone walk out of our shop with the sense that we are part of their family
We know that you have options and are very honored that you selected us and proud to have served you.
Thank you for taking time to share your opinion with others.
Please come again.

Many Thanks,
Tilek Kerisnan,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 149 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2019 via mobile

Service is great, ain't sure if it's because I'm the only table in the afternoon. Menu is limited not much choice. Wanted truffles or caviar which you would expect that much in a by hilton hotel but they do not have . Cod fish is good . Would still go as enviriment is quiet especially in johor

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank DeviousDragoHii
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tilekkerisnan, Manager at Tosca Trattoria Italiana at DoubleTree by Hilton Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2019

Dear DeviousDragoHii,

Thank you for your feedback.
We are in mid term of revising our menu and soon will be launching new menu.
It is good to know that our team exceeded your expectations and made your experience memorable. We recognize our customers are busy and are beyond thankful for their willingness to spend time giving us feedback.
We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again. Rest assured we will do whatever it takes to deliver on our promise. Know that we are hard at work finding ways to do things better every single time.
Looking forward to your next visit

Many Thanks,
Tilek Kerisnan,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2019

The service is awesome.All the staff is well trained in professional way eventho the restaurant is busy they still manage to full fill all the guest needs,especially the lady in counter who welcome us and give us nice table and the guy severe us is friendly. I will really recommend the place for couples who want to celebrate their anniversary.

Date of visit: August 2019
3  Thank Kalai5031
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tilekkerisnan, Manager at Tosca Trattoria Italiana at DoubleTree by Hilton Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2019

Dear Kalai5031,

We really appreciate that you took the time to share details about your recent stay at our hotel.
Our goal after all; is to provide customers with superior products that exceed their expectations. It is because of feedback like yours that we are able to confirm that we are heading in the right direction.
We will be sharing your review with the team as a way to encourage them to continue to strive for excellence in customer service.
We look forward to your next visit. It was truly a pleasure to serve you

Many Thanks,
Tilek Kerisnan,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2019 via mobile

I went to this place last month for brunch with my family. The place was so nice & neat. The food was so fresh & taste so good. Especially the pasta & pizza. They were made so fresh & quick. I really love the food there. And my family also enjoyed the environment and the food. Moreover the staff there was so kind & friendly. Such a good service given by them. Keep it up guys. My kids was really enjoy their weekend to the max. Will keep visit this place again & I'll recommend this place to my friends & family. Thank you

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank Sharmila01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tilekkerisnan, Manager at Tosca Trattoria Italiana at DoubleTree by Hilton Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2019

Dear Sharmila01,

What a pleasant surprise! Your words of encouragement, make us feel proud of what we do as hoteliers
Thank you for your kind words and for giving us a high five for all that we do.
We will pass along your comments to our team. It is words just like these that keep us going
Come visit us soon. You can count on everyone of us doing our best! that is our commitment to you.

Many Thanks,
Tilek Kerisnan,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2019

I had dinner with my wife and we expected a place with air conditioning. Not at all. Was so humid because the restaurant it's located on left side of the swimming pool, no doors everything it's open.
The should put some fans to cool down the area or a portable air cond.
We had pizza and was not the authentic italian pizza. Was too crispy around. There are others better place to enjoy a meal in town.

Date of visit: August 2019
4  Thank Angelo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tilekkerisnan, Manager at Tosca Trattoria Italiana at DoubleTree by Hilton Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2019

Dear Angelo F,

Thank you for your feedback and opinion highly appreciated.
Tosca, an Italian trattoria overlooking the poolside. The menu boasts both traditional
favorites and choice delicacies, including pizza and pasta, meat and seafood
specialties, sumptuous desserts and superb wines. Equipped with its own purpose built
stove, Tosca creates some of the freshest, tastiest pizza in town! And Tosca pizza are famous with thin crust pizza.

Thanks,
Tilek Kerisnan,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tosca Trattoria Italiana at DoubleTree by Hilton Johor Bahru also viewed

 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Tosca Trattoria Italiana at DoubleTree by Hilton Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.