We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rawa Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
Timotel Hotel(Mersing)
US$45
US$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Embassy Hotel(Mersing)
US$15
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Alang's Rawa(Mersing)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Mersing Hotel(Mersing)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveller rating
128
138
57
19
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
138
57
19
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrawa islandbeach frontfishwater slideshillside deluxelong weekendwhite sandcoral reeftable tennishigh tideclear waterscuba divingget awayhill toplunch and dinnerfamily with kidsmarine life
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 361 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2010

My wife suffered a serious accident at this resort. The staff & management showed absolutely no care nor compassion and were hardly even willing to assist us.
We now understand that earlier that year, another guest suffered an accident in the same circumstances.
Clearly, the resort did nothing to improve their safety standards to ensure this did not occur again.
We are aware of yet another accident that occurred at Rawa, where a guest suffered eye damage.
This place is unsafe and in the event of such an accident, you are stranded away from any pro-active assistance & medical care.
If you value the safety & care of your friends & family, do not travel to this island.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Kalleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Just spent 4 days at Rawa. The place is nice with a fantastic, clean beach. Food and service quite ok. Rooms are ok, but on the 'rustic' side. In 3 out of 5 times we wanted to take a shower we did not have water, the sheets and towels were stained and beach chairs were out of stock. It's a bit like a high end backpacker lodge, but the price is quite high for what you get.
If you want to go snorkeling, there are definitely better places (e.g., Perhentian). You can see plenty of fish in Rawa, but not much more, reef is not very 'alive and kicking'

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnjaBanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

We stayed 4 days at Rawa Island Safari Resort and the whole family loved it. We had a waterfront unit (Room 66) which is REALLY worth the extra buck. We had a whole house literally over the water, with a lot of privacy, and a big deck to enjoy the beautiful view. Service is quite crappy, we had to beg to get new towels after 2 days.

The hotel is pricey, but honestly, it is much better value than Bintan Island. We loved the fact that there are no cars/motorbikes on the island, no jetskis in the sea. Very relaxing place, only activity is kayaking, snorkeling, and walking (not far, the island is small). There is no gym at the hotel, but there is a short walk on a wooden path where jogging/running is possible and actually quite nice. Seawater is very clean, we haven't seen any jellyfish, only slight worry is the presence of small coral fishes which try to bite or hit you when you are in the water (only near the shoreline). Just need to go fast to deeper waters.

Food at the restaurant is good. Yes, there is not much variety, but everything is of very good quality. Meat is very good too. Food is served in buffet, and refilled when needed (so no need to arrive among the first to secure your food). The weekly barbecue is a not-to-be-missed event.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sincenyamities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

I went with a friend and wasn't informed that you have to take your own beach towels which was a bit annoying. I don't mind rustic but the sheets and towels were stained. The staff were also quite sullen and didn't go out of there way. The trip on the ferry both ways was also very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marni1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

We usually come here for long weekend trips from Singapore, with groups of up to 30 people, simply to get out of the city life and enjoy a weekend on a beautiful island.

The small (really small - with canoe 45 minutes around the whole island) island offers a fantastic dream like beach, sport opportunities and even little hiking treks, by private ferry from Mersing you will arrive within 45 minutes.

The Island has two hotels, this one, which is the more expensive and "hotel" like one, and another one just next to it called "Rawa Island Resort". This is the normal backpacker type one and much cheaper, I would recommend to go there.

The rooms at the safari hotel are ok, nothing fancy, but generally clean. The Dinner Buffet however is not the best one, but its included in the price.

The biggest drawback is however the steady rising prices. Since the island got more and more known by people in the area they have raised their prices every year and have reached a level of high class hotels on the mainland, an area you would expect from a far off small island resort.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngryAngMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews