We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
25
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
25
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river earth lodge would highly recommend a visit an adventure an amazing experience his team forest butterflies opportunity trek muda highlights expert ula canopy support
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Staying at the earth lodge was an amazing experience. Being out here in the middle of ulu muda rainforest is unique! You will never find a place like this anywhere else in peninsular malaysia. The place is teeming with wildlife. You stay right in the middle of it all. The lodge is surrounded by several salt licks so the elephants could walk right behind your bedroom. Knowing this makes it all very very special. Our guide Hymeir is an awesome guy. He knows so much about the area. The cabins are semi detached (2 rooms under one roof) and are simple but to have this comfort over here is quite amazing actually. The bathroom has a normal western style toilet and even a shower. The water is cold tho! The bedroom has a ceiling fan but there is only electricity in the evening when it is cool enough so you dont need the fan actually. The rooms have no mosquito nets and the windows are half open so bugs come in easily. We had some mosquitoes in our room. If this bothers you, you can bring your own mosquito net and the crew will install it for you. The mattresses are locally made which is great but not exactly comfortable, yet we did sleep very well here. Even better than in the 5 star grand hyatt in KL. The jungle sounds are great to fall asleep to. In the morning you hear the gibbons calling and all kind of chirping birds around the lodge. The food was also outstanding. We didnt expect this quality food in the middle of the jungle. The earth lodge is a place for guests looking for tranquility and ofcourse for nature. Dont go here expecting luxury or comfort. There is not much entertainment, you simple sit there in the evening and talk with each other. No mobiles, no tv, no music, no internet. Exactly how it should be! We had some good jungle trekking experiences. Bring proper leech socks though! We've never seen so many leeches! I guess many leeches means many other animals. Also the evening boat cruises were great. We even spotted a male elephant on the river bank! We have seen 4 species of hornbill and several other birds. We had a great time and hope to be able to come back soon

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank erwin_elk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

Earth Lodge is a nature lover's dream, but really not for the faint of heart. It exists as a center from which scientists research the surrounding forest, so although there are activities like tubing, cave trekking, day hikes, and sunset river cruises, it's not really about adventure sports. Earth Lodge is a place to pick a quiet corner of the jungle and patiently wait for a sighting- you can spot tons of birds, wild pigs, bats, monkeys, monitor lizards, possibly elephants, and deer. Amenities are basic but totally comfortable, if you are ok with a mattress on a sleeping platform, sporadic electricity, and occasional bugs. All of the guides and guests were really passionate about the outdoors, and there were stacks of books to look up all the sightings you made that day. I learned so much in my 5 days in Earth Lodge, and that was what made my time there so special and memorable. 

Date of stay: March 2016
1  Thank McKenzieD20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 December 2015 via mobile

We had a relaxing, peaceful and really interesting few days staying at Earth Lodge. You are genuinely out there in the jungle far from civilisation. Our guide Hymeir was friendly, easy to get on with and full of fascinating information about the forest and all its animals and birds. Great fun!

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Simster44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 July 2015 via mobile

My husband and I spent a long weekend at Ulu Muda being educated and entertained by Hymeir, the owner and a well-known Malaysian conservationist and cave expert, and J, the British guide in-training and a conservationist in his own right (when he's not a police officer in London). We hiked (bring leech socks if you have them and borrow from Earth Lodge if you don't!), looked for wildlife, explored small undeveloped caves, bathed in natural hot springs, and went tubing down the cool river -- a welcome relief from the rainforest heat and humidity! Everything is totally customizable to your preferences, including the activities you take part in and how strenuous they are. The accommodations were basic but met our needs, especially considering the remoteness of the location, and the food was abundant and somewhat varied with lots of tea, coffee, and snacks to keep you going through the day. Hymeir and J were a fantastic duo: passionate and knowledgable about their work and great company. Overall a wonderful experience, especially falling asleep to the roars of elephants reverberating through the jungle!

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JulianaQM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 June 2015

At Earth Lodge you are definitely 'away from it all'. It is quite humbling to find yourself in the middle of about 160,000 acres of jungle, an hour and a half away from the jetty that leads back to civilization and nearer to a host of wildlife than any other people. Whilst basic, the accommodation is clean and maintained. The food is tasty, typical of the area, but could be a little more healthy with some simple changes. Hymeir, Zul & Din took great care of us at all times, important with the wildlife so close. Leech socks are a must if you want to do the jungle trekking as we did. The evening boat rides was enjoyable if a little hard on the bottom! We were a little disappointed not to see more wildlife, but maybe the overcast conditions did not help.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews