We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
KennyGoh2016
Penang Island, Malaysia

Hotel receptionist did not wear face mask when attending a customer

Review of Merton Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Jan 2022via mobile
On 15 Jan 2022, hotel receptionist (male) did not wearing a face mask while serving a customer at lobby.
Regarding the hotel interior design is very nice and modern. The room that we booked has no issue and I think cleanliness need some improvement , no issue with the facility, WiFi internet speed pretty fast. Many car parking lots just right in front of the hotel.
Date of stay: January 2022
Room Tip: Hotel location slightly far from the IPOH town.
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 195
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
0.6 km from Merton Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cititel Express Ipoh
RM 240
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 240
5.6 km from Merton Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 237
RM 225
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
5.7 km from Merton Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Facade
RM 191
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
3.7 km from Merton Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
swiming pool view
RM 106
RM 91
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
4.4 km from Merton Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 1,848
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
9.1 km from Merton Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    RM 307
  • Agoda.com
    RM 209
  • Expedia.com
    RM 314
4.0 km from Merton Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    RM 293
  • KLOOK
    RM 173
  • Priceline
8.6 km from Merton Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    RM 622
  • Agoda.com
    RM 385
  • Trip.com
10.1 km from Merton Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Deluxe Twin Room at the Ipoh French Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 172
  • Booking.com
5.1 km from Merton Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Ipoh
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
9
30
13
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
9
30
13
5
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2020

welcomed so warm by the staffs , the boutique decors was so beautiful, we took so many pics, but the floor was sticky , other than that it is so worth for a good sleep.The staff were so friendly and presenting. Location is quite good as all the places went to visit is actually very near . overall a good stay for the price.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leelarv95
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2020 via mobile

Went to stay a night from our long trip up down south and thought this was a good deal. About 10mins away from the new Hollywood restaurant and it’s pretty decent size bed and bathroom with cute boutique-y furnitures.

Unfortunately the bathroom smells from drainage, that should def be fixed together with the stains on the stool / chair provided with the room. Also, please ensure all bedsheets / pillow cases are washed and clean, basically put on the new ones for each guest. Thank you.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank ALSJAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2019

We stay in Ipoh quite often and we tried Merton just once and for sure it is the last time. I do not understand how this property can have a 8.3 in booking.com I would not rate it higher than a 6 or less.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wouter Gerardus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 December 2019

Originally booking to stay for a number of nights, we ended up checking out within a day. Why? We were sold by the aesthetically pleasing lobby, but quickly found the rooms and service unfortunately did not reflect the same.

- The Aircon would not cool the room despite being on all night - it felt the control panel was a deceptive tool;
- the room was not clean - there was dust all over the skirting boards, table, lamps, bathroom floor - then when I opened the curtain, a big dust cloud spread across the room;
- the linen was not clean and smelt of the body odour of the previous guests. I had to convince the cleaners to change it;
- The bathroom floor was poorly built, tilting at the opposite end, so would flood with stagnant water within minutes;
- despite us and the hotel staff spraying insect repellent throughout the night, we were bitten multiple times;
- we paid for a window/view, but there was no insulation to keep the noise from the roads out, we hardly slept.

Having stayed in multiple hostels, boutique hotels and homestays across Asia, this was honestly a 2 star service across the board. From hygiene, cleanliness, to hesitation from the staff recognising the issues we faced, sadly, this hotel failed to hit the mark.

The hotel eventually recognised our concerns the next morning and provided us with a refund for the following unused nights- but this took an entire morning and was a confusing process given we had booked through a well-known third party website, the hotel had put a damage deposit on our card and paid the tourist tax in cash.

Built for the aesthetically pleasing insta-crowds - if you seek a clean, comfortable stay away from home (that actually matches the decor of the lobby) this place ain't it.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ChomPharaya2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2019

I stayed there last week 16th till 17th oct after i saw the nice pictures of this hotel.
to my disappointment, the experience is like going back in time.
I went into a beautiful looking lobby , nice corridor and into a room that looks like has not done it's renovation. Paid RM130. highlighted to the receptionist. No action/suggestion given. I didn't push much as I was too tired and just need a sleep.

The sound from outside and the aircond is very loud ( my room with window)
no breakfast option were given.

Nothing tells me to come back to this hotel again.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews