We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Marielle B
Toulouse

Perfect

Review of Hutton Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Aug 2016
Very quiet place in the center of george town. The room has a window, it is very clean. There is air côditionning. The barhroom and the toilets are separated which is rare ! The staff is helpful and friendly. The common space is very pleasant.
Date of stay: July 2016
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HuttonLodgePenang, Manager at Hutton Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 16 Aug 2016
Thanks and enjoy the rest of your holiday.
See you again next time..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
RM 378
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 378
0.7 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 336
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 336
0.2 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Deluxe Room / Club Deluxe Room
Tripadvisor
RM 479
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 604
RM 583
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Hotel Website
    RM 604
3.0 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 609
  • Expedia.com
    RM 668
0.5 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
Booking.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 272
  • Agoda.com
0.1 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 955
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe room available from 168nett onwards
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 112
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 446
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotel website
    RM 198
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 194
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in George Town
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
124
171
58
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
124
171
58
20
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2016

I stayed here for 2 nights in single room with shared bathrooms. The room is common,but shared bathrooms is very clean and safe for girl who travel alone. Ofcourse! The location is perfect,you can walk to the local market, restaurant and bus stop in 3 minutes.

If you're looking for the guesthouse in George Town. Everything is good for this price!

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vinci N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Great location for walking and busses...set back from street...no outside noise,but inside can be noisy...Stayed here recently,and 9 years ago...It has gone downhill as far as furniture and physical property...beds and bath not great...wifi sporadic...very helpful and friendlystaff full of information about transportation and attractions,very good English spoken..room comes with breakfast of coffee,tea,toast,banana bread...coffee very good...more like a hostel than a guest house... Liked it much better 9 years ago...would not stay there again..needs total makeover...

Room tip: Go elsewhere
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 June 2016

We simply loved staying at Hutton Lodge, not only for it's location but also for it's superb ambience as well as being looked after by the marvellously friendly staff, namely, Andrew, Mr Kwok, Jay and the rest.

Initially, we were planning to stay four nights at the Hutton Lodge but we ended up staying for nine nights. Not only did we get to enjoy a simple but delicious breakfast of toasts, jam, butter and a slice of banana cake, (sometimes two) but to partake it each day in the serene courtyard. We also enjoyed catching up with daily local news from the Star newspaper or reading a book each morning so much so that it gets to be an effort to leave the place to do some sight seeing. Hutton Lodge is so central that one can walk almost anywhere, to Armenian Street to enjoy street art, to Chulia and Kimberley street for street / hawker food. Catch the free CAT bus to Komptar for a spot of shopping or to the jetty to visit some unusual settlement.

Walk to the E&O to observe colonial architecture and on your way to this colonial hotel, lots of pubs close by, to quench your thirst. What I also loved about staying at the lodge is the historical aspect of this grand old dame. Check out the photos dotted around the place telling the story of days gone by. We also enjoyed meet visitors from different parts of Malaysia and other countries. Above all, what makes this place worth staying is the friendly and helpful staff that I had named.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Cupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in a twin room & found it great value for money. The room was comfortable and the shared bathrooms very clean. The staff were friendly & the location perfect for the Heritage Area of Georgetown. Breakfast was a little boring, maybe some fruit would be nice but for the price it's okay.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Connie_Hopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Hutton Lodge has a good location and is a great value for money.

- Rooms and bathroom clean, no complaints
- very friendly and helpful staff
- good aircon
- very centrally located
-basic breakfast (toast and tea/coffee)
- slow internet

Very good value for money and definitely recommend it !

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank MrunaliniB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews