We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awesome mangrove tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dev's Adventure Tours

Dev's Adventure Tours
Ranked #2 of 57 Tours in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Dev's Adventure Tours is an eco-friendly company with a dedicated group of nature guides who will give you an introduction to Langkawi's natural wonders. Experience the flora and fauna of Langkawi in a kayak, in a boat or on a bicycle and you will be amazed what this island has to offer. All trips will start with a minimum of 2 guest and there are many last-minute options, especially for single travellers.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Awesome mangrove tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Our guide Jerome is very knowledgeable about bats, mangroves, eagles, snakes, caves, not to mention his anecdotes which are very entertaining.

What tops it all is his passion for preserving nature, how we should embrace nature, not destroy it, for and in doing so, we save our human species!

Pace was good - even for us work-weary city folks!

Tour may be over however his message of nature preservation rings loud n clear in our hearts! Thanks Jerome - the tour with you was a HIGHLIGHT of our Langkawi trip!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank tiheechoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,529
    265
    20
    1
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
130 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Keiran is a fantastic guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

My best friend and I were lucky enough to go on two tours with Keiran' He gave us an Wildlife Evening tour at the resort we were staying at, which was so fantastic we decided to take the 5hr kayak tour of the mangroves...and we luckily enough to have him again as our tour guide. It was not only informative, but he is absolutely charming, and we saw loads of wildlife.


During the Evening Walk at the Barjaya Resort (where we were staying) we met up with the group and then took an hour long walk at during dusk/early evening through out some of the jungly bits of the resort. We saw geckos, flying lemurs, monkeys and hornbills. Keiran talked about the different animals in great detail, with lots of anecdotal stories about the native animals.

We then took the 5hour Kayak Tour of the Mangroves. We were delighted to find that Keiran was our guide again. I was a little surprised when we got to the entrance of the mangroves, there were loads of longboats coming in and out of this small river, we had to get on one of the longboats to get to where the kayaks were. When we got there though, it was nice to paddle away from the loudness of the longboat engins. In the kayak tour, we went deep into the mangroves. We saw snakes, hawks,bats, and lizards, as well as plenty of mangrove trees!

Also, a lunch was provided (and you were able to purchase beer and extra soft drinks from the restaurant.

Dev's Adventure Tours took a much more natural approach to the wildlife of the area, it was inspiring to see a company with the obvious intention of being unobtrusive to the environment, while still providing a great day out on a gorgeous tropical island! We really enjoyed both tours and learned a lot about Langkawi and the plentiful jungle that covers it.


Overall impression - A five star day out! It ticked all the boxes for an adventure. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Esthersnippe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We just had fun. It was an excellent tour. Our guide was superp ... Can't get any better ...

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zoonex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
“Mangrove Boat Tour - Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We joined the Mangrove Boat Tour with Khirien as our guide. Very informative and we really enjoyed ourselves. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ColaBear1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mazarron1088
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Mangrove Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

A really informative trip along the Mangroves, into the Andaman Sea and a look at the bat caves. I challenge anyone to find a guide as informative and passionate about his subject than our guide Selva. We saw, dingos, a sea otter, snakes, monitor lizards, eagles, monkeys and other wildlife.
Not as commercialised as some of the other operators and we like the way that they do not feed the eagles for the benefit of the tourists.
The food at the fish farm was pleasant although, personally, we thought the fish farm could be missed out without any detriment to the actual tour.
Would definitely recommend it to others.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank mazarron1088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dev's Adventure Tours also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Dev's Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing