We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff & Good location. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Grand Labuan
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

I have Been staying here for my visit to Labuan for many years. Friendly and helpful staff. The Location is great. Love the ginger bread house that was set for Xmas. Bought a slot on the brick coz the funds will be used for charity. Keep up the good work.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
Thank KennethT670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorsett Grand L, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Labuan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Dear Kenneth T670,

First and foremost, thank you for selecting Dorsett Grand Labuan for your accommodation needs during your visit to Labuan.

On behalf of my team, allow me to thank you for your wonderful review and we are happy that you have a pleasant stay. Appreciate for your support on our charity event by buying the Ginger Bread House's block. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you back to Dorsett Grand Labuan.

Best Regards,

SUSAN CARLOS
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
There are newer reviews for Dorsett Grand Labuan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 43 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2016

I have traveled to Labuan for business for the last two years staying anywhere from a few days to two months and have stayed at the Dorsett and my experience there has been excellent!

It started as I entered the hotel and was greeted by the personnel at the front door and the staff working at the front desk. Morning, noon or night, it made no difference, I was always greeted with a smile and a welcome back greeting.

Here are my experiences:

Breakfast: The complimentary breakfast provides a great selection of juices and fruits and so much more. Personal favorite was the eggs made to order and I highly recommend the cheese omelet.

Lunch: A full lunch buffet provides a large number of choices and is great for either a business lunch or a casual bite to eat. The large variety serves to satisfy a number of different appetites. Since it is served buffet style, all the food was ready to go and made for a quick bite to eat during the day.

Center bar: I loved the center bar to grab a beverage or casual meal in the evening. It has a very relaxed environment and a menu with lots of food choices. The bonus was the bar had two different happy hours which makes the beverages very affordable.

Rooms: I found the king size bed to be very comfortable and the housekeeping staff did an excellent job caring for the room and I. The housekeeping staff were professional and always cleaned my room very timely. The internet connection was excellent and it made it easy for me to work from the hotel when my job demands required it.

Executive rooms: I found the executive rooms to be of great value on my longer stays and it allows one to have access to the lounge. Inside the lounge, they provided cold beverages and light food selections. It was an excellent way to wind down after working all day with a cold drink and grab a snack.

Overall: My experience at the Dorsett was amazing and I found all the staff to be very professional and pleasant to be around. They saw to my needs for the last two years and I grateful for the hospitality they extended towards me. I found all the staff to be pleasant to be around and I think it originates with the tone at the top from the General Manager, Susan Carlos. I can’t thank you enough for you and your staff’s hospitality and assistance while I stayed there.

If your work or holiday takes you to Labuan, I would highly suggest the Dorsett both for the kind staff as well as the excellent value received at the hotel.

Best wishes for a great 2017!

Room Tip: If possible, a view of the water is very nice!
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KurtBush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorsett Grand L, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Labuan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Dear KurtBush,

First and foremost, thank you for selecting Dorsett Grand Labuan for your accommodation needs during your visit to Labuan.

On behalf of my team, allow me to thank you for your wonderful review and we are truly pleased that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our friendly staff. Feedback like this is great motivation for our staff to constantly give their best. We are glad that you have enjoyed our foods selections, services & facilities reached your expectations.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you back to Dorsett Grand Labuan.

Best Regards,

SUSAN CARLOS
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016

3rd time o Labuan after accommodating at Billion and Tiara and wanted to give Dorsett a try. All i can say is "regrets" for a 5 start hotel standard
dust
Not denying excellent check in and check out service with big rooms. Breakfast nothing much to shout about for a 5 star hotel reputation. One look from outside very classy. Internally it is an old design, with very old dusty carpet. Stayed there for two nights and three days and never saw even once the carpet being vacumed. That answers why the dust. Was sneezing all throughout in the room. Not worth for the price

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dharroshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorsett Grand L, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Labuan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Dear Dharroshan,

First and foremost, thank you for selecting Dorsett Gran Labuan for your accommodation needs during your recent visit to Labuan.

It is with great concern that I read your comments about the services you experienced during your stay with us. I can assure you that this situation is being addressed and reviewed with the department concerned, to further reinforce the standard of our service.

We take great pride in being able to provide the best service possible and constantly strive for perfection. It appears that in your case, we have failed to live up to our own standards of services.

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused to you and we thank you for your feedback. It is only by receiving feedbacks from our guests that we are able to overcome any deficiencies. Though nothing can be done to change your past experience, I hope you will allow us another chance to redeem ourselves.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcome you back to the Dorsett Grand Labuan.

Best Regards,

Susan Carlos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

We were thinking of a place to stay for a nite, and at the last minute we decided to stay at the Dorsett Grand Labuan. With their weekend getaway price and also their anniversary that time, everything is well worthed. The staffs are very friendly, and the room is very spacious enough for both hubby and me.With the choices of breakfast, everything looks scrumptious and delicious. After checking out, we had our lunch there, and may i say ur Nasi Ayam Hainan is out of the world, esp the chili (never had such like that before). We even have a future plan bringing along my ma staying there, JUST BECAUSE of the GREAT SERVICE,GREAT ROOM, CALMING SURROUNDING and FRIENDLY,HELPFUL STAFFS.

Room Tip: Get a room with South China Sea view and a corner room which are spacious.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MimZiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettGrandLabuan, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Labuan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Dear MimZiq,

First and foremost, thank you for selecting Dorsett Grand Labuan for your accommodation needs during your visit to Labuan.

On behalf of my team, allow me to thank you for your wonderful review and we are truly pleased that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our friendly staff. Feedback like this is great motivation for our staff to constantly give their best. We are glad that you have enjoyed our foods selections, service and ambiance.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you back to Dorsett Grand Labuan.

Best Regards,

SUSAN CARLOS
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

A good time to remember our fallen heroes in November and what better host than Dorsett Grand Labuan to delight us with awesome meals, very comfortable stay, activities in and around the hotel, local delights and hands on information on the history of Labuan. Very helpful staff were on hand to fullfill all our requirements and with all intentions met we came away pleased and happy with a promise to be back. Thank you Dorsett Grand Labuan!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank marie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettGrandLabuan, General Manager at Dorsett Grand Labuan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016

Dear Marie C,

First and foremost, thank you for selecting Dorsett Grand Labuan for your accommodation needs during your visit to Labuan.

On behalf of my team, allow me to thank you for your wonderful review and we are truly happy that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our friendly staff. Feedback like this is great motivation for our staff to constantly give their best. We are glad that you have enjoyed our foods selections and your days on the island.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you back to Dorsett Grand Labuan.

Best Regards,

SUSAN CARLOS
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Labuan Island hotels
1.6 km away
Tiara Labuan Hotel
Tiara Labuan Hotel
#4 of 10 in Labuan Island
216 reviews
0.2 km away
Billion Waterfront
Billion Waterfront
#5 of 10 in Labuan Island
103 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Aifa Labuan
Hotel Aifa Labuan
#1 of 2 in Labuan Town
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
KL Hotel
KL Hotel
#2 of 2 in Labuan Town
13 reviews
12.4 km away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Labuan Island
166 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Labuan Point
Hotel Labuan Point
#1 of 20 in Labuan Town
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Grand Labuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Grand Labuan

Address: Dorsett Grand Labuan 462 Jalan Merdeka, Labuan Island 87029, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Labuan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Price Range: RM302 - RM453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorsett Grand Labuan 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 5-star hotel in Labuan, Dorsett Grand Labuan brings out the best of what Labuan Island has to offer. The hotel is only minutes away from the Labuan Airport and a short distance from its bustling town centre. With an international buffet spread and a wide array of ala-carte dining, a sports lounge for guests to catch their favourite sports coverage, and a bar offering live entertainment at night, Dorsett Grand Labuan truly inspires! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Grand Labuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Dorsett Labuan Hotel Labuan Island
Sheraton Labuan
Labuan Sheraton
Grand Dorsett Hotel Labuan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing