We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refreshing and Peaceful Work Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belum-Temengor

Ranked #45 of 126 things to do in Perak
Attraction details
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Refreshing and Peaceful Work Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went there for our office retreat plus meeting. It was not my first time there however it was my first experience staying overnight on a Casuarina owned houseboat. The experience is totally different from just going there and exploring the jungle during day time to see the rafflesia flower blooming and visiting it refreshing and clear waterfall. To me experiencing the night time in Belum well I truly have no one word to describe it. There is no telephone reception so it was really quite and peaceful with only the sound of water and animals in the jungle and if you are lucky enough you get to see wildlife in its natural habitat. It really is a good getaway to leave the bustle of modern environment and breath in fresh untainted air as well as for us obviously to get work done without any interruption.

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
Thank Nor A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Amazed of Royal Belum 😍”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Hi, I went to this place with a group of 30 pax including a baby boy aged 1 yr 10 months.

Most of us are from Kuala Lumpur and it took about 5 hours drive to Royal Belum.

If you are lucky :) you may bump into elephant(s) in Grik area. But we were not lucky enough.

The road to reach the Banding Jetty is steep so please drive carefully.

A bit info about this amazing forest, Belum - Temenggor is believed to have been in existence for over 130 million years! Making it one of the oldest rainforest in the world and even older than Amazon and Congo.

Those who love nature would fall in love with this place Ohh before that, it requires a permit to enter Royal Belum.

We stayed in the boat house throughout our stays there in the middle of the lake. We have done many activities such as swimming in the lake, fishing, jungle trekking where you can many species of flora and fauna, waterfalls and etc.

We also visited the aboriginal people (orang asli) there.

Here enjoy the photos!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank haidanur7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Casuarina 1 Boathouse ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

We had a marvellous time with the Casuarina @ Meru team on the Casuarina 1 Boathouse. The team was led by Faizal & Chef Kannan. Chef fed us well & Faizal & his team made sure that we were comfortable throughout the journey. The trekking was great! The 2 waterfalls were fabulous . There was no communication available & we were totally cutoff fr the outside world which was great! The kids had a fabulous time & it was also a time of bonding with their cousins- not glued to their phones as usual. All in all, it was a great trip & I would recommend it very much. Just be sure to make reservations direct with the hotel- Hotel Casuarina @ Meru. If you go through agent, the matk up is quite substantial.You might just get lucky & get Faizal & his team!

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
3 Thank DrHasseenah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
301 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best place to escape from concrete jungle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2015

It is the best place you can go if you looking for a place to escape from concrete Jungle. A Orang Asli Village visitation & refflessia flower hunting package is provided by the hotel around this human made Lake/Dam.

Visited March 2015
Helpful?
Thank Jcyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
291 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Ecotourism Redefined”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2015 via mobile

Access is only by boat across the man-made Banding Lake about an hour to reach the Sungai Enam Base Camp. Visitors are allowed overnight here. The camp uses a sustainable forest concept in its entire design of lodging and functions. Entry permits must be arranged at least a week in advance.
Lodgings of tiny chalets were built from bamboo, wood and rattan. Do not expect comfort if you are not an ecotourist. However, separate hot showers are provided by a simple system which channels water from nearby rivers. Guided trekking tours can be organised via several levels of trails, to present yourself in the dense forest rich in flora and fauna, and beautiful waterfalls. A chance to witness the abundant Rafflesia flower if you visit during its blooming season. If you are lucky you might be able to sight hornbills, deers, bears, snakes and even elephants. If not, you may encounter their tracks and salt licks in your paths. There are also separate tours to nearby indigenous villages, subject to their permission.
Enjoy the cool forest fresh air while you're deep in the forest, keep close to your guide so you won't get lost.
Take pictures only and leave only your footsteps.

Visited November 2014
Helpful?
Thank iamsuhaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belum-Temengor also viewed

Gerik, Hulu Perak District
Kuala Kangsar, Kuala Kangsar District
 

Been to Belum-Temengor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing