We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Comfort”
Review of AST Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AST Hotel
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Alor Setar
Reviewed 25 May 2017

I had a business trip in Alor Setar. I stayed in this hotel for 3D2N.
- friendly receptionist.
- water purifier is provided
- daily house keeping
- TV is provided
- A/C room
- water heater provided
- kettle provided

What's not so satisfied only
- 1 bed with only pillow
- sound insulation bad
- 3 floors of hotel without lift.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank KhoonChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2017

Is available for single room with reasonable price. Inside the room is clean & neat, space is quite wide for only 1 pax room and he bed is comfortable sleep for a night. Staff are friendly as she recommend some nice food nearby the hotel. There's plenty of restaurant nearby and also shopping complex. Overall it's good place for solo traveler or business stay.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Youfor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

During my stay at this hotel (January 2017), the hotel just nice may be because it's new hotel. I got ground floor room, beside the room is parking so not privacy. The room also quite small to family.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saifuddin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Staff hotel was friendly and very helpfull. I stay at 2nd floor. Room cleanliness was good and i'm happy with the room condition. No lift for this hotel, luckly i stay at 2nd floor. No issue for park your car bcuz this hotel hv a lot car park lot.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mohd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Came here out of sheer desperation honestly. Did a short run up to the north side Alor Star, Kedah from Ampang, Selangor (suburb of Kuala Lumpur) as that's where mum's hometown is and it's been quite awhile since she saw her eldest sister. Drove both her, dad along with wife and 2 below 5 years old nieces, at that time thinking that I've secured a (different) place through booking.com's app. Cut the story short that hotel dubiously "lost" my reservation and coolly asked me to just drive over anyways and try to make the 2pm check in time. By which point I was disgusted enough and told the missus to get busy on her handy when we were already just an hour away. Thankfully AST weren't that busy that day and the wife liked how the person in charge handled the phone call enough so the coin flipped as they say.

FREE and AMPLE enough parking space I'll start with that and always a huge plus. They got this semi squared basement side and back topped off by the front side's good for 5 cars' spots. During check-in manager in charge was kind enough (Miss I forgot your name so do let me know in your reply :)) to lead and gave my wife a brief lookover of the rooms before we paid up. Believe me this is an absolute rarity for most hotels in its segment and on our end it was much appreciated.

We got us 2 standard double rooms for a rate that I wouldn't haggle at all given the condition of the rooms yes it's that good. Clean, everything working in order and doesn't scream bargain bin cheap. 2 nights done and no complaints.

Hoping that they'll add another branch closer or in central Alor Star town but hey maybe that's for another review in the future. Will come back when we need to do this trip again somedays.

Room Tip: Whatever you do AVOID from getting any room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 0ChakAmin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alor Setar hotels
5.3 km away
The Leverage Mergong
The Leverage Mergong
#4 of 24 in Alor Setar
55 reviews
4.4 km away
Fuller Hotel Alor Setar
Fuller Hotel Alor Setar
#3 of 24 in Alor Setar
113 reviews
12.9 km away
TH Hotel Alor Setar
TH Hotel Alor Setar
#2 of 24 in Alor Setar
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
T Hotel Tandop
T Hotel Tandop
#22 of 24 in Alor Setar
16 reviews
3.8 km away
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
#9 of 24 in Alor Setar
119 reviews
4.4 km away
StarCity Hotel Alor Setar
StarCity Hotel Alor Setar
#10 of 24 in Alor Setar
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AST Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AST Hotel

Address: 182, Taman Perindustrian Tandop Baru, Lebuhraya Sultanah Bahiyah, Alor Setar 05400, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Kota Setar District > Alor Setar
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Alor Setar
Price Range: RM82 - RM111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AST Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the lovely area of Alor Setar City Center, AST Hotel enjoys a commanding position in the shopping, business, restaurants hub of Alor Setar. The hotel lies 6.5 km from the city center and provides accessibility to important town facilities. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. At AST Hotel, every effort is made to make guests feel comfortable. To do so, the hotel provides the best in services and amenities. For the comfort and convenience of guests, the hotel offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms, fax machine, photocopying, printer, taxi service. AST Hotel is home to 49 bedrooms. All are tastefully furnished and many even provide such comforts as internet access - wireless, non smoking rooms, air conditioning, desk, television LCD/plasma screen. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Whatever your reason for visiting Alor Setar, the AST Hotel is the perfect venue for an exhilarating and exciting break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your AST Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AST Hotel Alor Setar, Malaysia - Kedah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing