We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service!”

Wan Li Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 1,244 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Cuisines: Chinese, Contemporary
Description: Dine on fresh seafood dishes and authentic Cantonese cuisine with a seasonally-inspired menu in a relaxed setting for lunch or dinner at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant in Johor Bahru. Our restaurant is now open for a la carte dine-in for fully vaccinated guests. All set up will adhere to hygiene SOPs and social distancing as outlined by the local authorities. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Restaurant details
Description: Dine on fresh seafood dishes and authentic Cantonese cuisine with a seasonally-inspired menu in a relaxed setting for lunch or dinner at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant in Johor Bahru. Our restaurant is now open for a la carte dine-in for fully vaccinated guests. All set up will adhere to hygiene SOPs and social distancing as outlined by the local authorities. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed in renaissance hotel Permas Jaya for 20 full months and wan li restaurant has always been my first choice of food! It has wonderful staff who are very friendly, accommodative, and treat me like a family member. The food is alright. I will definitely miss this place and those people here!

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank Seaside657733
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Executive Chef at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Dear En. Nik Mohamed,

Thank you for your review and comments which has indeed been very motivating and allowing us to further improve further to meet if not exceed both yours and our guest expectations.

We will miss you too and if ever the roads bring you back to this part of the world, do please drop by if not to dine but say hello and keep the connections going on.

Best culinary regards,

Mohamad Mahady - Executive Chef / REN-JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 64 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2016

First time to JB, and Wan Li made it a trip to remember!
The dim sum is so stomach-pleasing and the Peking duck topped it all.
When it comes to food, we have fussy kids, but they loved it...especially the soup they served....all the bowls were bottoms-up!
We went home a contented lot...with happy kids!
The Oriental atmosphere is something I appreciated too...with a memorable service crew.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MeiL682
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Executive Chef at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Dear Mei L,

A good first time experience in JB but most of all, At Wan-Li and we're glad you and your family have felt so.
I have conveyed your appreciation to my team including the service crew whom in return and waiting for your next visit.

Until then, thank you for your comments and motivating feedback.

Best culinary regards,

Mahady -Executive Chef / REN-JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Had some of the best chinese food i've ever tasted at this place. Never expected to be delighted as much as I was in JB! Totally blown away by the exquisite class and high standard of the restaurant from the taste of the food to the service from the staff. I highly recommend anyone who happens to have time in JB to drop with a few clients for a classy dinner at this awesome restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stumbling
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Executive chef at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

Dear Stumbling,

You've said it all which is why we're the best Chinese restaurant in JB and we're glad we have managed to make you feel satisfied.

I have shared your great comments with my team and the service whom in return are glad they have made you feel this way and we're all looking forward to your next visit.

Thank you and best culinary regards,


Mahady - Executive Chef / REN-JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Went to jb for a two day trip and decided to have dim sum for lunch. We went to wan li and was served by Shen Ynn. She recommended the dim sum a la carte buffet and we didnt regret taking her advice. Definitely will return for the excellent service and awesome food that wan li has to offer.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank chaileel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Executive Chef at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Dear ChaiLee L,

Thank you for your 5 'bubble' rating for both service and food quality. Shen Ynn knows her stuffs and just what and when to recommend from our menu to which we are glad you've found both the service and food to be excellent.

Do kindly drop by again on your next visit especially in August where we will be having on sale our signature Mooncakes i'm told 'the best in JB'.

Until then, do take care and looking forward.

Best culinary regards,

Mahady - Executive Chef / REN-JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Reasonable price for halal dim sum in town. Must try Mango Peking roast duck. It's so delicious! Children like it the most.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Chu Ying N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Executive Chef at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Dear Chu Ying N,

Thank you for your positive feedback which i have shared with the team and we're looking forward to your next visit.

Best culinary regards,

Mahady - Executive Chef / REN-JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wan Li Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Wan Li Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.