We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food portions are big, tastes are amazing!”

Privilege Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #12 of 422 Restaurants in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Elegant and intimate indoor Malaysian restaurant located on the first floor overlooking Telaga Harbour Marina. Privilege restaurant offers a degustation and a la carte menu with a fusion of Malay, Chinese and Indian influences. The bar offers a wide selection of wines, champagne and sparkling wine by the glass to enhance your dining experience. Wide selection of classic, house specialty and spicy cocktails and mocktails are available.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food portions are big, tastes are amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

They made us feel right at home and were very patient with our questions! We loved eating here and ordered everything in sight, the portions were pretty big though! Right next to the harbour for a stroll before or after dinner.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Camilla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    606
    179
    63
    26
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another two fantastic meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having been on a few occasions over the last few years, once we knew we were going to Langkawi again it was a MUST to have at least one meal at this restaurant. The ambience is relaxed and friendly, the place is never too full and noisy (by design I might add, not through lack of popularity !) and the food is fantastic.
The window seats offer a view out onto Telaga Harbour and the VERY nice boats moored up there. Peter and Tony, the co-owners, are usually around and on hand to give expert recommendations on the menu if you're not sure. We DEFINITELY recommend the beef rendang, it has to be one of the best in Malaysia !
If you visit Langkawi, make sure you add this to your 'to do list'
Jumpa Lagi Privilege !

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveandCaz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited this restaurant whilst in Langkawi. It was the only restaurant we tried away from the hotel and we were looking forward to it. The food wasn't bad it wasn't good it was just average. I had the plate with four different Malaysian dishes on it, my partner the rending and we were underwhelmed. The guy who served us wasn't particularly friendly and the owner didn't introduce himself despite conversing by email.

Disappointing

  • Visited April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juliagreenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Malaysian Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a little skeptical about a fine dining restaurant in a marina, but we were quickly won over by the outstanding food and the attentive staff. The elegantly understated space and warm welcome were both inviting. My wife raved about the set course meal she had and thought it was the best she enjoyed in Malaysia. I went for assorted rendang as a main dish which was richly spiced but not overpowering. My picky daughter loved the duck. Service was thoughtful and not intrusive. A great meal in an unexpected place.

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LongDrives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Traditional Malaysian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very quiet restaurant set on the marina, that serves traditional Malaysian food.

I had the Beef Rendang curry with rice, which was very good and my partner had the 5 spice duck. Both dishes were well seasoned and very well presented.

A vegetable dish with cabbage was served with the curry, however it was a tad watery for me and lacked flavour.

The home-made coconut flavour ice cream is absolutely divine, it was flavoured with vanilla and it was absolutely sublime! The right level of creaminess and flavour.

The service was also very good, both the manager and main waiter were very attentive.

We returned on the next evening of the holiday, and I had the duck. It was far superior to the beef curry, and I only wish that I was staying a bit longer so we could go again!

The chocolate fondant was to die for and the nutmeg ice cream that accompanied it was the best choice. I did interchange it for the smoked banana ice cream...however I would not recommend doing this, as the flavour does not compliment the cardamon spice in the dessert.

For under £30 for a three course meal, and to add a very good quality meal…you really can't go wrong!

Tip - if you are staying at The Danna, don't bother with the taxi, as it is only a five minute walk...if that.

Happy Eating!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Food D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Privilege Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Privilege Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing