We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blindsided by poorly trained staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Perdana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Perdana
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Blindsided by poorly trained staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2017

Overall this is a good hotel but it had a dark and light side, the dark side being the older unrefurbished part and the light, the bright newly refurbished part. We chose the standard option for a deluxe room, after all it's supposed to be 5*****. My wife asked the lady at reception if there was a free upgrade (don't ask, don't get), however, the only way to upgrade was to pay. My main requirement for a room is a bath tub and our room came with that, so no need to upgrade; we thought!

The room itself was OK, albeit very dated. The first night I had an, almost, hot bath. The second night I was' so lucky. It seemed they had a problem with the hot water and after 2 visits from maintenance and several calls to reception, I was informed of this. The next morning I approached reception to tell of my disappointment. It wasn't until the morning after the 3rd night that someone had the sense to put us in the part of the hotel (the refurbished part), that had plenty of hot water. Of course, we did not know about the newly refurbished part at that point! So, the take away from this, is, make sure you stay in the newly refurbished part.

The newer part is like a totally different hotel and I honestly cannot fathom why they's want to put anyone in the old part, unless they were busting at the seams. Had that not have happened, this wold have been a very bad review.

All in all, it was a good hotel and I can only hope the management read this review and teach their frontline staff some room selling skills! When we stayed in Prague, the guy at reception asked us if we'd like to upgrade and invited us to see both rooms; we chose the upgrade, as we would have done at the Perdana!!!

This is a good hotel but not being presented well by its staff. Would I go there again? definitely, albeit a little wiser this time.

The location is good, as it is a short walk to KB Mall and only RM12 to the big wet/dry market. There is a very rich Thai influence in Kota Bahru, I believe it used to be part to Thailand, prior to WWII? So it is well worth doing some exploring in the surrounding countryside.

There is a ground level pool, just beside the breakfast room, although it was quite crowded when we were there. SO I'd recommend an early start if you want a swim; remember your trunks though!

Room Tip: Check out the refurbishment progress, choose the new, it costs a little extra but it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomBush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    176
    49
    11
    6
See reviews for
112
78
13
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ampang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2017

The hotel got nice, with spacious room, swimming pool, gym and restaurant with buffet breakfast included, even old a bit, it is still comfortable and it is a great place to stay

Got free parking and easy to park

  • Stayed June 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

The location is good, and ample parking space. Hospitable staff greeted me the minute I arrived. Rooms are big and comfy. We had a very comfortable stay, and will definitely return when we visit KB again.

Stayed February 2017, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Selina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chumphon, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2017

The hotel Perdana has shades of 1880's colonial style. Brand new refurbishment means luxurious room with extremely friendly and professional staff. Elegant furnishing and excellent breakfast provide a very welcome break from the not-so-welcoming city of Kota Bharu . One major issue i had was that when i went to have a look at the menu for the Chinese restaurant i was proudly told that they offered local specialty of shark fin soup. I would suggest that if they wish to serve such barbaric and inhumane food offerings, it is not a good idea to tell caucasian customers as it is not an acceptable practice.

Room Tip: Executive wing was brand new and very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivor_roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017

The old wings are more spacious but recently they were renovating the old wings.
I hope it will remain as spacious as it was before.

The new executive rooms are smaller.. just like the modern chic hotel.. I do not really fancy the lay out and set up.

Breakfast menu is amazing, you do not have to leave the hotel to savor the typical Kelantanese breakfast spread. Nasi Dagang on certain days, nasi kerabu on the other.

We kind of like the new lobby set up .. it looks very quaint now and preserved it's classic looks. The old kid on the block is still the best !

Room Tip: Always request for the old wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AzuraAzizeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Bharu hotels
1.2 km away
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
#2 of 38 in Kota Bharu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.2 km away
Grand Riverview Hotel
Grand Riverview Hotel
#4 of 38 in Kota Bharu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.9 km away
Crystal Lodge
Crystal Lodge
#3 of 38 in Kota Bharu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre
1.2 km away
Crown Garden Hotel
Crown Garden Hotel
#12 of 38 in Kota Bharu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.2 km away
G Home
G Home
#7 of 38 in Kota Bharu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perdana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perdana

Property: Hotel Perdana
Address: Jalan Mahmood, Kota Bharu 15200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kelantan > Kota Bharu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Price range (per night): RM219 - RM289
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Perdana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Perdana, the first premier hotel in Kota Bharu has undergone a major transformation into a luxury 5 star hotel. Stands in the heart of the city centre, within walking distance to Stadium Sultan Muhammad ke- IV, strategically located within a commercial district, government offices, shopping areas, hospitals and local attractions. The hotel is only 15 minutes drive from Sultan Ismail Petra Airport Kota Bharu. Blending with a touch of modern luxury in a classic decor, spreading over 2 wings and offering 272 well-appointed guest rooms and suites. Suitable for any business traveller or holiday makers, Hotel Perdana is set to be the new landmark and a preferred choice of accommodation in Kota Bharu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel Perdana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Perdana Kota Bharu, Kelantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing