We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Riaz628
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Nice place

Review of City Homestay
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Sept 2011
The rooms were clean, the owner friendly; the surroundings quiet; many small amenities like free tea and coffee, filtered drinking water. The only significant complaint was that the hot-water heater only put out lukewarm water. Good value for the money.
Date of stay: August 2011
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    RM 221
  • Agoda.com
    RM 209
  • Booking.com
    RM 307
4.0 km from City Homestay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 400
  • Priceline
4.4 km from City Homestay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    RM 293
  • KLOOK
    RM 173
  • Priceline
    RM 267
8.8 km from City Homestay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    RM 382
  • Agoda.com
    RM 282
  • Priceline
    RM 336
4.4 km from City Homestay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cititel Express Ipoh
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    RM 245
  • Agoda.com
    RM 122
  • Priceline
    RM 129
5.5 km from City Homestay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    RM 179
  • Booking.com
    RM 250
  • Hotels.com
    RM 209
5.8 km from City Homestay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    RM 136
  • Agoda.com
    RM 128
  • StayForLong
6.8 km from City Homestay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    RM 622
  • Agoda.com
    RM 385
  • Priceline
    RM 522
10.3 km from City Homestay
Free Wifi
Free parking
swiming pool view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    RM 87
  • Agoda.com
    RM 81
  • Hotels.com
    RM 83
4.3 km from City Homestay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    RM 1,594
  • Agoda.com
    RM 1,572
  • Booking.com
    RM 1,850
9.4 km from City Homestay
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Ipoh
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
0
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
0
4
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Booked this place about 2 weeks in advanced for Chinese New Year.

Arrived 15th Feb with Hubby and my Mom.

Easy to find. 5 mins away from the City (by car)

First impression: It's pretty much situated in a residential area. Modest for the price you pay. Quiet and away from the all the buzz. Mr. Yusuf (the owner) was friendly, welcoming and nice.

When we arrived, the previous guest already checked out so Mr. Yusuf and his assistant was in the midst of cleaning up the place. He owned 2 lots of houses (1 unit was a corner lot and the other was next to it).

We paid for the Deluxe Room (MYR20 difference from standard room). Always asked for Deluxe Room cos it's cleaner, smells nicer and it's the corner lot (more light and space). We took 2 rooms with an attached bathroom.

We practically owned the whole house although there are other guests. There were 4 rooms upstairs and 1 room downstairs.

He has 'Astro' (Malaysian's Cable Services) and he still provides a TV in each room (basic channels - not astro).

All rooms are air conditioned. There are towels, mini bar soaps, water heater and even WIFI services!

Imagine for the price you pay away from the city. This is indeed a good value for money. The only downturn is that there's no access to public transport. But we have our cars, so it was literally 5 mins away from the city.

I will definitely come back and stay here instead of some fancy hotel.

We had a good short break for this Chinese New Year.

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank CarolFungEcommerce
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ckngam, Owner at City Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Value for money for overnight stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

All the hotels around Batu Gajah were either fully booked or expensive and City Homestay looked like the last resort. But we were surprised when we booked into a large and spacious room. It was well prepared. Mr Yusuf was a very friendly character and what is in the kitchen is yours, so to say.
The rooms has just been repainted but the job wasn't professional enough. We were allowed use of the computer and that saves us a lot of time, not to mention cost, of checking our mails. Stayed there for three glorious nights.
Thanks Mr Yusuf.

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bedotalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 August 2007

We arrived from Paris without knowing anything about this hotel as it is not listed in Tripadvisor before. We tried to go to Casuarina, Heritage, HIllcity and Syuen but they are fully booked because of PC Fair 2007 in Ipoh.

Luckily for us, we found an advertisement about this hotel in Gopeng Bus Station, and the reception confirmed us the availability of the rooms. We didn't quite used to a Homestay before, so we didn't expect too much. And as it is around 2 km from city center, we couldnt just go walk there.

Room provided are very comfortable. Rooms are clean, with a lot of facilities provided. Queen size beds, big bathroom attached, large screen TV, air-conditioned, it's all what we can find in big-name hotels for twice less to pay! (We paid only 30 Euros for that room.)

Besides, the manager is very kind to provide transport to/from Ipoh bus/train station. We don't have any airport around here unfortunately.

Pro : 5-star treatment in a what we call a budget hotel, transport to/from bus station provided. Balcony offers great views.

Con : Location of the hotel quite far from city center. So we have to walk around 100m to main road everytime to get taxis.

Date of stay: August 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
18  Thank Lomniom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2014
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews