We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nature at its best” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belum-Temengor

Ranked #45 of 126 things to do in Perak
Attraction details
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nature at its best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2014 via mobile

Belum Royal State Park is worth a visit if you llke hiking, fishing, camping. Beautiful scenery especially the calm waters of the lake. Land activities like hiking looking for the rare raffflesia flowers and other insects etc. You can enjoy water activities like bamboo rafting, canoeing, swimming and boating. Weather is hot and humid. Pack lots of t- shirts , shorts and sunblock. Have to plan ahead as permit(two weeks in advance) is needed to enter forest.

Helpful?
1 Thank Soosee Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable experience in Belum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2014

Me and my friends we had a memorable experience in Belum. Camping, fishing, visit native village, spot a beautiful rafflesia and trek deep to the oldest jungle of the world. I want to share with all of you this experience and hope one day you will visit too this beautiful nature paradise.
For more info about this park I suggest you this useful website: http://belum.com.my/

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 199miky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Boat House trip on Temenggor Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

I joined a group of 46 people and fented 2 bot houses for 3 days and 2 nights cruising the Temenggor Lake and hiking along the way. It was a new and amazing experience, the houseboat is very basic, but comfortable enough, there is a toilet, kitchen and rooms, the night was really cool so we dont have to worry about having no air conditioning, most of us brought pillows to make our sleep comfortable. The forst day was spent visiting orangbasli villages, its bery interesting to observebtheir simple life. On the first night we had a fantastic barbeque.mthe second day we went biking to see anumal footprints, the hike itself is an experience as the ancient rainforest makes you feel small and puny. Later we cruised to Sg ruok where we hiked for 30 mi jtes to reach a waterfall and pond in the rainforest where we swim. The pond is also a bredding ground for a carp type fish called Kelah that is prozed by anglers. A fantastic and refreshing dip in the clean mountain waters. The second night we spent in the boat as it rained and our night walk was cancelled, nontheless, we kept purselves busy by holding games, singing karaoke and play cards till late. The last day was spent visiting a rafflesia site, unfortunately the flowers were at the early stages and we only founds buds, we replaced this by having a last swim in the lake before departing for the jetty. Nontheless, staying and sleeping on the houseboat was a new profound expereince on itself. We were basically camping in the middle of the Temenggor Lake. We swam inthe lake ,in a pond in tye middle sof the raninforest and went hiking to experience the majesty of the ancient rainforest.

To those heading for Temenggor I stronlgly recommend going in a large group of at least 10 people and rent a houseboat at least 2 nights and experience what we did. Its not just for the sake of staying on a boat but the spiriti of camraderies developed during the journey and the calmness of having tye Belum rainforests majesty blossom in fromt if you as the clumsy houseboats inches forward

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiijaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

Beautiful lake view and nice for resting and enjoying environment for a few days. You can enjoy bamboo rafting and jungle tracking

Visited September 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sajad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The scenery in this area is beautiful. I would be happy just spending the day in a boat. The resort is more than just a collection of chalets and restaurant, it is an experience. The owner and staff are very friendly. The hikes in the forest are challenging enough to make you tired. Fishing and canoeing are great fun.

Food was excellent.bring your own beer if you want to and put it in the fridge.

Stay two nights and enjoy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank stephenmanuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belum-Temengor also viewed

 
Kuala Kangsar, Kuala Kangsar District
Ipoh, Kinta District
 

Been to Belum-Temengor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing