We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Kuantan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kuantan Backpackers
Brunico, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Kuantan”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I and my girlfriend stayed at Kuantan Backpacker for 4 nights.
The Place it self is really nice and clean. There is a free wifi, breakfast, tea or coffee all over the day, DVD, a lot of information about Malaysia, many games and a lot of friendly people. So for the 28 MR you pay you get a lot, just like in a hotel. :)
Also the position of the place is very strategic cause its close to the bus station where you can go everywhere and form where you will probably arrive :) There is a lot of good food around and also the a big store and a cheap laundry.

Jessin is the best owner you can find. She is a great person. She was backpacker herself for long time so she really know what we need and she know a lot where and how to go there.
We played some games with her and when she had free time she show us around the City. We also met her friends which are really funny. Jessin also organize a lot of events for Backpackers and locals, just like a group trecking to the waterfall and stuff like that so you will meet a lot of people and have a great holiday.

If we ever come back to Kuantan we will stay there again. For sure :)

For sure you will never feel boring here :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 170David170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    9
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

The place owner Jessin is very nice , and helpful to give suggestions. Floor is clean, and the environment is comfy. It also provide DVD players, free wifi and free breakfast. Compare expensive hotels, I prefer this hostel more. It is like 30-40 Malaysia Ringgit for one night, but basically can provide all the services that charges by a 4star hotel. Anyway, I really enjoyed my stay here.
Ps: the place is abit hard to find, I suggest the owner may put up some big signs to help guid the guest.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blairgugugugu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We had a great 3 nights at Kuantan Backpackers. Jessin the owner of the hostel was super friendly and helpful. The location is excellent for people taking the bus into town since the bus station is only a few minute walk away. There are many restaurants around with a market across the street. There is a free bus that takes you to the beach and to other areas of the city.

The hostel itself is very clean and comfortable, there is a great supply of movies and you can even paint on the wall if your the artistic type. It's a great atmosphere and if we make it to Kuantan again we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grindsted
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I only spent one night at Backpackers,but it was very good. The owner Jessin gave me a warm welcome when i arrived and helped me out with places to go the next day etc. The dorm i stayed in was very clean and the beds were top notch. The breakfast is the classic bread and jam, but if you don't like that you can just cook yourself something else in the kitchen. And if you get tired of walking around Kuantan.. Jessin has a box set of all the hitchcock movies - big plus! :D

Room Tip: Take the the dorm with no air con for 28rm. Its delicious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SimonHerbst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Me and one of m girl friends decided on a random trip to Kuantan over the weekend to check out their beaches after hearing so many good stories about it. Were a little skeptical about the place at 1st since they are new and the only backpacker around. Nevertheless, this place did not dissapoint at all!! we arrived via bus and Kuantan backpackers just 5 min walk away from the bus station.The place looks very quirky, especially with those mural and doodling stuff on the wall and room! The 3 female dorm we stayed in do not have air conditioned, but it was kept really clean. Living area is also very cozy. Jessin ,the owner of the hostel is very friendly and provide us with very useful information on how to get around Kuantan and the surrounding area. We rented the bike from the hostel and bike around the city and all the way to Teluk Cempedak and the beach is really beautiful!!! Now we know why people were saying Kuantan has the nearest ( PROPER) beach from KL!! Followed her reccomendation, we also visited the small town of Sg. Lembing and hanging around town the next day . At night, she even invited us to join her and some friends for a little pre-halloween party in the living area! Trust me it was crazy!! Felt so warm at this place as if it was like homestay =) Highly recommend anyone who plan to visit Kuantan to stop by at this place! Thank you so much Jessin!! Will definitely return to Kuantan for another trip!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anchovyleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
0.8 km away
Mega View Hotel
Mega View Hotel
#4 of 43 in Kuantan
82 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
#7 of 43 in Kuantan
139 reviews
1.0 km away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.3 km away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
114 reviews
3.6 km away
Sri Manja Boutique Hotel
Sri Manja Boutique Hotel
#15 of 43 in Kuantan
75 reviews
0.2 km away
Golden Guest House
Golden Guest House
#5 of 32 in Kuantan
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuantan Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuantan Backpackers

Property: Kuantan Backpackers
Address: 1st Floor No. 39 Jalan Tun Ismail, Kuantan 25000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Kuantan
Price range (per night): RM47 - RM60
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kuantan Backpackers is newly opened and the first backpacker hostel in Kuantan! A place where travelers meet!! We offer cheap accommodation in Kuantan at its best, without compromising any of the commodities a hotel offers. Situated conveniently in the heart of Kuantan, across the street from the Rapid Kuantan local bus stop! We are a unique backpacker hostel embracing a friendly atmosphere and funky murals. We welcome our guest to leave more than a mere footprint and fill up the mural wall in the hostel with your creativity! Here are the facilities at your disposal:Clean dorms and linen. Complimentary Breakfast (Yes, it’s FREE)Personal lockers Hot water shower, allowed for bathroom singing. Fully Equipped Kitchen- free tea and coffee all day! Cozy common area with TV & DVDs FREE Wifi FREE local maps. Kuantan Backpackers is owned and runs by locals for travelers. We know what you want! It is perfect hostel for a group of friends, couples and backpackers who are looking for a budget accommodation, new friends and holiday experiences in Kuantan! Do ask us more for the travel tips and insights about this quietly charming capital of Pahang! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kuantan Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing