We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Gary H
Kuala Lumpur

Cheap and cheerful

Review of Hutton Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Oct 2016
Convenient location in a lovely colonial house. The rooms are basic but so is the price. Firm bed, hot shower, cold air-con. Simple breakfast included but many alternate eateries in the neighbourhood. Nice terrace for relaxing with a beer in hand after a day's sightseeing.
Date of stay: October 2016
Room Tip: Rooms vary in size, location and en-suite facilities. I had a side room on ground floor with...
Trip type: Travelled solo
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
RM 800
  • Expedia.com
    RM 668
  • Vio.com
    RM 427
  • Hotels.com
    RM 577
0.5 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
Booking.com
RM 280
  • Vio.com
    RM 207
  • Agoda.com
    RM 207
  • Priceline
    RM 228
0.1 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 566
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 378
  • Vio.com
    RM 320
  • Hotels.com
    RM 379
0.7 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 373
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 336
  • Agoda.com
    RM 233
  • Hotels.com
    RM 297
0.2 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 902
Fully refundable
  • Hotel Website
    RM 660
  • Priceline
    RM 808
  • Hotels.com
    RM 832
0.7 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Room / Club Deluxe Room
Booking.com
RM 480
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    RM 480
  • Agoda.com
    RM 358
  • Expedia.com
    RM 479
0.6 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe room available from 168nett onwards
Booking.com
RM 166
  • Agoda.com
    RM 81
  • Priceline
    RM 125
  • Expedia.com
    RM 118
0.4 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 413
  • Priceline
    RM 283
  • Agoda.com
    RM 267
  • Trip.com
    RM 288
1.2 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 690
Fully refundable
  • Hotel Website
    RM 604
  • Agoda.com
    RM 516
  • Expedia.com
    RM 583
3.0 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel website
RM 198
  • Booking.com
    RM 198
  • Priceline
    RM 178
  • Agoda.com
    RM 198
0.6 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in George Town
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
124
171
58
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
124
171
58
20
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Gave us bed bugs.

And the old man was watching porn on the computer while we should check out.

Nice location and a friendly lady who gave us a lot of information about the town is the only good about it.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank eelajjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

This place shouldn't really be listed under hotels as it certainly isn't one. It reminded me of being back in halls at university.

The room is okay, very minimal space around the bed. Aircon worked well, wifi was a weak signal but worked slowly. The sheet is too small for the bed so it comes off and you end up sleeping on the mattress - as I'm sure all guest prior to us also did. The windows in the room are just shutters and then glass shutters so the road can be quite loud.

The shared bathroom is pretty good, the showers are nice and powerful. There are three toilets and three showers, all of which are shared between male/female.

Location is good, minutes away from lovely Roti Canai, about 10-15 minutes from little India and love lane etc. I had the best Roti Canai at a place called D'Meena Cafe in Little India.

Staff seemed nice enough and were unobtrusive, but a very basic stay.

Date of stay: October 2016
Thank Rad2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Mansion close to the city center of Georgetown with spacious rooms and kind staff. Simple breakfast included, cold drinks available. Quiet and cosy retreat about 5 minutes walk from Chulia street/ Lovelane were the nightlife takes place.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 33NLJennyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Simple and quiet, within walking distance to many food stalls and craft shops. Affordable price for a good comfortable stay. Best suited for couples or groups of 4-6 who are looking for a place to stay when going for their weekend getaway in Penang

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank pmmathews
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 August 2016

I stayed here for two days, and the overall exp was very good. Location was good, Hutton street is one-way but not too hard to access, even for airport taxis. Only a few steps to Kimberley Street, the famous street for many amazing Chinese street food, including Char Koay Toew, Koay Chap, Hokkien Mee, Wantan Mee... or Lebuh Keng Wee for the most famous chendul, ice kacang... and much much more (wish I had more time to try them all). Breakfast was simple but nice, gave you some light energy to start up your day. Room condition was okay and acceptable at this price range, my only complaint would be the air-conditioner making too much noise :) Shared bathroom was quite clean and light enough, water was a bit weak, and sewage was quite small, causing a bit of flooding. Receptionists were very nice and helpful, all spoke good English, I found no trouble talking with them, willing to carry your luggage, call a cab or even provide you with a local map, which I found very helpful. This would be a perfect place for solo travelers who are on a budget trip. Was actually fine enough for us as couple travelers. Consider this everyone!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jkmaikhoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews