We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Malaysian Treat”

Privilege Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #12 of 422 Restaurants in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Elegant and intimate indoor Malaysian restaurant located on the first floor overlooking Telaga Harbour Marina. Privilege restaurant offers a degustation and a la carte menu with a fusion of Malay, Chinese and Indian influences. The bar offers a wide selection of wines, champagne and sparkling wine by the glass to enhance your dining experience. Wide selection of classic, house specialty and spicy cocktails and mocktails are available.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Malaysian Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a little skeptical about a fine dining restaurant in a marina, but we were quickly won over by the outstanding food and the attentive staff. The elegantly understated space and warm welcome were both inviting. My wife raved about the set course meal she had and thought it was the best she enjoyed in Malaysia. I went for assorted rendang as a main dish which was richly spiced but not overpowering. My picky daughter loved the duck. Service was thoughtful and not intrusive. A great meal in an unexpected place.

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LongDrives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    606
    179
    63
    26
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Traditional Malaysian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very quiet restaurant set on the marina, that serves traditional Malaysian food.

I had the Beef Rendang curry with rice, which was very good and my partner had the 5 spice duck. Both dishes were well seasoned and very well presented.

A vegetable dish with cabbage was served with the curry, however it was a tad watery for me and lacked flavour.

The home-made coconut flavour ice cream is absolutely divine, it was flavoured with vanilla and it was absolutely sublime! The right level of creaminess and flavour.

The service was also very good, both the manager and main waiter were very attentive.

We returned on the next evening of the holiday, and I had the duck. It was far superior to the beef curry, and I only wish that I was staying a bit longer so we could go again!

The chocolate fondant was to die for and the nutmeg ice cream that accompanied it was the best choice. I did interchange it for the smoked banana ice cream...however I would not recommend doing this, as the flavour does not compliment the cardamon spice in the dessert.

For under £30 for a three course meal, and to add a very good quality meal…you really can't go wrong!

Tip - if you are staying at The Danna, don't bother with the taxi, as it is only a five minute walk...if that.

Happy Eating!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Food D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“NICE AND ATTRACTIVE FOOD DISHES”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice and good restaurant to dine with, the food and quality of food presentation is great. should try and you will not regret.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank RENERONO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2017

This restaurant was recommended by another group staying in our hotel. We wanted somewhere special to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and a quick email to Peter had our table confirmed. The restaurant has a fine view over the marina and we had a wonderful meal. We weren't really going to have dessert, but were persuaded to do so and....they had decorated our plates with "Happy 30th Wedding Anniversary" in chocolate and very kindly gave us a card and a glass of dessert wine. A wonderful surprise and totally unexpected. The food was very good, the location superb and the bill very reasonable, but those extra touches really made it stand out as an example of a restaurant which cares about its customers. Thank you Peter and your team, we'll definitely be back the next time we're in Langkawi.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous restaurant ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

This is the best restaurant we've eaten at in Malaysia let alone Langkawi. We were recommended it by our driver to the hotel and we are not disappointed. The atmosphere is very professional, white table cloths huge variety of cocktails to get you started then on to the menu. Not huge but a good variety to choose we had pakora, and samosa to start followed by a lovely chicken masala simple in words but wonderful flavours. Couldn't recommend highly enough.
Staff are attentive but not over bearing. Will come back.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank TheSammys4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Privilege Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Privilege Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing