We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
106
45
12
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
106
45
12
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tanjung rhu roti canai beachfront location clean beach your doorstep water sports rented a car three nights liza chalet island sunset cenang malaysia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2020 via mobile

This hotel is not worth more than 10 Euro.
The hotel is lucky that they have a good location at the beach. And that's it.

- you hear everything your neighbours do or say in their room
- you hear everything what happens outside of your room
- a bar which is playing music for their own entertainment. I asked if they can turn the music down because there were no guests at 1:00. They turned it down for 5 minutes until I was in my room. Then they made it louder again and there was loud music until 2:00 with no guests
- they charge for beach towels
- at the breakfast buffet you always have to wait until they fill it up
- the breakfast is not inclusive in the price and has nothing to offer. Every day nuggets, eggs, toast and jam. No local food
- if guests complain the owner says "I don't want bad reviews". He doesn't say "I want my guests to feel good". Other guests complained also. There is also no appology, only justifications
- you have no privacy at your veranda
- they don't care about their hotel. Everything is ugly. For example put some pictures in the room and it is not just white walls. The eating area looks like a supermarket
- you don't get what you pay here

I cannot understand the positive reviews. I slept also a lot in dorms in hostels. Every dorm was better than here.
I was here 4 nights and could not sleep one night without disruption. I asked if we can check out earlier because I cannot sleep. It was not possible. Money is more important than happy guests.
The best thing here was to check out after 4 nights.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 913erkanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2020 via mobile

What a gem of a place! The beach front location is a huge bonus. White powdery sand and while the sea is not crystal clear, it's so much cleaner here in Tanjung Rhu than Pantai Tengah or Cenang. Nana, Liza and family are fantastic hosts. Always friendly and accommodating. The rooms are a little old and may require some minor maintenance but the view more than makes up for it. If you're after a relaxing holiday away from the standard touristy hotel type accommodation, this is the place to be. Thanks Liza and Nana.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank LinHooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2019

I’m resting on a well-worn wooden beach chair outside the rustic seaside chalet of Labu-Labi in Tanjung Rhu while enjoying the sea breezes. The highlight of this small family-run hotel is having the beach right at your very doorstep. While basic, the chalet is clean, comfortable and somewhat charming with a very casual, laid back feel. Never mind, if it gets too hot and sunny. There is the option of chilling in the comforts of the air-conditioned room and still be able to take in the views of the quiet stretch of sand, sea and the nearby outcrop of islands, through the room’s tall windows. When hunger interrupts the hypnotic spell of waves lapping against the shore, then it’s time to take a short stroll along the beach to the Scarborough Fish & Chips Restaurant just next door or head to Roti Canai Power, less than 1 minute (by car) down the road.

Date of stay: December 2019
1  Thank WeiLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2019

Away from the city, one can sit on the bench or beach listening to the sound of the waves going by. The rooms are simple and very basic. They have breakfast at RM5.00 per person. Although it very simple, till you get your stomach full with the varieties. We had a late check-in, the staffs are so kind and helpful waiting for us. .

Room tip: All the rooms are facing sea views
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HapiTraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2019

Room is simple and clean. Very basic but the bed is super comfortable. Top quality bed. The sound of wave at night for sure contribute to the nice sleep as well.

The room is just right next to the beach. And several nice place to dine in like the Scarborough Fish and Chip which located next door. The Roti Power which served local breakfast (Roti Prata) is highly recommended. Expect to wait a little as they are run by a small family. But definitely worth the waiting.

Arrange an island hopping trip from Labu Labi. It was quick and easy.

Hidden gem in Langkawi. I wish the family running the guest house all the best and hopefully it will be the same or better when we come back next time.

For those who commented that the hotel is shabby or not good enough, maybe they can consider staying at Four Season next to it. Come on, you get what you pay for and at Labu Labi I strongly think it worth every penny i spent there.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norzailiza, Reservation and Front Desk at Labu Labi Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2019

Hi dear,thank you very much for your staying at our family residence.Really looking forward to your next stay in the future.It was a pleasure for having a guest like you.And thank you in a million for the beautiful comments about our property,it’s really nice to hear a positive reviews.We’re keep trying the best to be the best.
Have a good day ahead.
:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews