We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casuarina 1 Boathouse ”
Review of Belum-Temengor

Ranked #40 of 143 things to do in Perak
Attraction details
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Casuarina 1 Boathouse ”
Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

We had a marvellous time with the Casuarina @ Meru team on the Casuarina 1 Boathouse. The team was led by Faizal & Chef Kannan. Chef fed us well & Faizal & his team made sure that we were comfortable throughout the journey. The trekking was great! The 2 waterfalls were fabulous . There was no communication available & we were totally cutoff fr the outside world which was great! The kids had a fabulous time & it was also a time of bonding with their cousins- not glued to their phones as usual. All in all, it was a great trip & I would recommend it very much. Just be sure to make reservations direct with the hotel- Hotel Casuarina @ Meru. If you go through agent, the matk up is quite substantial.You might just get lucky & get Faizal & his team!

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
3 Thank DrHasseenah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best place to escape from concrete jungle”
Reviewed 5 November 2015

It is the best place you can go if you looking for a place to escape from concrete Jungle. A Orang Asli Village visitation & refflessia flower hunting package is provided by the hotel around this human made Lake/Dam.

Visited March 2015
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Ecotourism Redefined”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 via mobile

Access is only by boat across the man-made Banding Lake about an hour to reach the Sungai Enam Base Camp. Visitors are allowed overnight here. The camp uses a sustainable forest concept in its entire design of lodging and functions. Entry permits must be arranged at least a week in advance.
Lodgings of tiny chalets were built from bamboo, wood and rattan. Do not expect comfort if you are not an ecotourist. However, separate hot showers are provided by a simple system which channels water from nearby rivers. Guided trekking tours can be organised via several levels of trails, to present yourself in the dense forest rich in flora and fauna, and beautiful waterfalls. A chance to witness the abundant Rafflesia flower if you visit during its blooming season. If you are lucky you might be able to sight hornbills, deers, bears, snakes and even elephants. If not, you may encounter their tracks and salt licks in your paths. There are also separate tours to nearby indigenous villages, subject to their permission.
Enjoy the cool forest fresh air while you're deep in the forest, keep close to your guide so you won't get lost.
Take pictures only and leave only your footsteps.

Visited November 2014
Helpful?
Thank iamsuhaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Tranquil and not your common getaway”
Reviewed 31 May 2015

Belum is a national park that is located about 2 hours drive from Ipoh. It is less commercialized in relative to others in the country. The whole rain forest is scattered with man-made islands resulted from the construction of the Temenggor hydroelectric dam decades ago. The lake is deep-emerald-coloured and the dept could reach hundreds of feet. Boat can be hired for private cruise. Some lodgings and hotels in the area provide such service too. If you are lucky, you may see some tiger swimming from an island to another. Here is also the home to other exotic animals such as tapir, rhinoceros, elephant etc although sighting is rare

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank HYJ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
Reviewed 23 April 2015

It was a good day off from the digital for my friends and i. We enjoyed trekking into the old jungle, spotting rafflesia, got wet in the waterfall and speed-boating. We were supposed to visit some native village but somehow our boat broke down on the way but it did not kill our mood. We enjoyed straying in the middle of nowhere and a kind boathouse picked us up.

I would strongly recommend this for digital detox and natural lover. No, we did not spot any big wild animals.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sujata T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belum-Temengor also viewed

 
Ipoh, Kinta District
Lenggong, Perak
 

Been to Belum-Temengor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing