We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Within a Tropical Paradise”
Review of Tiara Labuan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tiara Labuan Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hotel Within a Tropical Paradise”
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

Tiara is located about 2 km away from the centre of Labuan town. The hotel provides transport to and back from town. Make full use of this service cos taxi rates are very high: RM15 (they only use the coupon system) from town centre to the hotel which is only a 2km ride. Very friendly and attentive staff. They will be more than willing to accommodate your request. I even got a free ride to the airport. The entire hotel is nestled in a beautifully landscaped tropical paradise. There's a huge pond with a variety of fish namely KOI. The hotel has a nice swimming pool. There are many restaurants and bars in the hotel but most are not patronised cos most hotels in Labuan are suffering due to the drop in oil prices and the diminishing influx of expatriates and business people. I was given a massive room with a king-sized bed and a super-single bed too. However, the rates were a little on the high side. Beds were very comfortable. Limited TV channels. No sports channels. Room is in dire need of some serious touch-up: peeling wall paint in the main area and in the bathroom. Water pressure was a little low. My request for extra coffee, creamer and sugar was attended to immediately. Rooms come with complimentary breakfast for 2 and the spread at the buffet is more than satisfactory. Thewar memorial is located only about 500 metres away from the hotel. The airport is about 8-10 minutes away. All in all, I truly enjoyed my stay here. Will definitely return to this hotel if I'm back in Labuan.

Stayed November 2016, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kuru276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    67
    42
    17
    10
See reviews for
42
36
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2016

i was disappointed because i have stayed tiara few years ago and i was surprised to see their service and quality deteriorated! heck, i even worked (for a few months) in tiara before and i know, at that point of time, how they stressed on the importance of quality service. lets start from the beginning when i checked in:
this was a birthday treat from my fiance to me. when we went into the room, we were puzzled to find two beds: a queen n a single, when my fiance has specifically booked a king. we called up the reception and the lady mentioned king beds are all occupied, therefore she gave us a triple sharing room. mind you, she didnt say anything during our check in when she could have do so. INCOMPETENCY #1.
next, we realized there were not any towels in the room or in the toilet. so we called reception AGAIN to enquire. she said the towels were not ready as they are supplied out of tiara for laundry purposes. again, she failed to mention this during check in. INCOMPETENCY #2.
next, when the housekeeping delivered the towel, they didnt even bother to ring the bell or knock. THEY OPENED OUR DOOR RIGHT AWAY! thank goodness we latched the door! SOP will require housekeeping to knock or ring the bell first to check if the room is occupied or not right? does this mean there are no communication between reception/room booking with housekeeping? IMCOMPETENCY #3.
the same thing happened again the next morning and thank god the latch was on. this was later clarified by reception when we complained that housekeeping mistook our room for the next room to ours who has checked out. INCOMPETENCY #4.
we also found out the water in the kettle was not cleared from previous occupancy. took some pictures as proof. this means the housekeeping has not been doing their job well? and the sheets also had sands on it. we had small red dots on our thighs and legs. INCOMPETENCY #5 & #6
the air con was insufficient to cool the whole room. breakfast is so so only, not many variety. probably bcz it is a weekday. angela from reception helped by investigating the whole housekeeping open up door issue for us and she eventually found out who did it. she even called me back to clarify n explain the whole situation. i appreciated that so thumbs up for that. the whole experience did scare me a little and im skeptical if i would ever go back again.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sLengK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed Tiara hotel second time already and would like to come there again. This time I stayed in a luxury room which is very nice and comfortable. It is stylishly decorated with wood, has high ceiling and beautiful sea view. Garden is very well maintained and picturesque, pool is large and clean, gym has very nice staff members. Especially i liked Friday buffets' dinner with extended good food, nice live music and attentive service. Though the hotel is located a little far from the city and stores it has a regular bus shuttle service for free. I recommend to take a rental car in the airport. The rate is very cheap but the Peroduya car is fun to drive.

Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colonel Lime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Labuan Island, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Been some time since i have been dragged to the tiara i really hope its even longer before the next visit..on the bright side they have indeed started to at least clean the place up .. but thats where it ends !!!!
Service is the worst possible with one guy calling reception to get some service by the pool not once but 3 times.
Food was its usual bad so don't bother trying
Prices for this second rate hotel are disproportionate to what is being offered.never mind what the photos look like they are deceiving as u can see... and its on a flight path so be prepared for noise

Stayed October 2016
Helpful?
Thank ducati112016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Stay there 3 days 2 nights. Hotel is rundown. Breakfast not much of variety & need to queue for dining. Swimming pool is nice & huge. Staffs is friendly & helpful. Called room services but food is not warmed.

Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Labuan Island hotels
1.6 km away
Dorsett Grand Labuan
Dorsett Grand Labuan
#1 of 10 in Labuan Island
490 reviews
1.6 km away
Billion Waterfront
Billion Waterfront
#5 of 10 in Labuan Island
99 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Aifa Labuan
Hotel Aifa Labuan
#1 of 2 in Labuan Town
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
KL Hotel
KL Hotel
#2 of 2 in Labuan Town
13 reviews
11.9 km away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Labuan Island
163 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Labuan Point
Hotel Labuan Point
#1 of 20 in Labuan Town
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiara Labuan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiara Labuan Hotel

Property: Tiara Labuan Hotel
Address: Jalan Tanjung Batu, Labuan Island 87007, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Labuan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Price range (per night): RM215 - RM378
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiara Labuan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiara Labuan is a city cresort located off the coast of Borneo. It provides free parking, Wi-Fi, restaurant, bar and fitness centre. Rooms have a private balcony and a kitchenette. Rooms are spacious and feature a bathtub, shower facilities and a hairdryer. Cable TV, a minibar and 24-hour room service are also provided. Guests of Tiara Labuan can play a game of table-tennis or use the resort’s sauna. Barbecue facilities are available. The islands around Labuan host the world’s richest coral and fishing grounds. Labuan is a duty-free shopping haven with rich historical background. Located in the state of Sabah, Tiara Labuan is a 10-minute drive to Labuan Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tiara Labuan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing