We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good location...”
Review of The Cabin Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cabin Langkawi
Ranked #26 of 161 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. The location was the best. The beach was just 5 minutes away..good restaurants and shopping area just at the doorstep of the hotel and staffs are very nice and helpful too. Room was ok though the bathroom can be improved. But it was overall a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated cabins..they are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shahrul79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 54 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

I stayed here for four barely tolerable nights along with some friends. What this place has going for it is a very central location right in Pantai Cenang (which is arguably not a great place to begin with). It's steps to the beach, restaurants, etc., and taxis are easy to find. The porch can be a nice place to hang out and share a few duty-free Tigers.

Unfortunately, our room had a few problems. The most egregious was the inch-plus of standing water in the bathroom. Not just after showers, which lacked hot water, but all the time. The towels provided, though changed every day, seemed to be made of a completely non-absorbent material. At this price point, I didn't expect luxury, but a towel that actually removes the water from my body, rather than just pushing it around, seemed a fair expectation. The room was not cleaned during our stay, aside from the towel change, so the bathroom became rather grimy, and the sand on the floor seemed to get into everything. We had to ask explicitly to have the room swept. Because of the layout of the cabins, the main sliding glass doors at the front of the room are the only real windows, and only source of outside light. This presented two problems — first, there was nowhere in the room to change without being seen by other guests outside (remember, the bathroom was drenched), and second, the room was pitch black with the curtains drawn. Forget about waking up to the sun streaming in.

On the day we were to depart, I asked the hotel staff to call us an airport taxi. When the time came to leave for the airport, the staff appeared to have completely forgotten to call, and were pretty unconcerned about the error. We ended up hailing a cab on the road, frustrated and running late.

Finally, though this is not the fault of the management, the hotel was overrun with large family groups during our stay, including many loud children, several to a room. This is not a great place to stay if you wish to sleep in — or avoid holidaying with people under the age of six.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank durianduran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I'll admit that the options on Langkawi are not great. That said, for what they are charging, The Cabin did not live up to my relatively low expectations. The positive points are the central location and the giant TV with cable (but who cares about a TV at the beach?).

There are a few more negatives than positives, though. The bathroom is filled with nearly an inch of standing water and the hot water in our bathroom didn't work. The cleaning was pretty atrocious. They changed some of the pillowcases and towels, but never cleaned the bathroom, only swept the sandy room when I specifically asked and didn't do any of the other basic things that one would expect. There's a cute balcony outside, but the chairs are so cheap and uncomfortable that it was hard to enjoy it. Perhaps the least appealing thing about The Cabin isn't really their fault, but the place was filled with screaming kids during the four days we were there. Each room was packed with large families, most of whom had 3+ kids. If you are stuck with an adjoining room with one of these families you are going to be waking up early every day because there's not a lot in the way of sound-proofing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fersure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Lovely place with clean rooms, nice garden, good value for money and a superb management team!
While we there the manager's daughter had her 4-year birthday and since it took place in the garden they invited all the guest. It was such a good night, with live band, bbq and plenty of cake. Thank you Cabinn!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Arrived in langkawi having not booked any accommodation so had a good look sround before deciding to stay here. Of all the reasonably priced (150-200rm a night) that I saw this was by far the best.
Rooms are small but clean. Bedding is a bit wierd as it's just an ikea throw with no sheet. The towels were very hit and miss - sometimes okay but often like small beach towels.
The main downsides about the cabin was the bathroom; the door didn't shut properly and it filled right up with water when showering and drained poorly which led to lots of bugs buzzing about in there (no roaches or mozzies though). The breakfast was pretty bad too def not worth the money - tried once and left.
Overall, it's relatively cheap, in a good location and pretty clean. I would stay there again as it's honestly still much better than its peers.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sesame01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.3 km away
Nadias Hotel
Nadias Hotel
#18 of 104 in Langkawi
190 reviews
1.0 km away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
435 reviews
0.3 km away
Casa Fina Fine Homes
Casa Fina Fine Homes
#19 of 161 in Langkawi
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
#2 of 24 in Pantai Cenang
328 reviews
4.1 km away
The Box Chalet
The Box Chalet
#13 of 161 in Langkawi
81 reviews
0.6 km away
Malibest Resort
Malibest Resort
#30 of 104 in Langkawi
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cabin Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cabin Langkawi

Address: Jalan Pantai Chenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range: RM141 - RM175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cabin Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cabin Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing