We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 July 2016”
Review of Tiger Rock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tiger Rock
Reviewed 17 July 2016

What a wonderful sanctuary for a bit of R&R.Such a rare find in this hectic and crazy world we live in. It was a true chance to experience a little bit of the rainforest including hornbills and monkeys all day long.The food and service is fantastic and the ambience so good we really didn't need to do anything but sit down and soak it all up.If you're looking for a true taste of Malaysia, this is your spot!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindyjanehunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2016

BEWARE -> Tiger Rock

1) Are you ready to inhale dust and fungus from a 20 year old musty, dusty house? Full of magazines, artifacts, toys etc. hoarded over 20 years lying there gathering dust?

2) Are you willing to damage your respiration and the environment by spraying chemical mosquito repellants??

3) Are you willing to stay alone or with your family on a 12 acre overgrown rubber plantation without any security, in today’s day and time especially when some deranged humans are behaving even worse than beast in our world.

4) Is tasty food comprising of fried food, white rice, white bread, cakes, curry puffs, mock meat etc considered healthy by you? Or do you forget about health when travelling??


5) Are disposable plastic bottle, plastic bags, glasses etc., ecofriendly? Do you support their use??

6) When drinking water is scare in summer for the under-privilege on this tiny islands, is having two swimming pools on the premises called sustainable tourism? And these too were with compromised hygiene.

7) Are beaches choking on human spoil, your concept of pristine white beaches??

Are you willing to pay your hard earned money for the above mentioned hoax in the name eco-friendliness? Then please go ahead and put your money down the drain as I did mine and then fell severely ill in this so called “Premium Eco Resort – Tiger Rock”

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank drpriya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerRock, Owner at Tiger Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

I’ve taken a deep breath before responding to this set of questions & review from Priya who stayed with us just recently. Priya came with her family.

Anyone in the hospitality business knows that sometimes its really hard to please particular guests, no matter how much the team tries to accommodate them. Priya has been someone that, unfortunately did not ‘like’ Tiger Rock at all. We do feel very sad about this.

Generally our guests have a fantastic time as you can see from most of the reviews here. They appreciate the team & the food, the care. We can’t thank our guests enough for the support they give us over Trip Advisor. It is so much appreciated by all our Tiger Rock Team, all from the local island community, who work to make sure all guests needs are met with respect, honesty & a real genuine care.

In the past we have had to find previous guests alternative accommodation because: they were not comfortable in the jungle, they hated chichaks( little lizards) in their rooms, they could not deal with the sound of cicadas etc. These are all reasonable reasons not to want to stay in a place & we understand completely.

Priya sent me a lengthy letter expressing her various displeasures with Tiger Rock, the unhealthy food, the Main House that is so dirty it is ‘unfit for humans to stay’, inadequate security & safety measures, chemical repellents & plastics on our premises etc. In her reply to my reply she sent me some ‘points and facts to ponder’, which I duly did.

She also did write ‘PS Was wondering whether a word of caution ought to be put up on trip advisor?? To protect hapless Travellers like me.’ I wrote that it was her prerogative to do so and.…. I was forewarned.

Priya did however, say that Tiger Rock had ‘a charming colorful presence’ and ‘The rubber plantation which has now turned into a jungle is enchanting.’ This is lovely.

Priya told me that she had a blog, promoted eco friendly holidays, is a doctor & had wanted to write a ‘beautiful post on Tiger Rock’ but now ‘it had to wait’ as she had returned home ‘completely tired & sick’. I apologized that she had such a miserable time with us and found everything she wrote totally acceptable, to a degree, as every guest has a perfect right to their own opinions & feelings toward a place.

I replied to her, asking for clarification on the issues, some suggestions she could provide & explained that many of the issues could have been cleared if she had informed Mohan our manager immediately. I confirmed that actually, we do have a policy of ‘no plastic straws’ & the water bottles in the room are all refillable stainless steel so that they can be filled with our own boiled water. Mohan confirmed this with me when I asked afterwards. We recycle all other plastic etc through the island recycling system, which granted is not as good as it should be etc. Some guests do request store bought mineral water & we do of course, provide this on request. Priya asked for extra water & was given bottled and could have perhaps, rejected these for our lovely boiled spring water in refillable bottles.

We do have chemical mosquito sprays in the rooms which guests have the option, or not, to use. Mainly, we do have to be sensible about the issues of current dengue & warnings of zika outbreaks, & many of our guests insist on a ‘potent’ spray against mosquitoes. Otherwise, we use a handmade pepper spray around the property to combat insect infestation etc. This is the reason we have so many butterflies, beetles, moths etc.

Priya complained of mould & dust and I have gone back to our team to require them to check & recheck if needs be. It is an issue in the jungle & in a wooden house( our Main House is wooden), so her dissatisfaction with this is probably most valid.

As regards our unhealthy food….we know that Bavanni is an excellent cook & we use all the local ingredients, spices & herbs in the market on the day. Tiger Rock provides a mainly local menu of Asian dishes which are stir fried, steamed, fried etc etc. They are by enlarge, healthy delicious meals that everyone enjoys and goes on to remember. Yes we do use white rice, as does most of Asia, & flour for tosai, bread etc. We do offer on request vegetarian meals( Priya is vegetarian & her husband notified me of this before arrival), gluten free, vegan meals, lactose free etc & we also offer an Ayurvedic menu should guests prefer. Priya was served tofu 'vegetarian meat' at the first dinner & made her dislike of it known so was not served it again during her stay. Guests on holiday do have a choice but generally, always enjoy the local food Bavanni cooks fresh for them everyday. Mohan did confirm that Priya did give them suggestions in the kitchen pretty much everyday, on what to prepare for her.

I dealt with the issue of medical emergencies. We have dealt with a few (snake bite, dislocated fingers, epileptic fits) very successfully at the great local hospital just on the mainland. And on, the issues of security( all guests are given Mohans’ handphone number to call directly) & the issue of no phones in the room we are trying to sort out now with a call button type system in case guests have no handphones. We built Tiger Rock from scratch, lived, brought up 2 little children & had another little baby in the jungle of Pangkor, have built strong local ties on the island, & with Mohan & the team, we genuinely feel security is a minimal issue. We are however, very aware of security for our guests and this is always top of our list. The jungle itself, is by and large, harmless and in fact, a haven of peace.

Yes, we have 2 salt water pools & the hygiene, I promise, is great! Our main pool was a chlorine pool but we were unhappy with our team having to deal with chlorine all the time & environmentally, its not good. So the much smaller pool at Hill House was built as a salt water pool right from the start 2 years ago, & we converted the main pool to salt water early this year. Mohan is meticulous about the hygiene in the pool.

We do have a dam from our stream on the land & the water is pumped into holding tanks for use in the houses, to boil for water, cooking etc. It is good, clean soft water. The pools were filled once and now there is just top ups. Most holiday homes & resorts do have swimming pools don’t they?

The beaches on Pangkor are always hard to keep clean but the team at Tiger Rock is not responsible for the local beaches. Although Mohan wishes we could be responsible for all the beaches, we aren’t, the Local Council is & I strongly suggest & hope that Priya can write directly to the Council or media on this matter. In fact, we suggest all our guests write to the Council & media on this as it then helps us negotiate for better Council services & longer term best management of the issues. The island relies on its natural beauty for long term sustainable tourism but yes, plastics are a nightmare of the modern world & everyone has to do a little bit to cut down down on their use. Mohan & the team do all they can & have taken it upon themselves to do regular cleanups at Teluk Sekadas, where our guests often hike to. It’s a thankless, never-ending job as the tide brings up so much rubbish everyday, especially after storms.

I was happy to deal with everything except one statement, where in the first letter our wonderful dedicated staff are referred to as ‘simple village folks unaware of these things’, & in the second letter ‘They are simple village folk who are just following orders’. To this I have to say I took great personal offense. All our previous guests will I believe, understand my feelings here.

This is what I replied to Priya: “I went through your letter with Mohan & he is most upset that you did not mention any of the issues directly to him, as he would have gladly tried to smooth them out immediately.

We at Tiger Rock are very proud to be run & managed by respected members of the Local Island Community. It is one of our main highlights as an ‘eco friendly’ property, that we employ all local Pangkor Islanders. Mohan was the Food & Beverage Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, speaks 5 languages, is on the local State Council for tourism, is a well respected committee member of the Island’s Indian Temple, & we feel very privileged that he & Bavanni joined us right from our beginnings. He focuses his attention completely on the guests, treats everyone equally & without prejudice, & manages Tiger Rock proudly as if it were his own. The local Pangkor Islanders are unpretentious, honest, spiritual and caring people, & it is in this that 99.9% of our guests take note of & find the charm that is Tiger Rock. David & I feel extremely lucky & privileged that we have this wonderful team of people working for us.” 

Priya passed on some very helpful suggestions & I have already been working with Mohan to put them into practice, so rest assured her helpful advice has been taken. As in my last letter to Priya, I again wish her all the best & a happy life always. Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016

A wonderful experience from start to finish. Spectacular setting,wonderful care from Mohan and his team and world class cooking from Bavanni. Mohan took us on a tour of the island and is a mine of information, we walked through the jungle to a local beach, we borrowed bikes. And the food was out of this world! Fantastic!

Room Tip: Pool chalet close to pool and restaurant. Studio a bit of a climb but stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmseabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016

A home away from home, with heart-warming service and awesome Malaysian food served! Our stay at Tiger Rock was unforgettable and totally connected with us; it was very private with lovely rustic decor, spacious ensuite bedroom with open living and dining rooms and our own private infinity pool that enabled us to truly disconnect with the world but reconnect with nature comfortably. We loved how well Mohan, Bavanni and the team took care of us - amazing breakfast, lunch, tea and dinners - always a real treat with the freshest fish or catch of the day, meat and vegetables cooked to perfection. Fruits and fresh juices were abundant, and we absolutely loved the sago gula melaka dessert - so divine that we had two servings! Mohan will always go out of his way to make us feel special that way. We really enjoyed the island tour in his 26-year old 4WD which was a great way to see the island and understand local way of living and culture plus support local communities with shopping for the dried seafood/ local snacks like yummy satay fish. Only thing is that it would be better to buy/ shop at the direct factory rather than the main shopping street. We would love to be back!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Q7942ZOmichellep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

You will love this place if you are going for a quiet retreat with excellent home cook food. You will be disappointed if you are looking for a 5 star luxury hotel stay. What you will get here is tranquil open air spaces surrounded by nature, huge room space and boutique hotel deco. The best part is you will be spoilt with such genuine n personal hospitality that makes this place a true gem. The food will also remind you (if you are a Malaysian foodie) of your childhood favorites! We had the best steamed pomfret, excellently flavored ikan kayu, crispy and very lightly fried seafood and amazing desserts! The sago with gula Melaka was divine! Thank you Mohan team for my making our holiday a fantastic one!

Stayed: May 2016
Thank B9199SJjamies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkor
1.8 km away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
1.9 km away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
3.0 km away
Pangkor Laut Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Nipah Guesthouse
Nipah Guesthouse
#1 of 18 in Pangkor
307 reviews
4.7 km away
Anjungan Beach Resort
Anjungan Beach Resort
#3 of 27 in Pangkor
365 reviews
4.5 km away
Joe Fisherman Inn
Joe Fisherman Inn
#2 of 25 in Pulau Pangkor
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiger Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiger Rock

Address: WD.2 Pangkor, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Pangkor
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiger Rock 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiger Rock is about sustainable tourism which includes participation of the local Pangkor Island community, preserving the natural environment and cultural way of life as well as ensuring mutual respect and benefits to all parties involved. This commitment is reflected in every aspect of Tiger Rock, from the way it is designed and built, to how it is managed by local islanders. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tiger Rock Hotel Pangkor
Tiger Rock Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing