We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a night”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Wau Hotel & Cafe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wau Hotel & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Jerantut
Certificate of Excellence
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok for a night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2016

The only reason we booked a 1 night stay at the Wau Hotel was because we had travelled from the Perhentian Islands and had planned on getting the 9am boat to Kuala Tahan (but it stopped running in January the boat only goes at 2pm,so we ended up getting a minivan in the morning to take us and got the boat back). We emailed the hotel before arriving asking about the 9 am boat and they forgot to mention it only saying they could help us once we arrived and not to worry. I guess that's the only way to get people to stay as there is nothing to see or do in Jerantut. So upon hearing this we felt a little deceived as we could of stayed on the bus all the way to Kuala Tahan and not needed to stay in Jerantut at all.
The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was poor 2 slices of toast and tea or coffee. There is an old Indian man Mr Manion ( not sure if I have spelt it right) who does his best to help any way he can. Not sure if he actually works there or just helps out as the reception staff spoke very little English.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLinkycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    68
    28
    2
    2
See reviews for
45
72
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and used it as a base to explore Taman Negara. Rooms are quite simple but clean. The best part of the hotel is Mr Manion (sorry if we spelt your name wrong). We had been travelling for 6 months around Asia and this was the most helpful man we met! He helped us to book our trip to the Taman Negara and we had a brilliant day! He also went and booked our bus ticket to Kuala Lumpar for the next day and he took us to the bus station which was very kind of him. There is not much to do in the town itself. There is a really good Indian restaurant next door, we ate there 3 times in 2 days!

Stayed April 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

Good value hotel... The indian receptionist always welcome us with good smile. (+point). The room was spacious, clean & tidy. Great job on housekeeping!! The room need to do maintenance on wall paint. Towel, shower gel, hair shampoo provided. They did the air-cond service since we comment during our previous stayed. Free parking around the hotel, a mamak stall beside the hotel. Our first choice for our business trip.
** Ideal hotel for backpacker. I saw the receptionist intro, explain and show backpackers the attractives at Jerantut with a map. (+ point).

Stayed March 2016, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mc-Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Wau Hotel 2 nights and went to the jungle on the day in between
Mr Manian, the hotelmanager is worth his weight in gold. He helps you with everything you need and everywhere you want to go. He even picks you up at the train or busstation in the middle of the night, if necessary. His staff is not like him, they are very grumpy and everything they need to donis too much. But just ask for Mr Munian and he will come and assist you. He also gave us a tip to go and eat at the Indian restaurant next door. Great experience, friendly people, you can point out what you want to eat or ask for fried rice or noodles and the man will make it right in front of you, tip: have a roti pisang for dessert. It's very nice. And for those of you on a budget: it is plain cheap. We paid 20 RM for two drinks, 2 fried rice with 2 extra vegetables and the roti pisang
The rooms are very basic but clean, we had ac and a window, not all rooms have that I think

Stayed March 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kees L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2016

Wau hotel, Jerantut
This small hotel can be used as an economical base for a day trip to the Taman Negara national park, or we used it as a convenient stopping place so as to save one night at the very expensive Mutiara Resort and to be able to go to the resort early the next morning, rather than arriving late in the day.
The staff are friendly and helpful and explain where restaurants are in town, the options to get to the Park if you do not have a car and the working of the rather strange one-way system if you are driving.
Unless you are fit specify a room on the ground floor. On the first floor be prepared to lug your bags up a steep flight of stairs. Rooms have comfortable beds, decent aircon, TV and a wet room toilet / shower. Most rooms do not have windows, which is strange for Westerners, but common on many small hotels in Malaysia.
There is no room safe or fridge.
BREAKFAST
While not luxurious, this is a sensible, economical base to stay in Jerantut.
N.B. There is nothing to do in Jerantut except wander around the local shops and houses and visit the small market.
Taman Negara is 1½ hours away by car / taxi; longer by bus and around 3 hours if you go by boat.

Room Tip: first floor is up a steep flight of stairs - so feel strong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerantut hotels
0.9 km away
Jerantut Hill Inn
Jerantut Hill Inn
#5 of 12 in Jerantut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 km away
Felda Residence Tekam
Felda Residence Tekam
#4 of 12 in Jerantut
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.0 km away
Nusa Holiday Village
Nusa Holiday Village
#2 of 12 in Jerantut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Town Inn Hotel
Town Inn Hotel
#8 of 12 in Jerantut
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Darul Makmur
Hotel Darul Makmur
#4 of 6 in Jerantut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Inderapura
Hotel Inderapura
#6 of 6 in Jerantut
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wau Hotel & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wau Hotel & Cafe

Property: Wau Hotel & Cafe
Address: K1 & K2, Pusat Perniagaan Sungai Jan | Jalan Sungai Jan, Jerantut 27000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Jerantut District > Jerantut
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Jerantut
Price range (per night): RM62 - RM97
Hotel Class:2 star — Wau Hotel & Cafe 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wau hotel & cafe is situated in a residential area and located at the heart of city of Jerantut. Surrounded by many mouth watering delicacies of local food stalls. We provide clean, comfortable and beautifully rendered rooms at affordable rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Wau Hotel & Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wau Hotel & Cafe Jerantut, Pahang
Wau Hotel Jerantut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing