We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
52
23
3
1
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
52
23
3
1
9
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

I found the staff friendly, but not overbearing. Willing to help out, serving us a pleasant meal upstairs because the restaurant was booked with private functions. And yes, we had to ask to be served, so, who is in a hurry ? The food on that occasion was nice, but not what Ihad expected from the raving reviews.. maybe it was too busy that evening .
I had a nice room, no, a very nice room, very comfortabel bed. Everything worked well and all you need is earplugs , like almost everywhere else in the world ( ever tried Manhattan for a quiet night ? or KualaLumpur..)
Breakfast was good, and taxi's .. well,you have to ask them to order one, and as I wanted to get back again at a set time, I artranged for the taxidriver to pick me up again. Whatsapp/ message works well for that. Just promise to pay at the end and all goes well!
I had a business dinner there and my guests liked it a lot.

Room tip: yes, back of the hotel is marginally better : as everywhere , travel with earpugs.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rijswijk1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

This review is for Indulgence Living, the boutique hotel, not Indulgence Restaurant, although both are housed in the same colonial-style house in Jalan Raja diHilir. The house is actually a double storey building that is located on a large plot of land with raintrees and grass lawns.

The restaurant is located on the ground floor of the house, and the boutique hotel is on the top floor. The boutique hotel has only 7 rooms; and each room comes with individualised décor based on a theme. The rooms are identified by names, rather than numbers and are called Ildi, Kinnaree, Giulianna, May-Suet, Tzarrah, Beverley and Qatrynka.

The location of Indulgence Living is slightly away from the centre of the old town. Nothing much immediately adjacent to the hotel, but the Ipoh Parade shopping mall is just about 700 metres walk away along a busy road. If you drive, then Indulgence Living is immediately very accessible, with ample free open-air car-parking within the premises.

Entry is via a porte-cochere, immediately you will see a small hotel shop to your right. As you proceed onwards you will come to the restaurant with a cake display counter wrapped around a staircase leading upstairs. Just tell the server you have come to check-in, and they (yes, they multi-task) will lead you upstairs to the check-in area for the hotel.

The check-in area is a table and chair at the open sitting area at the top of the stairs, which is decorated with an eclectic mix of furniture. A glass door leads out to a terrace in front of the sitting area. On the opposite side a corridor runs lengthwise across the middle of the house, with the rooms all facing the rear of the house.

We were given the room at the end of the corridor called Giulianna. The room was decorated in what was called an “Italian style” hence the Italian name for the room. The room was spotlessly clean and came with all the conveniences that you would expect in a normal hotel room. There is a refrigerator, television, in-room safe, electric kettle, coffee/tea and even weighing scales. Complimentary bottled water is provided. There is apparently wi-fi provided but you have to request the password.

The bathroom was modern and clean with a glass shower cubicle. The cabinets were double-fronted, you could open the cabinets from the room or from within the bathroom. Generally we had a comfortable stay in Indulgence Living, there was no noise from the street or from the restaurant below.

Although breakfast is provided for in-house guests, we did not try it, so do not have any comment on the food or restaurant. Please note that the restaurant is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays if you do plan to dine in-house.

All in all we had a good couple of nights in Ipoh. We got a very competitive room rate for the stay in Indulgence Living and based on this, we recommend the hotel if you happen to be in Ipoh.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadamros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

This is really a very nice place to dine. We did lunch here and we can imagine it would even be nicer for dinner. Ambience and food is good and so is the service.
House in a very nice villa with a large garden.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ChangBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

Bored with predictable hotel room?
This is the one for you!

We had no clear idea what we were getting into when we did our last minute booking on the eve of a public holiday.
When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised by the colonial bungalow tucked away in a lush and quiet estate minutes away from downtown Ipoh.

Our second surprise was a chic and quirky cafe/restaurant situated on the ground floor of the double storey bungalow (see my review of the restaurant under restaurant section). Then came the friendly staff who checked us in in record time.

The common area and room are tastefully decorated. The bedding is superb and the bathroom is spacious and spotless. There are a total of 7 rooms with individual design.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and dining experience here. We'll definitely come back.

If you want something out of the mass consumption hotel business, this place is worthy of trying.

*Note: Rooms strictly limited to two pax.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bern270000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

My friend and i went there to have tea time. I personally requested for twg tea as i saw they have it in their shop. They don't normally serve it but they do serve other teas which I don't know what brand of tea. They informed us that their tea is an imported one. We had two deserts, sticky dates and tiramisu. Tiramisu was recommended by the waitress there. Well not that great just normal. But we personally recommend the sticky dates. Super yum!! It's hard to find delicious sticky dates in Malaysia. And it costed me only rm12 which we think is on the low price end.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank navynectarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews