We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget hotel near the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Helang Langkawi
Ranked #57 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel near the airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

Stayed there after my nightmare at the Meritus Pelangi and some issues with my departing flight..
The hotel is clean, located near the airport, rooms are spacious. The pool was a bit dirty and the hallways had stained carpets
The Food was priced reasonable but it was not great. The staff doesn't speak good English so it was difficult to communicate at times.

The staff was friendly and courteous, I asked for extra towels and extra water, which was complimentary, and got everything very fast.
We were worried about the noise, since it was near the airport, but we had no issues whatsoever. I must say the beds are a bit old and not very comfortable, but they were bug free.
Overall it's a good hotel for the price paid.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stl_traveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    154
    90
    27
    16
See reviews for
71
51
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my spouse for 2 days. We were mesmerized by the hospitality of the hotel staff and services. The hotel is very near from the airport just a 2 mins drive but little bit far from the main city. The main entrance of the hotel and its interiors looks amazing and its more beautiful than its shows in the pics. The rooms are very clean and cozy.

Hotel has the facility of internet access with a very reasonable cost. We needed to use the computer for offline use and the hotel staff provided us without any charges.

The buffett breakfast was good and also the ala carte dinner. It had some nice varieties for veggies. To sum it up, it was a memorable experience for us which we will treasure always.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DreamzUNlimited007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

This hotel can be a good budget hotel since the room is spacious, clean and comfortable. The toilet was really clean and well up-kept. Additionally it's 15 - 30 minutes walk from the Langkawi airport and it is center between Kuah town and Pantai Kok. If you are choosing this hotel, please don't put high expectation that you will have a sea view. You only can be able to see the airport or the paddy field view. The thing which was really dissatisfying for me in this hotel was the service provided. I called for room services as I was pretty hungry during the night and was lazy to drive out. The thing which I ordered was steak, but the operator inform me that the steak was in frozen condition, thus, they could not cook it. I was like what the hell??? Of course the steak is frozen. The should have give me a better reason than this rubbish thing to me.. What a service!!!!! I had made a complain the next day to the reception counter, yet no action was taken!! It is so irresponsible and not professional at all!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shui Xian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

I went to Langkawi with friends and stayed at the Helang hotel.

The hotel is huge and beautiful. The decor of the hotel is beautiful and very pleasant. The rooms are large and spotless. The rooms are fitted with very good toilets and shower.

The hotel has a beautiful swimming pool and the airport is almost a stone throw away..I could even see the aeroplane from the room window.

The staff are nothing to write home about, especially at the breakfast..they were very slow and the options for breakfast is very limited. We had to wait so long for the breakfast we almost missed our tour bus.

The problem with this hotel is it is far from all the happening places. There are no other bars or hotels around and it is not easy getting around to other places in Langkawi. It is not on the beach. Even getting to the nearest beach is far.

But for people not looking for much of night life this is a perfect place.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew_netlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

Room was big but don't look under the bed. You'll be surprised at what you find even though surface looks clean. Hotel is very quiet and you wonder where are people. Variety of breakfast items is not much. Certain section of the hotel needs to be properly maintained and maybe refurbished. Pool is not that clean. The only plus point is it's near the airport otherwise you may end up spending quite a bit on taxi if you want to go to town area. If you want to do shopping, Kuah hotels is a better choice or if you prefer beach, Pantai cenang can offer more.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salbu64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
116.5 km away
Bella Vista Express Hotel
Bella Vista Express Hotel
#78 of 100 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
116.1 km away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#80 of 100 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
117.4 km away
Kuala Melaka Inn
Kuala Melaka Inn
#75 of 100 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
106.3 km away
Hotel Langkasuka
Hotel Langkasuka
#60 of 100 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
104.0 km away
Langkawi Seaview Hotel
Langkawi Seaview Hotel
#40 of 100 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
110.3 km away
Kampung Tok Senik Resort Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helang Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helang Langkawi

Property: Hotel Helang Langkawi
Address: Lot 274, Hotel Helang Jalan Lima, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Price range (per night): RM161 - RM518
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Helang Langkawi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Helang Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helang Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing