We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kuantan Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Classic Hotel(Kuantan)
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elite Hotel(Kuantan)(Great Value!)
US$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$45
US$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vivo Hotel(Kuantan)(Great Value!)
US$35
US$22
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$26
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
16
10
7
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
10
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshostellaundrytvwififacilities
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2013

The place owner Jessin is very nice , and helpful to give suggestions. Floor is clean, and the environment is comfy. It also provide DVD players, free wifi and free breakfast. Compare expensive hotels, I prefer this hostel more. It is like 30-40 Malaysia Ringgit for one night, but basically can provide all the services that charges by a 4star hotel. Anyway, I really enjoyed my stay here.
Ps: the place is abit hard to find, I suggest the owner may put up some big signs to help guid the guest.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Blairgugugugu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We had a great 3 nights at Kuantan Backpackers. Jessin the owner of the hostel was super friendly and helpful. The location is excellent for people taking the bus into town since the bus station is only a few minute walk away. There are many restaurants around with a market across the street. There is a free bus that takes you to the beach and to other areas of the city.

The hostel itself is very clean and comfortable, there is a great supply of movies and you can even paint on the wall if your the artistic type. It's a great atmosphere and if we make it to Kuantan again we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Johnny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I only spent one night at Backpackers,but it was very good. The owner Jessin gave me a warm welcome when i arrived and helped me out with places to go the next day etc. The dorm i stayed in was very clean and the beds were top notch. The breakfast is the classic bread and jam, but if you don't like that you can just cook yourself something else in the kitchen. And if you get tired of walking around Kuantan.. Jessin has a box set of all the hitchcock movies - big plus! :D

Room Tip: Take the the dorm with no air con for 28rm. Its delicious.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SimonHerbst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Me and one of m girl friends decided on a random trip to Kuantan over the weekend to check out their beaches after hearing so many good stories about it. Were a little skeptical about the place at 1st since they are new and the only backpacker around. Nevertheless, this place did not dissapoint at all!! we arrived via bus and Kuantan backpackers just 5 min walk away from the bus station.The place looks very quirky, especially with those mural and doodling stuff on the wall and room! The 3 female dorm we stayed in do not have air conditioned, but it was kept really clean. Living area is also very cozy. Jessin ,the owner of the hostel is very friendly and provide us with very useful information on how to get around Kuantan and the surrounding area. We rented the bike from the hostel and bike around the city and all the way to Teluk Cempedak and the beach is really beautiful!!! Now we know why people were saying Kuantan has the nearest ( PROPER) beach from KL!! Followed her reccomendation, we also visited the small town of Sg. Lembing and hanging around town the next day . At night, she even invited us to join her and some friends for a little pre-halloween party in the living area! Trust me it was crazy!! Felt so warm at this place as if it was like homestay =) Highly recommend anyone who plan to visit Kuantan to stop by at this place! Thank you so much Jessin!! Will definitely return to Kuantan for another trip!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ShenLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We spent 2 nights in Jessin's hostel. It was really nice, the kitchen is well equiped and the beds are good. Rooms are clean and the fans usefull !
The price is really good and the hostel is almost in front of the bus station, just near the market.
The owner, Jessin, is more than very interesting, helpfull, and really nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank So973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews