We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Culinary Delight”

Wan Li Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 1,244 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Cuisines: Chinese, Contemporary
Description: Dine on fresh seafood dishes and authentic Cantonese cuisine with a seasonally-inspired menu in a relaxed setting for lunch or dinner at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant in Johor Bahru. Our restaurant is now open for a la carte dine-in for fully vaccinated guests. All set up will adhere to hygiene SOPs and social distancing as outlined by the local authorities. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Restaurant details
Description: Dine on fresh seafood dishes and authentic Cantonese cuisine with a seasonally-inspired menu in a relaxed setting for lunch or dinner at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant in Johor Bahru. Our restaurant is now open for a la carte dine-in for fully vaccinated guests. All set up will adhere to hygiene SOPs and social distancing as outlined by the local authorities. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Reviewed 7 July 2017

Stayed in the hotel for several weeks now & had a number of works functions. All have been well organized, with great food.

Recently started to eat here regular & the choice & quality of food is superb. Favorite is Peking Duck with Mango.

Staff are always friendly with a good selection of reasonably priced wines for a hotel of this standard

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LukChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Executive Chef / Acting DOFB at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear LukChang,

Thank you for your review and we know, it's hard being away from home too long and that's why we've tried to make the property, a home away from home.

Glad you've found both the food and beverage superb and we're looking forward to continuously meet if not exceed your expectations.

Best regards
Mahady
Executive Chef / Acting DOFB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 54 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Not much of staffs working during Raya, which we can fully understand. But we ordered egg tarts and wait for at least 45mins which is over our limit.

So sad about that!

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank Reginexyteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Executive Chef / Acting DOFB at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Reginexyteo,

Thank you for your review and defense but being understaffed is not an excuse of which we are truly sorry for.

Please allow us to pamper you and recover your confidence again.

Looking forward to having you with us again.

Best regards,

Mahady
Executive Chef / Acting DOFB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

My oh my! Wan Li should be the level all Cantonese restaurants should aspire to. Then again I shouldn't be surprised as Singaporeans had made the journey over The Causeway to dine at this enclave. You know you've made the right choice when the hostess appears right on cue to deliver the next item on the menu or top up the Oolong tea. The food was marvellous. Deep Fried Groupa perfectly dissected by our ever helpful hostess, meant there was no need to worry about bones. I never knew the Chinese made such mouth-watering deserts. The pictures don't do the spread justice. Please visit if only to have a standard to challenge lesser establishments.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank tadeojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Executive Chef / Acting DOFB at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Tade O,

My Oh My! Indeed as your review has motivated us and shown us the correct path we're taking is the right path with some minor adjustments to ensure consistency of which we hope you will have the chance again to experience.

Looking forward to having you again with us.

Best regards

Mahady
Executive Chef / Acting DOFB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

We love this restaurant a lot
Food are delicious and reasonable
Staff are attentive
Well done all ..
We will definitely be back for more

Date of visit: December 2016
1  Thank Norish78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Executive Chef at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

Dear Norish78,

Thank you for your review and feedback of which i have shared with the team. Indeed we are proud that we have met if not exceeded your expectations.

We have since also have a new addition to our culinary team, Chef Bryan, a Malaysian Chinese chef who has just returned from Macau and brought with him new modern dishes which will be implemented into our new menus soon.

Do make a date with us to savor these new dishes and have a chat with our Chef to customize a menu to meet your preferences.

Best Culinary regards,

Mahady - Executive Chef / Ren - JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Visited this restaurant while resident at the hotel and had one of the best Chinese meals there however, this was spoiled by the extremely intense air conditioning which left us feeling chilled to the bone. Needs urgent attention

Date of visit: January 2017
2  Thank memories137
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Executive Chef at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Dear memories137,

Thank you for your review and good feedback on the food quality. Strangely enough, folks usually feel quite warm but i guess we turned on the air conditioning a little too high and i have alerted those concerned to adjust accordingly the temperature settings.

Looking forward to having you with us again.

Best Culinary regards,

Mahady - Executive Chef / RHI-JHBBR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wan Li Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Wan Li Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.