We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
RM 142
Fully refundable before Wed, 1 May
Trip.com
RM 112
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Agoda.com
RM 102
No fees just great deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Arif_Ibrahim68
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Decent hotel in a very good location.
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Jan 2023via mobile
Stayed here with my family during the long CNY weekend. The hotel was fully occupied. The best thing about this hotel is its location, right in the middle of Kuantan city. There are many shops, restaurants and popular hipster cafes around the hotel. It’s also very near to the Kuantan Waterfront and Kuantan Tower where many activities and musical shows are held regularly.

This hotel is one of the oldest hotel in Kuantan and has been around since the late 70s. It was recently nicely refurbished under the Sentral Hotel Group. The room is spacious and well equipped. There’s also a nice rooftop restaurant that operates in the evening to enjoy the sunset and the bright lights of the waterfront at night. The hotel also provides a very decent buffet breakfast.

The staff are helpful and friendly esp the elderly gentleman who guarded the hotel’s gated parking lot for hotel guests. The housekeeping team is also very efficient and sorted out some issues with our water heater quickly.

My only complaint is about the check-in processes which is still done manually. For example, the front desk ladies have to write receipts manually for our deposit payment! It took quite a while. I pity the ladies who seemed to be under pressure when the que is long for check-in. Other than that, I feel the room rates are on the high side for a 3 star hotel.
Date of stay: January 2023
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
RM 165
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    RM 139
  • Agoda.com
    RM 100
  • Trip.com
    RM 110
0.1 km from Hotel Sentral Kuantan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 270
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 227
  • Agoda.com
    RM 205
  • Hotels.com
    RM 207
1.2 km from Hotel Sentral Kuantan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 230
  • Agoda.com
    RM 157
  • Trip.com
    RM 185
  • Vio.com
    RM 157
1.5 km from Hotel Sentral Kuantan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Premium Triple Room
Booking.com
RM 140
  • Trip.com
    RM 106
  • Agoda.com
    RM 101
  • Vio.com
    RM 101
0.9 km from Hotel Sentral Kuantan
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
RM 405
  • Priceline
    RM 405
  • Expedia.com
    RM 405
  • Hotels.com
    RM 405
4.9 km from Hotel Sentral Kuantan
Free parking
Pool
Standard Room
Booking.com
RM 126
  • Expedia.com
    RM 125
  • Agoda.com
    RM 79
  • Trip.com
    RM 86
0.4 km from Hotel Sentral Kuantan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 264
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 217
  • Agoda.com
    RM 168
  • Trip.com
    RM 197
1.3 km from Hotel Sentral Kuantan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Trip.com
RM 317
  • Agoda.com
    RM 139
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
3.8 km from Hotel Sentral Kuantan
Booking.com
RM 448
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 448
  • Agoda.com
    RM 381
  • Expedia.com
    RM 448
12.4 km from Hotel Sentral Kuantan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 270
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 241
  • Agoda.com
    RM 183
  • Hotels.com
    RM 241
12.6 km from Hotel Sentral Kuantan
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kuantan
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
25
82
58
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
25
82
58
16
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2022

Booked a family room. Toilet was OK but the hair dryer was not working. Called the Hotel Maintenance but only no maintenance personnel after 12 midnight. My wife unable to dry her hair and had to 'sleep' sitting up. :( . Carpet was the thin type. Mattress was spring type. Overall moderate and served our purpose (mainly because all other hotels within the vicinity were fully booked)

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fevas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 November 2020

Rather old hotel but it's just nice for a short stay. It's nearby the Esplanade and walking distance to some food outlets.
Rooms are quite small and should get the Deluxe rooms with windows.
Prices have gone up recently with no reason perhaps the opening of the Esplanade tower.

Date of stay: March 2020
2  Thank FrankJB2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
operation manager, Other at Hotel Sentral Kuantan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2022

Thank you for your review. We are really grateful. Nevertheless, we will make sure your comments are taken as a priority in improving the quality of services and facilities that we provide more convenience to you in the future. Hope to see you again next time & Have a Nice Day..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2020 via mobile

It was the famed Samudera Hotel of the 70s and in between the main street (the road that leads to Kuala Lumpur), and the Kuantan river.

Now as Kuantan develops the place has become somewhat of an Old Quarters of Kuantan with its rustic environment, many eateries and quaint old shops.

Thats where the hotel is. They offer good rates if booked direct from their own website.

The 7th floor offers roof top dining but opens only on Friday Saturday and Sunday.

Staff is friendly and secure guarded carpark is behind the hotel by the riverside.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank esquire838
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
operation manager, Other at Hotel Sentral Kuantan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2020

Thank you for your review. We are really grateful. Nevertheless, we will make sure your comments are taken as a priority in improving the quality of services and facilities that we provide more convenience to you in the future. Hope to see you again next time & Have a Nice Day..


Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2020

large and clean room , superb evening view on the roof top with cheap delicious menu. varieties of choices for breakfast. worth every money you spent.. everythings is walking distance ( night market, mosque, hipster cafe, river cruise etc )

Room tip: room with river views was superb..
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank manyazid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
operation manager, Other at Hotel Sentral Kuantan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2020

Thank you for your review. We are really grateful. Nevertheless, we will make sure your comments are taken as a priority in improving the quality of services and facilities that we provide more convenience to you in the future. Hope to see you again next time & Have a Nice Day..


Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2020 via mobile

Its just a basic hotel. We arrived around 1045pm and made the reservation thru online. More cheaper than walk-in. Since we arrived late night, the room available on that time is smoking floor. Stay on level 3 with less of smell (the receptionist explained that the smell not to strong compared that lower floor 1 and 2) but still. The entire corridors smell of cigarette. Check in with 2 kids and we dont have any option. Simple amenities shampoo and shower gel. The bathroom floor is wet and slippery. Overall is okay and worth it what you pay. Rm63 pernite.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Jz88family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
operation manager, Other at Hotel Sentral Kuantan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2020

Thank you for your review. With this, we will make sure your comments are taken as a priority in improving the quality of services and facilities that we provide in the future. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. Thank you and Have a Good Day..


Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews