We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ipoh World at Han Chin Pet Soo
Open today: 9:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
An incredible hour spent learning about Ipoh’s tin mining history and the Hakka people

The building is beautiful and the restorations done within to tell the story of tin mining and the... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Shannon_Chong12
via mobile
A must when visiting Ipoh

A must when visiting Ipoh! A detailed and interesting explanation of the Hakka community and their... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
trobe71
Read all 1,330 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Ipoh
from US$4.57
More Info
Ipoh City Tour
7 Reviews
from US$70.00
More Info
from US$100.00
More Info
from US$53.44
More Info
Reviews (1,330)
Filter reviews
1,330 results
Traveller rating
955
351
19
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
955
351
19
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tin miners laksa guided tour hakka community miner's club book in advance interesting museum visit this place concubine lane donation history industry chin leong exhibits mannequins clan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 1,330 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2019 via mobile

The museum presents the history of Hakka tin miners in the setting of a tin mine owners’ clubhouse. There’s an English speaking guide, great visual displays, and informative written material. For tourists with an interest in the history and culture of Ipoh, this is highly recommended.

Free entry but donations were expected by the staff (only 10MYR).

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank CannulaKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipohworld, Manager at Ipoh World at Han Chin Pet Soo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2019

Dear CannulaKing, thank you for spending some time to write a review of your visit to our Hakka Miners Club. We truly appreciate you highly recommend our museum to all tourists who are interested in history and wish to know more about Ipoh. Thank you for also mentioning our entry is by suggested donation of MR10.00. Hope to see you again in near future. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2019

We visited Han Chin Pet Soo on 4 August. It was a brilliant history lesson of the Hakka clan and mining tycoons in Ipoh. The guide (Leong) was very informative and professional. He provided fascinating insights into the lives of the mining tycoons and how they indulged in the four sins. The exhibits there are superbly realistic, vividly portraying the toil of the Chinese coolies and the "Dulang" washers in the tin mining industry. We were fortunate to visit on the day when the Perak Classic Car Club were there with their antique gems for their monthly gathering.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank penguinboy2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipohworld, Manager at Ipoh World at Han Chin Pet Soo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2019

Dear penguinboy2112, thank you for taking the effort in writing us a review on tripadvisor. We are happy to know you have thoroughly enjoyed the guided tour giving you fascinating stories of the hakka people, mining tycoons, the four sins, the coolies and dulang washers. We hope you will come back to this museum again some time soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2019 via mobile

Enjoy the tour by the professional guide. Fluent English and explaination. Remember to book an appointment in advance.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank 392yanxinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipohworld, Manager at Ipoh World at Han Chin Pet Soo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2019

Dear 392yanxini, thank you for putting up a review of your visit at Han Chin Pet Soo. We are happy to know you find this museum insightful and had an enjoyable time during the tour. We hope to see you back again in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2019

The museum was our first stop once we arrived in Ipoh. It was a great introduction to the city, and makes us more appreciative of the architecture and old shops of the Old Town area. It was a great educational for children. The guide was very informative. For a guided tour the minimum donation of RM10 was very reasonable. A must-do for those visiting Ipoh the first time.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank J-Sue-2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipohworld, Manager at Ipoh World at Han Chin Pet Soo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2019

Dear JaniceN480, thank you for taking some time to pen a review of your visit at Han Chin Pet Soo. We are delighted you have made our museum your first stop upon arriving in Ipoh. Yes, the whole tour is educational for children and adults too with introduction to Ipoh city and particularly history of this Hakka Miners Club and tin mining. We appreciate you mentioning minimum donation RM10 which is reasonable and a must do when visiting Ipoh. Hope you will come back to Ipoh and visit us again one day. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2019 via mobile

Informative guided tour of the history of tin mining and the Hakka community in Ipoh.

This old building was taken over by an NGO some years ago and is well maintained and preserved.

The tour lasted slightly over an hour and there is no fixed fee although donations of RM10 per person are expected, which is more than fair.

Do call in advance to book the guided tour.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank azlanshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipohworld, Manager at Ipoh World at Han Chin Pet Soo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2019

Dear azlanshah, thank you for taking time to write a review of your visit to Han Chin Pet Soo. We are glad to hear you find our 1-hour guided tour informative with history of tin mining and Hakka community. The entrance is by donations to help out our building maintenance and operational costs. Hope to see you again in near future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews