We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was OK, but not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kuantan
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Kuantan
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt for a very short weekend visit to Kuantan. This time my husband did the booking and booked us into a king suite in the Club area. We arrived just after midday and was advised that our room was still being serviced, and to have a seat & cup of coffee while we waited. We waited for about an hour, and then decided to go to one of the local restaurants for lunch. We advised the receptionist thats what we were doing and she reminded us again that our room was only 10mins away from being ready. Never mind - off to lunch. Also disappointing on check in was the lack of valet parking for the Club area. My husband had to take the car to the main entry and park in the secure park area. Not a big issue, but could be an area for service improvement.
The room was average - and had a condensation problem, the aircon was not overly cold but the room was damp feeling.
We went down for the canapes & cocktails you get complimentary for staying in the club area - and this was good. It's a quiet seating area and it was really relaxing sitting there at the end of the day.
We were going to go for a meal in one of the restaurants, but feeling a bit tired, we decided on room service instead. My husband ordered a burger, without salad and I the quesidillas. Both meals were very disappointing.
What also added to not a great experience was they had a dinner setup by the pool for a group and a live band was playing. The band was loud - and went until quite late. The next day we heard that quite a few guests had complained about this.
Breakfast was ok, the service was a bit of a let down. The club area was under staffed for the day. Also the one waitress there, picked up another guests child and walked away from the area. No disrespect to this, but there was just a general lack of attention to service.
On checkout, my husband handed the receptionist a visa card that had a transaction problem (the card is fine - just one of those things), however she was quite rude and began arguing with my husband about it. She was the one that checked us, was serving at breakfast and her whole dimmena was a bit off.
I know this review sounds quite negative, and in particularly it was the service that let the hotel down. however, we discussed that maybe this was just a series of one-off issues and we would stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaxMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 452 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

First - have stayed here several times, and I am afraid it gets worse and worse. It may be a Hyatt but they should be ashamed. It seems the owner of the building will not invest in upgrading it. Such a waste, it has the best location in town. The staff, who are mostly excelent are leaving in droves to go elsewhere. They are deeply embarrassed.

Where to start:
Scruffy and untidy
Damp rooms, wet walls
Mouldy bathroom
Smelly

AND a really irritating interpretation of the State's equally daft new law about providing alcohol-free places to eat. So this hotel had chosen to divide the restaurant into 'smoking with alcohol' or 'no-smoking with no alcohol' areas. Completely counter-intuitive as the Westerners who want to drink invariably do not smoke, and the locals who actually do not mind being among those drinking, contrary to the view of the State legislature, are mostly smokers.
So if you want a beer with your food you must sit among clouds of smoke.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SchleebyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

C/in was fast & efficient, which actually i wanted after a long ride from KL. Concierge Team was prompt in assisting the luggage and helpful in providing information about the hotel & Kuantan town. Manager Mr. Teo effort has been seen on his trained staff, as staff named MILAN still is in my head which actually made my stay a memorable one. He explained me the places of Interest which i have to meet in Kuantan. He was so helpful and informative along with his manager.The room cleanliness was ok but still Paint touch up is required.

The place is quiet and the beach waves sound really help create Peace of Mind and relaxing. Though there aren't any water sports activities was a kind of weakness to his place but Hyatt has a lot to offer then that. LIKE lIVE MUSIC with foreign artist, well decorated n operated bar.Mahesh at the Chukka bar was Courteous with complete knowledge of drinks offered at the bar. His product knowledge was superb.

Upon C/out again Milan helped us in arranging the shuttle service to the town with the assistance of his manager, which was in deed a complementary one.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing Sea have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khem D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Wanted to escape from KL for the and decided to go to Kuantan so we book a room and just relax by the beach on the east coast since we haven't enough time to fly to one of the amazing islands you can find in Malaysia.

We weren't very amazed by the place, not that we had very high expectations, but the hotel was good, room was confortable, service correct but there were so many kids around the pool that it was very noisy and couldn't really relax.

I am not saying that as a complaint but just for future clients to know what to expect

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serendipity20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

It's been years since I stayed here. The last time I swore I wouldn't come back. Desperately wanting to get out of town and on the beach I made the journey again. Funny how times change but this Hyatt doesn't seem to. Don't get me wrong... you can't beat the location but how is it they still don't seem to get it would be a good thing to have one of the 2 pools for adults only? Kids are great but they're everywhere. Slow checkin and lazy staff still plague this Hyatt. Subash at the pool bar was a welcome change. He went out of his way to make drinks and bring them to us in spite of the bar being closed... and covered with kids.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamingRobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
11.2 km away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
5.3 km away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
24.2 km away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Vistana Kuantan City Centre
35 km away
Royale Chulan Cherating
Royale Chulan Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
40 reviews
32.6 km away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#35 of 44 in Kuantan
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kuantan

Address: Jalan Teluk Chempedak, Kuantan 25050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range: RM374 - RM1,773 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Kuantan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Kuantan Resort will be fully closed from 1 September 2015 to undergo extensive renovation that will take approximately 12 months. No reservations will be accepted throughout this period. All 300 guestrooms and suites will be reinvented into stylish and elegant spaces while public areas and meeting venues will be refurbished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kuantan Hotel Kuantan
Kuantan Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Kuantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing