We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveller rating
164
169
63
26
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
164
169
63
26
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rawa island beach front fish frangipani villa scuba diving rock bar white sand marine life bbq night buffet style lunch and dinner sea sports clear blue water bring your own beautiful beach mersing jetty water activities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 447 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2020

Perfect resort for a short getaway to escape from hassle of everyday life! Stayed at the Frangipani Villa, which is located slightly away from the lobby area. Loved the privacy and amazing sea view from our balcony. Overall the resort is good, rooms are maintained nicely. F & B can be improved, I think.

On another note, Pulau Rawa itself is stunning; with its clear blue water, white sandy beach and lush green surroundings. We spent hours at the beach and you can snorkel along the natural coral reef just metres from the shore. Perfect for those looking for relaxing holiday. Will definitely come back!

Room tip: Frangipani Villa for more privacy, Beachfront better seaview
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AzreenaR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2020

We paid a huge amount for a family of 4, wouldve expected a much better treatment from the staff members.

Was told off for some minor misscomm (reception named nor was telling us off for not including kids ic for jetty departure, please speak nicely next time, why did we have to start off our trip with such bitterness?)

On the island the receptionist raised their voices upon certain enquiries, eg, wanting to ask if we can depart on the same boat, but the guy raised his voice “no no we wait for no one!!”.

Pretty sure even 1 star hotels have better customer service than this.

Please have better training for your front desk staff. Still feeling very bitter over how we were treated.

Place is beautiful, people are awful.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Amaniyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2020

Room : A bit worried you admit the Resort is 40 years old but no one seems to care about the fact that the floorboards in my daughter's twin bed room at the rear of the chalet were gaping and let in bugs as well as the light below ? She put her beach towel down at night to cover the gapes and that seems a bit tough for a room in a package that costs about RM 2000 a night ? For my ocean facing room, I was shocked that the glass in the glass sliding door had gaps and did NOT fit the frame properly. There was a large gap to the right of the glass frame on the in room sliding door as you enter from the hallway...does the Resort have a regular maintenance and upgrade plan in place ?
Food : No complaints apart from some soggy rice one night. Decent variety, quality international food and both of us were very pleased with selections at all 3 meals. Bar and waiting staff excellent and very sincere.Maybe need some variety on fruit ? Distancing for CoVid compliance etc. not bad but you need to watch and manage some lazy guests and be firm with mask regulations etc. especially in a Buffet situation...You do not want to be liable for an outbreak or cluster right ?
Resort itself: Would be delighted to return as we did not have enough time to do the hikes etc. Snorkelling was fine as we brought our own equipment and the Spa was outstanding. Really loved the treatment from a therapist called I think Atti. You have a charming resort that just feels like it could do with a bit of sharpening up and smartening up....Maps mistaken around the Island as they indicate Spa is at Main office. Hiking trails might need better signs and marking...
Gift Shop : The resort does really do need to check inventory and smarten it up ? The old T-shirts from 2016 do not deserve a place in the racks and also it appears you are not splitting Adult Sizes from the Kids' sizes so some confusion = dangerous to buy an L and walk out when it might be for a kid and not an adult ! TV room looked lonely and a bit drab..Inventory management feels messy.
Mersing booking office: Feels a bit sleepy and it appears that all guests vaguely arrive and can congregate here and there and to board the catamaran or speedboats feels a little chaotic ? Maybe you like it that way but I thought it felt a bit slack....The RM 4122 we paid for 2 pax for a 2 night package was glamourous and a 5 star price. In reality I think you are somewhere between a 3-4 star ? Closer to 3 star maybe as the buildings are so tired and the rooms have no wifi. Many guests will already run away from having no WiFi in the rooms...One night we had a very bad and scary storm and some people would possibly feel extra frustrated that there was no wifi in that situation if you were trapped in a room.

We were delighted the Reception Team on island looked after us so well. Boat crew were not bad but the loading of luggage and the anxiety of being separated from our stuff was unnerving. Hoping Rawa Island Resort can streamline that ? In the end, we found out our luggage was on another craft and had to be reloaded to the one we were put on ! Why is loading so chaotic when surely to streamline it cannot be so tough....??

Room tip: Try to avoid the lower floors of the more distant rooms as you will only look at another wall or have a blocked view...
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank balimermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2020 via mobile

We stayed one night in the Frangipani Villa and then upgraded to the Water Villa for one night for my Wife’s birthday. We had a fantastic time and I must tip my hat to Mr Yusof for his kindness, courtesy and professionalism. He went the extra mile to make sure we had an enjoyable stay. The rooms were very nice and clean and beds very comfortable. The house reef was great for snorkelling and the island walk was beautiful. We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank duff3833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2020

Do not book there, especially do not make advanced payment. They were not open at this time but so far no money paid back. After several discussion you get very different feedback but no money back. No wonder if they get bancrupt soon!

Date of stay: May 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank E2366TFmarcob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews