We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$34
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
PricelineUS$43
TravelocityUS$34
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
12
61
41
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
12
61
41
9
11
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2019

We booked a Studio Room which was very spacious and well laid out. The bathroom though was somewhat small for the size of room. Towels were paper thin. There was also a lack of power points. Not all rooms have a safe, we were luck ot have one. Walls are quite thin, we could hear our neighbours above us and beside us having a shower....it was quite loud. The phone connection in the room was very poor, we had to jiggle to cord to get it to work properly. This hotel needs major refurbishing as it looked tired. The receptionist took a long time to process our check in and check out as there was only 1 receptionist who knew the process.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank allspice502016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 July 2019 via mobile

Had been two years since I last stayed in this hotel. The experience was great and the hospitality has been excellent as usual. This time, I booked two rooms for 6 nights for a family trip. I have requested to change the rooms as the allocated rooms were far from the lift which was very inconvenience for my mother who needs assistance , Mr Rahmat was very accomodating and changed the rooms immediately.

A slight improvement in the buffet breakfast would let give the place a FIVE stars rating instead of Four.

Overall, I would return and recommend this hotel to those who might be visiting Alor Setar.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank nambawan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maanagement, General Manager at StarCity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2019

Dear Kee I - Thank you for taking the time to pen down your feedback and observations. We look forward to your next visit to StarCity Hotel Alor Setar.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2019 via mobile

Stayed over the weekend and booked several rooms for a large group. I last visited in 2006 and it was a much nicer and more “happening” hotel then.
Our rooms on the 5th floor were clean and spacious (TA and other online booking sites list the double room size as 10sq/m. In reality the rooms are at least twice that size).
The bathroom was small but clean, with basic amenities but no bathtub.
The mattresses felt a little worn, the carpets thin and tired. The aircon worked well though. There is a kettle, fridge (empty) and clothes iron in the room.
Breakfast was rather disappointing, basic Malaysian business hotel fare.
Hotel location is very good with some nice eating places nearby. It’s also within walking distance from Aman Central Mall.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ceemohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maanagement, General Manager at StarCity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2019

Dear Ceemohan,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback and returning to us since 2006. Yes as you know business environment has slowed down these past years i believe everywhere.. Rest assured we are still making all efforts to remain happening and relevant. Your observations on the carpet, mattress and breakfast is well documented and will be in action for improvement. You will however be happy to know that room refurbishment was done last 4 years ago.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2019

Rooms were big, but everything looked dusty (the beds & linen were clean). Only one bath towel per person was provided- we asked for hand towels, and they said they do not have provision for it.
The staff at the reception needs more training- when I landed and asked for my room saying it was booked earlier, she looked at me,heard me and then kept on with her work for few more minutes without answering me, or requesting me to wait a while. Of course she was quite nice after this, as was every other member of the staff.
There is only one restaurant and the waiters there are in urgent need of a bath and change of clothes. food is most average with very little choice.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Usha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maanagement, General Manager at StarCity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2019

Dear Mansolan,

We are truly surprise to hear of your experience with us. We apologize for this. After looking through your feedback we have launched a review on our staffs guest contact skills and room preparation prior to arrival. We will improve and will ensure this poor show will not repeat itself. Please view this as a one off rather than a norm here at StarCity as we have always maintained a high level of cleanliness and friendliness.

As for the selection of food in our Paddy Cafe - We have a wide range of selection in our Ala-Carte Menu and we also feature various promotions from Tea Time sets to Steamboat to live cooking. Perhaps you will be able to sample this on your next stay with us.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2019

The stay here was relaxing and comfortable. The hotel staffs were nice and friendly. The breakfast is quite tasty and there are variety of food and drinks. The amenities in this hotel is compatible with its 4-star rating. What's good about this hotel is its good location which is within walking distance to many attractions of Alor Star. It is just about 200m behind the Aman Central shopping mall.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ngan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews