We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If attitude remains”
Review of The Shorea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shorea
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Initially this is meant to be a happy gathering of a group of travellers that has set our footprint in 6 out of seven continents of the world, and coming from different corner of Malaysia (We have members from as far as Sarawak & Sabah, Kedah, Penang, Perak, KL, Selangar & Johor). Unfortunately, the oversight of the resort management and it's arrogant attitude after they discover their mistake has put on an ugly stain of this annual gathering.

Two days before our annual gathering, the resort sent us a message that destroyed our joyous mood of gathering. The reason that we selected this resort out of a handful available in the area was we love the idea and concur with the concept of the operator.

We asked for permission from the resort to allow us to accomodate extra members in the resort, but the resort firmly rejected our request stating that they adhere to strict limitations of headcount in the resort. However they suggested us to put a few of our members in Malani Villa which is nearby. After a getting a nod from all the participants and sorted out the volunteers to be put over at Malani Villa, we accept their suggestion. All these communications happened in March. We then proceeded to collect the fees and prepaid the total charges including the extra person charge to the resort in May 2014.

However, merely 2 days prior to our arrival in July, the resort informed us that they have forgotten to make the booking at Malani and it's now fully booked. They are unable to secure any room in the area too. In addition, they approached us in a way that they took us as a misbehaving gang of customer just like other customer that they have hosted. We were being annoyed by this perception of us before meeting any of us. What they have said and publicize in their website and prior communication is totally opposite of how they treat us when they failed to deliver what they have promised 4 months ago! We have sorted out all the arrangement in March 2014 and only in July, 2 days prior to our stay that they told us they FORGOT to book.

As our group members object to these unacceptable arrangement, then they proposed to compensate us with a high tea and upgrade of our dinner, as well as refund, not waived what we have supposed to be paying to stay at Malani Villa.

Well, as for the compensated high tea, it only consist of two to three pisces of local kuih, which probably cost a ringgit per pax. However the resort value this at RM 20 as stated in their website. As for the upgarded dinner, which the has a price tag of RM 65 in the resort consist of only shrimp not prawn, as well as some cheap local fish with full of cheap potatoes. The portion of fish available also isn't for 15 pax that we have ordered.

In addition, we have to remind the owner multiple times for the RM 600 refund.

The host never make their presence in the resort to welcome us during our stay as agreed earlier. In earlier communication, we requested Elaine to come over to discuss about the compensation but she didn't come. When we asked the housekeeper, they replied that their boss will come before our departure. If we had not assert our own right, they will not take us seriously. In the process of communication, the management also showed an arrogant attitude instead of customer centric approach.

This will be our first and last time to the resort, and I will discourage all my friends from staying here as I do not want them to experience what I have gone through communicating with Elaine. The holiday would have been perfect if only the management can show more of our Malaysian hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
30  Thank raymond_hooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShorea, Owner at The Shorea, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Raymond Hooi

Warmest greetings from The Shorea,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We are most concerned that you have left with such a negative feeling about our service and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectation.

We will follow up very seriously and share it to the rest of the team for further improvement. Once again we deeply apologize for not being able to deliver the service and products as expected during you stay with us.

We sincerely hope to have another opportunity to deliver a better experience to you. Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback

Yours Sincerely,

Elaine Tan
The Shorea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for The Shorea
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 104 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were a group of 20+ peoples that plan to have a gathering at the resort. We booked the whole place in March and planned to have a getaway in July during the holy month of Ramadhan. We were informed by the resort that they have a strict rules regarding the maximum number of people allowed to overnight in the resort in order to maintain the quality of our holidays and many more reasons. They arranged the extra personnel to be put over at the malani resort which is within the proximity of the resort.

We concur with the concept of the resort to have a quiet getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city and believe that this arrangement best suit our holiday. Hence we happily accept the arrangement and pay the extra.

However, 1 day prior to our arrivals, they whatsapp us to say that they will arrange everything in the resort with extra beds. We refused to accept the arrangement and the management replied us with the below message "very sorry about this. Normally we charge extra Myr 200 per extra guests and place them at Malani Villa. For your case, I charge the extra guest Myr 100. Also, 4 out of 5 times that we pay malani villa, our guests did not go. Warmest regards"

We were unhappy with the rudeness in their reply. Money is not the main issue as we were willing to pay higher than 5 star resort price for this said gem in Negeri Sembilan. However the attitude of the management of the resort is beyond tolerance.

Looking at all previous review of the resort, I would strongly advise holiday maker to seriously consider spending your quality time in this place to tolerate the attitude of the resort owner. There are a few competitor in the vicinity while I previously had a great time at Titi Eco Resort some 20+km away from this place which is cheaper and showed much more sincerity in their hospitality and a welcoming attitude.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
26  Thank U-Hon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeeLeng12, Manager at The Shorea, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We thank our guest, U-Hon, for taking his time to write this feedback.

This booking was made through Raymond Hooi. He wanted his group to stay together so that they could catch up with each other. Although we had arranged for six of them to stay at our sister resort, there was a double booking which was only discovered too late. So we had to add extra beddings at The Shorea instead. When we informed Raymond about this change he was very happy since their original plan was to stay together. However, his friends disagreed. We tried all nearby accommodations to house the six persons, but all were not available.
We chose to communicate the above change via WhatsApp as it was the fastest method of communication since Raymond was holding a non-local number. However, we did follow up with a phone call to explain the situation.

To extend our apologies for the change of arrangement and the inappropriate WhatsApp message, we waived the charges of MYR 600 immediately to accommodate the extra guests. On top of that, we added complimentary high teas and upgraded the dinner sets for the entire group. We hope U-Hon & Raymond Hooi will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

If you are looking for a place to take a break from hectic environment, this is it! Switch off your phone and live your life with the nature. The journey to Shorea wasn't difficult, reachable in approximately 60 minutes from Kuala Lumpur. Although there will be a little off road driving at the end of journey, you do not need a 4WD vehicle. We booked Villa Kemboja for a night stay, it's located at the highest point in the resort, perfect if you are looking for an ultimate privacy. The villa provides basic amenities such as private bathroom with hot shower, fridge, kitchen with basic utensils and ceiling fan. Since the stay here will be a total retreat from city life, I accepted the reason for the absent of television and air conditioner. We had steamboat for our dinner at the table next to the children pool, it was great. We brought our own food and the staffs here happily prepared all the necessary facilities for us. The resort has strict rules on noise at night, same goes to the two neighbouring resorts. So, I do not understand why some of the previous visitors as below made a great fuss when they are told to keep their voice down. The pool was great, the staffs were incredible and helpful, the owners were friendly. There was an electric mosquito repellent in the villa but it was not good enough to keep the mosquitoes away at night, I had trouble putting on the mosquitoes' net. Other than this, everything else was good. Nevertheless, they have a guard dog in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JasonTMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShorea, Owner at The Shorea, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Jason ,

Warm greetings from The Shorea!

It was great to meet you at The Shorea and Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to learn that you have had an enjoyable and relaxing stay in our resort.

We always strive to provide the highest level of product and service for our guests, hence to receive comments such as yours is very motivating. Thank you for acknowledging our staff as they are our greatest asset who consistently deliver The Shorea hospitality to every single guest.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in The Shorea.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Elaine Tan
The Shorea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

First of all, I would like to say I cannot understand how this place could have received such poor reviews like the ones at the bottom. No offense to anyone but this place is honestly a hidden gem!!

We spent 2D1N here for a birthday celebration and even with just a short trip it was beyond what we expected!

I communicated with Elaine (the owner) directly via whatsapp only and she constantly gave prompt and promising replies. I was even very worried about the bad pool and bed bug review but she even took the liberty to explain to me that they have changed their bedframes (which are made of teak) and also the pool condition which they have called contractors to rectify the matter from the previous reviews. It was pity I did not manage to see Elaine in person but she even had one of the staff to put me on the phone to check up on us and talked to us about our experience.

My partner and I was so amazed by the view and location of the place. We loved how the entire resort adapts a very open and "close to nature" concept and the warna dn welcoming staff (whom are constantly smiling) are very aware to ensure all the guests received their respective privacy.

We stayed in Villa Kemboja which was the highest Villa in the resort (highly recommended for couples!). Our villa had a lovely outdoor kitchen (which we had our cooking/bbq session during dusk). Our shower was also open-aired and everything was surprisingly clean. We also highly recommend visitors to do their own cooking session here as they provided basic cooking necessities and equipments either in your kitchen or at the outdoor kitchen.

The pool was definitely the highlight of the place and I loved the fact how exclusive the resort is, because it can only accommodate to a handful of occupants at a time.

Wifi was very poor but we embraced the fact that it came as an advantage to get away from our busy lives enjoyed being in the middle of the forest area.

At night, the place was well-lighted with candles and dim lights which was suitable to create such a romantic ambiance. We also slept under the bed-net provided, to protect us from the insects.

The only tiny problem at first was that we did not manage to locate the driver on time to pick us up and spent about 30-40mins trying to get our Malaysian line topped up to communicate with them. Maybe this problem can be avoided in the future by providing the drivers contact number directly before arrival but Elaine has kindly apologized personally to us regarding this small hiccup.

In a nutshell, Elaine has done a magnificent job in ensuring everything went smoothly for us and I want to thank her so much for this amazing and unforgettable experience. We had two big groups who stayed at the other two villas and they seemed to enjoy the resort just as much as we did. I would definitely recommend anyone to this place if you are a total nature lover or if you wish to escape from the hustle and bustle of the city and discover an amazing hidden gem!

Room Tip: Villa Kemboja has the most privacy as it is the highest one
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SyairahBalqis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShorea, Owner at The Shorea, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Syairah,

Warm greetings from The Shorea!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to learn that you have had an enjoyable and relaxing stay in our resort.

We always strive to provide the highest level of service and ensure the highest quality of stay for our guests, hence to receive comments such as yours is very motivating. Thank you for acknowledging our staff as they are our greatest asset, who consistently deliver The Shorea hospitality to every single guest.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in The Shorea.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Elaine Tan
The Shorea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We had a weekend getaway to the shorea and initially we had 6 friends coming for this trip but at the last minute, two friends couldn't make it. And in a way, it was good that we only had a party of 4 because I don't think 6 of us would be able to sleep comfortably in villa Bouganvilla, the space is enough to accommodate 3 people max and with just one bathroom, I wouldn't suggest to book this room if you have a party of 4 or more. The bed is a queen size bed with a day bed at the end of the bed so that tells you how many people it can accommodate. Do remind the owner to make sure that they sun the mattress properly before you arrive. I had 18 bites from bed bugs! My friends were spared as they all wore long sleeve and I only managed to put on repellant after I got bitten. The balconies are spacious but with such close proximity to the other villas, forget about privacy. The upside, the staff are friendly and helpful and the food provided was delish. For what you pay for, you are better off getting a private villa further up the road where it's more private and spacious.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank Charmyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShorea, Manager at The Shorea, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Villa Bougainvillea is designed for accommodating three adults and two children. However, we did take booking for this group for up to five adults instead of six persons as mentioned. We received positive feedbacks from the same group via our whatsApp feedback that read:
“Love your villas. Nasi lemak was superb.
However just the master bed my friends mentioned there are bed bugs. So maybe just need to put mattress in the sun. Other than that we had a pleasant stay.
Your staff was very friendly. Thank You.”
We have employed the pest profession to check all the beds in the said villa, but found no bedbugs. Our other guests who stayed there immediately after had also verified that. Nonetheless, as a precautionary measure, we have engaged a pest control to conduct cleaning and varnishing of all the bedframes.
We thank this Guest for taking time to write this review and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seremban
37.1 km away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,204 reviews
38.8 km away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,453 reviews
12.2 km away
Carlton Star Hotel
Carlton Star Hotel
#8 of 14 in Seremban
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
D'Sora Boutique Business Hotel
37.0 km away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#4 of 37 in Port Dickson
521 reviews
11.9 km away
Royale Chulan Seremban
Royale Chulan Seremban
#2 of 14 in Seremban
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shorea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shorea

Address: Jalan Kolam Air | Jalan Jelebu, Pantai Hills Orchard, Seremban 71770, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Seremban District > Seremban
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Seremban
Price Range: RM2,743 - RM3,890 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shorea is a boutique resort, next to the Berumbun forest reserve.The Shorea is an architect's family retreat, built within a tropical forest reserve. Its secluded villas are set on natural terrains, with meandering paths leading down to a jungle stream, a waterfall within the Berembun Forest Reserve; it is the ultimate forest getaway.There are 4 villas with fantastic view of the forest. We are an hour from KLIA (Kuala Lumpur International Airport) and 20 mins from the Seremban town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Shorea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing