We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand Renai Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sutera Prima(Kota Bharu)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Sentosa(Kota Bharu)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Perdana(Kota Bharu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hosaga Biz Hotel(Kota Bharu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jewels Hotel(Kota Bharu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Al-Ansar(Kota Bharu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hanis Villa Hotel(Kota Bharu)
View Hotel
Azam Hotel(Kota Bharu)
View Hotel
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
103
163
76
22
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
163
76
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrenaissance hotelshopping malldynasty restauranta marriott rewards memberclub roomwe ordered room servicefive star hotelbreakfast buffetlobby loungeno alcoholswimming poolhigher floorlocal dishescomfortable staydecent hotelhotel facilitieseasy access
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2016

The hotel proved a good base for our team of six working a couple of miles away. The rooms are spacious and well appointed.
The breakfasts were a highlight of the trepanned there was a varied selection of dishes to suit all tastes. We only eat at the hotel once in the evening and this was a buffet that was also pretty good.
There is high speed internet in the rooms for a small fee and free wi fi around the hotel.
Kelantan is a dry state so don't expect to find any alcohol but there is a good range of non alcoholic drinks.
At night the road outside can be noisy so suggest that ask for a room on the other side. The traffic in the day can be slow so allow plenty of time for travelling around time.

Room Tip: Away from the road recommended
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, General Manager at The Grand Renai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience during your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay and were totally pleased with our services. Your positive feedback will be shared among our associates to inspire them to give their best at all times.

Regards
Adrian Cecil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for few nights to find the rooms were quite pleasant with a touch of traditional deco.

The dinner and lunch buffet are okay but it seems they repeat the menu after 1 day. They didn't served juice or cordial during buffet time.

The meeting room felt so suffocating as no air ventilation and it smells old. To make it worse, you even can smoke outside the meeting room which basically the smoke will be aired for the whole halls.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Rafidah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, General Manager at The Grand Renai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2016

Dear Rafidah,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at our Hotel. We are glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay; however regret that your meeting experience was not that satisfying. Please accept our sincere apologies for the setbacks. Your comments was noted and shared with the relevant associates concerned; and necessary steps will be implemented to prevent future recurrences.

Meeting our guest’s highest satisfaction has always been our top priority and we are working hard towards that objective. Once again, thank you for your feedback which would help us on improving our service quality.

Most importantly, we look forward to serve you better on your next visit.

Best regards,
Adrian Cecil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Not a pleasant stay, cold showers to under cooked food to finding hair in my food. I brought it to room services attention, apparently hair in food is funny. I do not recommend staying here. Also, if you are looking to relax in the sun next to a nice pool I'd look somewhere else!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, General Manager at The Grand Renai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at our Hotel.

We regret that your stay with us was not so pleasant. Please accept our sincere apologies for the setbacks. Your valuable comments were noted and addressed with our team members. We will take the necessary steps to prevent future recurrences.
Every hotelier works hard towards meeting or even exceeding his guest’s expectations and ensure that his team members will deliver them.

We hope you will give us another chance to serve you better on your next visit.

Regards
Adrian Cecil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We checked in at 11pm and were gone by 6:30am but the Renaissance was great for those few hours. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the shower was warm and powerful. The front desk staff were all very friendly and arranged airport pick up and transfer to Kuala Besut to enable us to get the first ferry to the perhentians.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, General Manager at The Grand Renai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

Dear Anna,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience at our Hotel. We are so glad to hear that you had a warm and comfortable stay. Your positive comments will be shared with our team to further inspire them. Our team always strive hard to meet our guests' expectations.

We are glad to be of service to you and look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Adrian Cecil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Having a tremendous and sincerely staffs by assisting people like me as a new guest at the hotel. A nice place with a great staff will complement each other. Thank you from my deeply my heart. A few new experiences in my lfe at the hotel cannot be forgotten and will continue staying in the future.

Room Tip: High level
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mohd Rizal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, General Manager at The Grand Renai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Dear Mohd Rizal,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to know that you had enjoyed your stay and will share your positive comments among our associates. We also look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards
Adrian Cecil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews