We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
22
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
22
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jungle trekking an hour earth lodge leech socks boat trip guide birds jetty trees nature wear cook accommodation itinerary malaysia team package
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2020

Our Trip in Ulu Muda was Perfect. The Location is Amazing, you have nothing around you, only the Jungle. We saw a lot of animals, and our favorite Animal too, Elefants!!
Hymeir know a lot about the Jungle and the Animals. Its a Great Experience, we want to Come back!
The Resort is nice and very clean, and they have Good Food :)!
Greetings from Germany
Nicolai & Melissa

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MelissaG3694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2020 via mobile

The 4 day trip was amazing. We saw so many animals (elephants, birds, insects etc) and could also enjoy the landscape and plants. Hymeir is such a great guide. He knows nearly all animals and can give very interesting explanations. The tours are very well organized. Food and accommodation is basic/good, exactly what to expect from a jungle lodge. I can highly recommend the trip.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 651steffene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2019

Wan as our boatman & guide
1.5 hours of Serenity boat trip & 1.5 hours of trekking to reach our majestic compact cave with a buddha alike statue
The itinerary offers one of its kind in jungle exploration
Do book for urself this earth lodge trip
Once in a lifetime experience
The best of the best

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank edwardganteckwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2019

Last june we stayed for the 4d3n package at this amazing lodge. The fun already started when we arrived at the jetty and were picked up by Hymeir to take the boatride to the lodge. As the water was not very high our captain had to get out several times to keep the boat moving, but after a little more than an hour we arrived at this little paradise. We were very lucky as we were the only guests, so we had a private guide and a private cook/captain. The accomodation is indeed a bit basic, but everything you need is there. During our stay we did several boattrips and hikes and we also went tubing (this was much more relaxing than i expected). Hymeir can tell a lot about Ula Muda and all the wildlife surrounding the lodge and also about all the effort he is putting in conservation of Ula Muda. We were even part of his research team by counting the plain pouched hornbills flying by. As a bird watcher it was very nice to see so many of these very rare hornbills

Next to this he is also very friendly and we had a lot of nice conversations during the dinners.
For us staying in the lodge was the highlight of our trip and if you interested in relaxing stay with a lot of nature around you (yes leeches are included..), this is the place to be!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marcellinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hymeir K, Owner at Earth Lodge Ulu Muda, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2019

hi marcel,

glad you and marijne enjoyed your stay at Earth Lodge and thanks for the good reviews. hope to see you both back here soon! ciao.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2019 via mobile

We were glad that we visited Earth Lodge at Ulu Muda. It is a beautiful remote location and we realised that the moment we arrived at the jetty and as we traversed Muda lake and the river to reach the lodge.

There's nothing like observing wildlife in their natural habitat. Though not easy in the rainforest and with some luck, we saw the majestic Asian elephants, langurs, long-tailed macaques, hornbills, raptors and a variety of other birds over 5D/4N. Other guests saw otters and even a terrapin.

We felt that there was a good balance of activities and 'free & easy' time in the itinerary. It was fantastic that we had time to go exploring on our own around the lodge, during which time we spotted bats behind our dorm room, forest gecko, gliding lizards, agamid lizards, lantern bug, hammerhead worm, moths, butterflies and other insects. Treks were interesting as Hymeir, our host and guide, would share interesting facts and stories. We especially enjoyed the trek to 'Sira Air Hangat' (Hot Springs salt lick), a unique site that combine a hot springs and a salt lick.

Leech socks are essential. We had our trusty football socks but were glad that we could borrow leech socks from Earth Lodge. Those leeches are a determined lot! We also had bites from sand flies. These are all minor irritations that come with the adventure :)

All in all, it was a wonderful trip to an off the beaten path natural wonder. Thank you to Hymeir, Din and Zul of Earth Lodge!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank lunarJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews