We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 9 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
56
22
8
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
56
22
8
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

I met up with a friend here and it was a great base to explore lovely Ipoh.

The hostel is modern and clean throughout.

The staff working at the hostel are pretty knowledgable and can tell you the best places to get all the local delicacies and how to make travel arrangements.

Included breakfast is basic but a nice touch considering the dorm rooms are so cheap!

Wifi is good throughout.

AC is really good.

Free tea, coffee, hot chocolate and water throughout the day is great.

Movies shown every night on projector!

What's not to like?

Well done guys you're doing a great job!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank 915jessb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2017

I stayed here for 9 nights. I am glad I got to stay here. I'll give you my honest opinion (I want to say all the good things but would also like to give some honest opinions).
Pros:
- CLEAN (especially the bathrooms)
- GREAT STAFF (You have to meet William) - helps you to call uber
- MOVIE @ 8:30 every night
- Filtered cold, luke warm and hot water
- Wifi is great in the lounge
- Beautiful lobby for socializing and also to work
- Met so many amazing travelers!
- Bed is clean (great pillow)
- Many bathrooms to use

CONS:
- the wifi in the bedroom isn't the greatest (which is fine)
- the bed is about squeaky if there is someone above you moving
- sometimes the staffs are careless - wifi not working (haven't paid for the month)...etc
- a bit far from the main area (Old Town) - walking distance but not right in the old town
- far from the Ipoh Amanjaya Bus Terminal - have to get uber (not too expensive)
- One thing I "disliked" is the price of the hostel always changed and also different websites gave different prices. You see people paying less and some paying more on the same night.

HOWEVER, I REALLY LOVED THIS HOSTEL. WILL DEFINITELY COME HERE AGAIN. MANY OTHERS ALSO EXTENDED THEIR STAY HERE! GREAT!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank timoshym
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Such great value for money. Its also super clean, modern with awesome hot water showers. Its the perfect balance of social and quiet with really nice common rooms. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank 890shanim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

Bad start to our stay in Ipoh... We arrived here to find that the hostel had sold our previously booked room to someone else.

The hostel staff only emailed us a few hours before we arrived at 3pm, however without a Malaysian SIM card or wifi we were unable to find out until we arrived. The staff weren't apologetic, were rude and didn't attempt to help us find new accommodation. The wifi, which we only used in the lobby was nigh on unusable.

Not sure what our stay would have been like but with an introduction to the hostel like that I imagine it wouldn't have been great.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Elle1nad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mari H, Manager at Mari Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Elle1nad,

Sorry for taking times to investigate this complaint as we take every review very serious. The management have spent some times to investigate this complaint and a detail report has come out.

Firstly, we're very sorry about your booking on 5/5/17.
According the our CCTV footage, as soon as our colleagues realised the issue, we immediately contact everyone we could to solve the problem. The problem started because most of the rooms on that day were booked by a charity foundation for kindergarten children visiting Ipoh and at the same time we are experiencing technical problems with Hostelworld that unable us to close last minute booking.
Once you arrived, the first thing our colleague did was keep apologising and offer other options for you, you seems to accept it at that time.

Besides that, our colleagues also offer suggestions for other accommodation and wifi for your research. In order to make you more comfortable, we also offer coffee for free while chilling at our place. In the mean while, you also taking your time enjoying our reading corner and hanging around here for 1 hour.

We have did our best to accommodate you, we are very very sorry for not satisfying our customers and meeting their expectation.
Lastly, thank you for booking with us and sorry for everything.

Best regards,
Mari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

Would definitely be a loyal customer. 4 minutes walk to Malayan Banking Berhad. Walking distance to Ipoh Parade & other attractions. Clean, feels like home. Unattended toiletries will be discarded ASAP. Good place to rest & chill

Enjoyed the movie night. Like the simple breakfast. Great that the hostel has a lift! Am suggesting that guests' unattended personal belongings be kept for at least 24 hours before it is being discarded

PS booking on Agoda, around 5 Euros per night for a Bed in 14-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room

Room tip: If you have extra funds why not book a Standard Double Room?
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sp3ak_christ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews