We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$30
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/12/21
Booking.com
US$34
View deal
Agoda.com
US$23
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/12/21
eDreamsUS$34
Trip.comUS$33
StayForLong
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
68
129
62
18
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
68
129
62
18
17
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2019 via mobile

Kimberley Hotel Georgetown is a medium sized hotel strategically located in the heart of Georgetown. Komtar bus station is just a stone's throw away. Restaurants and street foods are all within walking distance from the hotel. The hotel has a pretty decent nicely decorated clean room with all the necessary amenities. The bed is comfortable, water pressure is superb and a good selection of satellite tv channels. The hotel also has a restaurant The Auctions Room which serves daily breakfast,lunch and dinner. Despite the lack of variety of food on the breakfast buffet you will always be well taken care of by the restaurant staff led by Azhar and his team. Also the staffs at the reception are all well trained and committed in their works and they always greet you with a smile. Above all, the Skyview at the rooftop of the hotel has an amazing Komtar (the tallest building in Penang) view.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Soloscorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharifahQaseh, Front Office Manager at Kimberley Hotel Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2019

Dear Soloscorpio,

Thank you for your great feedback and it is very comforting to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff and enjoyed your visit in our hotel.We have taken note of your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services.


One again,Thank you for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back for another pleasant stay.


Cheers!

" To Give The Best Accommodation Experience "

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2019 via mobile

came here with my wife for short vacation. You cannot expect to much for what you pay but i think it worth it. It came with breakfst .For those who come with personal transportation please note that hotel parking is very limited. On peak hour you need to park tepi jalan. Dont forget to get parking coupon or use app penang smart parking

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank inchekp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharifahQaseh, Front Office Manager at Kimberley Hotel Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2019

Dear inchekp,

Thank you for choosing Kimberley Hotel and sharing your feedback with us!
We are glad to have you here in our home and enjoyed our service and location in the heart of Georgetown.


One again, on behalf of Kimberley Hotel team, thank you and all of us look forward to welcoming you back.


Cheers!

" To Give The Best Accommodation Experience "

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2019

Hotel is located near the heart of China Town.....Dozens of dining options are within a 5 minute walk. At the end of the block there is a night market. The hotel is a nice budget hotel with very professional staff.. I would recommend to others without any hesitation.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Majolicamaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharifahQaseh, Front Office Manager at Kimberley Hotel Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2019

Dear Majolicamaniac,

Thank you for choosing Kimberley Hotel and for giving us time writing a wonderful review!
We are glad to have you here in our home and enjoyed our service and location in the heart of Georgetown.


One again, on behalf of Kimberley Hotel team, thank you and all of us look forward to welcoming you back.


Cheers!

" To Give The Best Accommodation Experience "

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2019

We choose to stay in this hotel based on recommendations from our friends
The hotel lobby has a old but modern vibe

Good points :
-in the middle of Georgetown, Kimberley night market is only 100 meters
Chulia night market is only 5-7 minutes walk. Tai Tong dimsum restaurant is only 150 meters
-Upside Down museum is also very near around 150 meters
-nearby shopping mall : Komtar, 1st Avenue, and Prangin Mall (-/+ 100 meters)
-they reduce plastic bottle waste by providing water dispenser, bring your own tumbler when you go
-basic amenities : shampoo, bath gel, towels is provided
they can provide hair dryer, hair cap etc by requests only

What needs improvement :
-the cleanliness is okay but not the best
there is strange smell coming from the shower curtain
-some stains on the room wall
-they do not put separator in shower area and closet area so when you bath the water will reach the closet
-the room aircon is not cool enough
-hotel wifi is very slow, and mobile connection is also slow in this area, I don't know why

Other things :
-our room is a bit small, if you want more space, take a closer look into the sqft area in room description

Overall it is a very nice stay for us. The location is indeed the best!

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharifahQaseh, Front Office Manager at Kimberley Hotel Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2019

Dear agnes_grace,

Thank you for your feedback.It is certainly a great pleasure to have received your feedback and thank you for the time you have taken to describe and give your comments, While we are appreciate your compliments, we also have taken note on your feedback and it is indeed disheartening to learn of the inconveniences you had to endure in what would be otherwise a hassle-free gateway.Please accept our sincere apology for the less than ideal guest experience.


One again,Thank you for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back for another pleasant stay.


Cheers!

" To Give The Best Accommodation Experience "

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2019

Relatively quiet stay right in the heart of the historical & cultural district of Georgetown, Penang. We were only a minute's walk from the food-galore of Kimberley Street, and on the other side, a 5 minute walk from Prangin Mall and Komtar. Got woken up every morning at 5.55am with the morning call to prayer (there's a mosque diagonally across) but other than that, it was a good stay. Bed was comfortable, the toilet drainage, alas, was not very well done because the entire toilet would be flooded after a shower. Room is a little tight, but still manageable.

Date of stay: August 2019
2  Thank Francyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharifahQaseh, Front Office Manager at Kimberley Hotel Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2019

Dear Francyn T,

Thank you for choosing Kimberley Hotel and for giving us time writing such a positive review!

We are happy to have you here in our home and we glad that our hotel is located in the heart of Georgetown and its very easy to reach the place of interest by foot.Further to your comment we have taken note and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our service.

Thank you and We look forward to delighting you again to Kimberley Hotel.


Cheers!


" To Give The Best Accommodation Experience "

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews