We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
Trip.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
12
66
114
54
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
12
66
114
54
71
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2020

We have been several times, and always reserve a de-luxe room with a sea view and, for the price, it is very good value. The de luxe rooms are quite large, and all the usual amenities were there. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom okay - not new, the shower screen needed replacing, but as clean as could be expected. The shower was hot water but the wash basin only had cold, although being Malaysia it was not freezing cold!! The hotel has a terrace overlooking the sea, with a Bistro which opens every evening , near the local nightly market and a lovely view across Kuah bay and the hotel garden and pools. The grounds have attractive plants and a fish pond, over which is a small bridge which leads to the grounds, the pools and the terrace. There are beach towels by the pool and there are chairs, tables and sun beds, of which they do really need many more! Most of the guests appear to be local, and do not use the pools much throughout the day, as Europeans do, so it is usually fairly quiet throughout the day. They have made improvements to the grounds since we were there last, by installing a new children's pool with several water features, all in bright colours, which the kids love!
The restaurant (separate from the Bistro) opens for most of the day and the breakfast buffet was fine, with cereals, toast and jam, fruit, egg/pancake etc station, and a choice of local dishes to try. We found the staff to be fine, we had a problem which was fixed very quickly, in fact the receptionist we reported it to made a point of checking with us that it had been done.
Can't understand the very negative reviews unless they were staying in the part of the hotel across the road from the main building. I would not review it as if I had expected a 5 star nor would De Baron expect that! Very good for the money - the town was only a 10-15 minute walk along the coast, the twice weekly night market a 10 minute walk, plenty of restaurants both very near the hotel and in the town plus the fore-mentioned night market which opens every night and is just outside the hotel. There is also a shopping mall about 20-25 minutes walk away and a walk through the park (has some very good features and also has a beach along the waters edge) near the hotel (around 30 mins walk) leads to the Jetty from where the ferries operate, and has a shopping centre and restaurants, not forgetting the nearby Langkawi mascot - a beautiful statue of a Giant Eagle - you have to see it!!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annechad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 February 2020 via mobile

Easy check in, need to pay tourism tax on top of the room price. Room is at third floor with one slow-moving lift. Room is spacious but with old bed sheet, pillow sheet and towels. 10 minutes walk to Kuah night market, 15 minutes walk to duty free shops. There is a nice swimming pool in the compound with perfect sunset view. Overall it's a budget family hotel.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank nwy624
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 January 2020

The room they had provided was in a worst possible way. We booked Family Room and their service was very very POOR. The AIRCOND was not at all working, we have complained it multiple times to them & we also went down there and talked. Ask for change room but not allowed until the 3rd time i have complaint . Very bad customer service, the staff should be properly trained especially a staff name Salwani who seems rude to us when she keep on mention that our room will be okay when the maintenance do their job but unfortunately it wasn't. We request for a room change & it took them almost half day to sort it for us. The reception area and the lobby looks gloomy and ghostly. It was quite scary to stay there during non-peak season. Honestly, all in all i would not want to stay here again if I ever visit Langkawi & I would not recommend anyone of you to stay here!!

Room tip: Disappointing. Avoid it unless you're really desperate!
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BarbieGirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 January 2020 via mobile

We are budget travelers and booked what we thought would be a good deal. This place units the worst from different disciplines:
- Mold: Our room was moldy, large surfaces of the wall were affected and the smell was unbearable.
- Cleanliness: We walked in our room to find a dirty toilet and drapes with bloodstains on. The entire property has a serious cleanliness defecit, tidyness is inexisting. Carpet full with dirt-spots, litter in the floors, the elevator looked like if animals were kept in it, etc.
- A/C: Our oldtimer A/C was loud, condensationwater dripped out, but it did not cool.
- Surroundings: Langkawi is a holiday destination, you should known that the hotel is located in an industrial area.
- Service: Staff was in the line of the depicted, an exemple: wenn we left, the receptionclark could not call a taxi.
- Hardware: Furniture is old and dated, partially broken and affected by mold. E.g. The safe was laying on the floor and couldn’t be closed.

Of course did we discuss this with the Responsables. They showed very few interest to anticipate the problem. We were shown an alternative room that was as moldy as the first one. Secondly we were suggested to pay for an upgrade, which turned out to be as discussting and moldy as the rest, only larger.
This is a disappointment from the beginning till the end and does not meet any standards.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bowi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 November 2019 via mobile

We stayed in De Baron resort in Langkawi. Its a nice family resort near the Dataran Lang ( Eagle Square ) landmark. Food is good in their cafe. Breakfast is so so. Not much option. Swimming pool for kids is awesome. We upgraded the Room. Outside ambience is also very peaceful. There was a small market outside the resort just behind it. Overall nice budget family resort

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Shummu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews