We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$49
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/02/23
Expedia.com
US$53
View deal
Vio.com
US$42
View deal
Hotels.comUS$53
TravelocityUS$53
PricelineUS$61
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
126
192
87
24
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
126
192
87
24
19
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2021 via mobile

Booked for my family and they are very happy with the rooms as the rooms look better than be website. Both rooms are very well kept and clean. Friendly and helpful staff as well as a very reasonable price for what we get. Very recommended.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Annelisa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Grand Renai Hotel, Sales at The Grand Renai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2022

Thank you for choosing our hotel and giving us a perfect rating! We are glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive feedback will be shared with our team members to inspire them to give their best at all times. Thank you for your support and we're looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2021 via mobile

It used to run under the Renaissance franchise and tipped as the only 5-star hotel in town. Hence locals called it Renai. Now it’s operating under that very name, having severed the operating contract with Marriott Hotel group (owner of the Renaissance franchise).

Nothings changed save for the service. It no longer is run as a 5-star. But the rooms are still above 4-star. Kota Bharu being a food haven, guests dont eat at the hotel restaurant outlets except for the limited buffet breakfast.

The other hotel is more centrally located but this Renai offers better value (in my opinion).

Youre better off booking from the hotel website than the likes of Agoda (unless you are redeeming points).

If you are looking for a true 5 star hotel in Kota Bharu, theres none. This is the closest you get.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
4  Thank esquire838
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Grand Renai Hotel, Sales at The Grand Renai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2022

Thank you for choosing our hotel and giving us a positive rating! We are glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your support and we're looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2020 via mobile

Being a regular guest to this hotel with bi-monthly record stay on personal course, I never feel there’s element of appreciation/recognition this hotel ever extended for a loyalist like myself. With just a decent hotel quality and biggest room of improvement on customer service level I was made to understand that my reservation was expired a day earlier (still charged for no show) upon checking-in & admittedly to continue staying on the 2nd night given the bill had been fully paid. However, what really traumatized me was that nobody from the hotel called and reminded me just like how other hotel booking websites do to most of us either via auto-email or SMS. When asking this from front office agent this person kept saying “memang kita tak ada bagitahu (we never provide such info or reminder) as if we as a customer has to be god to know this in past life and be liable when this kind of issue arises. And it really got into my nerve when this unpleasant front office again started to raise voice defensively to reaffirm the fact that it was not hotel’s fault but the customer. It mimicked exactly just like a properly attired but with zero tolerance and courtesy of loan-shark officer threatening you with no available choices.

In short, let’s go back to traditional way of booking this hotel via Agoda, hotels.com or booking.com whenever you feel your stay is well taken care of & be ready to accept discounted customer service quality.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank fikrieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Grand Renai Hotel, Sales at The Grand Renai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2022

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. First and foremost, we are sorry due to the poor services that we couldn't provide well to you. We will consider your feedback and take further action for a better service. Thank you for your support and we're looking forward to serving you better on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2020

Just a single night whilst touring from Penang to KL the long way around as it were. Only used the restaurant for breakfast, no issues. Rooms good sized and clean, staff pleasant and ample parking outside for our bikes.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millhouze
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Grand Renai Hotel, Sales at The Grand Renai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2022

Thank you for choosing our hotel and giving us a positive rating! We are glad that you've enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your support and we're looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2019

This is the first time I went to KB for pleasure, not work. Everyone recommended to stay here. It was easy to see why, it is good; clean and comfortable.
A well-managed old hotel with extension to shopping mall which is a plus.

The price range was a bit on the high side but the rooms make up for it in space and overall efficiency/cleanliness - I mean, I can't remember when was the last time I'm in a hotel where the nightstand button is working.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amir_mazlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Melissa_Zainuddin, Director of Sales at The Grand Renai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2019

Dear amir_mazlan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience at our Hotel.

We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay and we had met your expectations. We are appreciative of your positive comments.

Thanks again for your support. We look forward to welcome you back the next time your are in Kota Bharu.

Yours sincerely,
Melissa Zainuddin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews