We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
10
10
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
10
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbasic amenities providedmins drive awayshop houseswater dispenserroom conditioncomfortable staybudget hoteltongconveniencedryertoothbrushfridgecavermtoiletrieslobbytv
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

1. Standard rooms
2. Not much facilities
3. Clean
4. Back of hotel is a cemetery
5. Mart beside hotel
6. Not much parking lots
7. No safe box
8. Heater not hot enough
9. No extra key card given. Only 1 for each room.
10. No breakfast

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Julianawati E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morningtonhotel2017, Sales Executive at Mornington Hotel Soon Choon Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Dear Julianawati, we appreciate you taking the time to provide us feedback on your stay. Your comments are essential for us to improve our overall service and facilities. Allow me to clarify that behind Mornington Hotel Soon Choon there is no cemetery. Actually, behind our hotel is a residential area-Taman Soon Choon and shop lots. We have provided a safety box in each room as a part of our service. Kindly provide us your stay details such as room number as we would like to know more from you. Please email us with your contact details such as phone number or email address so may contact you for further information to address your issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

This hotel is totally worth it for the amount of money pay. The condition of the hotel is clean, pleasant front desk, ample parking space and near to central. Wifi is good. The only reason i am not giving 5 star is because the pillow is really uncomfortable.
Just remember to put parking voucher as the city council will come and write saman.

Room Tip: Choose a room with window.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morningtonhotel2017, Sales Executive at Mornington Hotel Soon Choon Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Jet N, thank you for staying at Mornington Hotel Soon Choon and for your wonderful review. We are glad that you found our staff to be very helpful and satisfied with our service. All os us loof forward to being of service to you agin in the near future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

The hotel was a recommendation from a friend. Stay for one night and paid Rm 148 for a deluxe room.

Hotel is converted from shop houses. Reception is okay for this kind of hotel. Room is smaller than the advertised picture. Bathroom is wet after shower as there is no shower screen. The entire hotel has a perfume smell like in an Indian restaurant. Hotel may charge for extra pillow if you take 2 pillow. Car parking is at road side with a night guard who sit inside lobby, rather than watching.

The price I paid is considered high given this type of quality standard and location outside city center. I will not stay at this hotel again

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morningtonhotel2017, sales executive at Mornington Hotel Soon Choon Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Dear Jeffrey, Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. All your comments areessential to educating our staff about good and bad service. We will ensure your feedback will be given to all. Furthermore, I will personally supervise that all your other complaints are addressed that everything will be in order on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

For those who wish to stay at a cheaper option and don't mind slightly far to the Ipoh city, Mornington is one of the best hotel to stay. The check in took a little bit longer, but they let us checking earlier so I'm okay with that.

Housekeeping service was prompt. What impressed me was the water dispenser at the lobby. The bed was comfortable but slightly hard for my liking. The downside is, there's no complimentary parking lot. But for those who don't own a car it shouldn't be a problem.

Room Tip: Opt for the room with window
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JeannKhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morningtonhotel2017, Sales Executive at Mornington Hotel Soon Choon Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Dear JeannKhoo, thank you for rating us as excellent. We were very pleased to hear that our staff and service made your stay pleasant. Regarding the car parking issue, Mornington Hotel Soon Choon did provided an area for complimentary parking. You might check it out with our receptionist. We are pleased to help. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

I really liked this hotel although I imagine some might gripe about the lack of windows. I'm out all day, so I don't need a view, and I prefer to come back to a cool bedroom (with great a/c) and to sleep without any road noise.

This hotel is on a main road into the city and around 12-13 minutes from the train station so it's really only for travellers who have a vehicle or don't mind waiting for a Grab ride. The hotel has a night security guard and you can park right in front of the 24 hour reception desk.

The staff are very good, but no tourist information is provided - not even maps. Equipment = hairdryer, loo roll and toothbrush, safe and fridge plus cold water in the reception so flashpacker standard except that there was only one towel in the single room.

Everyone has to produce a passport or ID card at check-in. The "tourist tax" is a fixed 10RM.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dubaijournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morningtonhotel2017, SALES EXECUTIVE at Mornington Hotel Soon Choon Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear dubaijournal. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I'm happy that youenjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews