We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (528)
Filter reviews
528 results
Traveller rating
446
57
17
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
446
57
17
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine hour hour lounge pre dinner wine nougat infused water small luxury hotel snacks and soft drinks beautifully restored mansion lounge area beautiful hotel local snacks blue mansion quieter room red garden free flow of wine round the clock nasi lemak
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 528 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Location is perfect - near to everything from food to tourist place. Room is spacious, shower place is nice and cosy, staffs are polite and friendly and the best part of this hotel is the lounge area where can access to food and drink round the clock

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank TaiL14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan K, Manager at The Edison George Town, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Penang. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience from our location and guestroom to our signature personalised service and all-inclusive offerings. We look forward to welcoming you again to Experience more of The Exceptional.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

A beautifully restored old world mansion in the middle of George Town, Penang, Malaysia. Elegantly appointed and exceptional service. Highly recommend this boutique hotel. Easy walking distance to everything George Town has to offer and the street art is something you have to see and photograph.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotelier_from_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan K, Manager at The Edison George Town, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

We thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation of us. It was indeed our pleasure taking care of you and your family. We are humbled by your recognition of our elegantly appointed Hotel, and our "exceptional" personalised service, especially coming from a fellow Hotelier. We await in anticipation to welcoming you again hopefully in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

A beautiful small hotel. If you want to see and feel George Town and Penang this is the place to stay. Impeccable smiling service at all times. We were fortunate with the weather and were able to explore thoroughly!
Great breakfast and a lovely glass of wine at 18.00 - a chance to meet other visitors.

Room tip: We often have trouble getting a twin bed room - no problem at the Edison.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulineNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan K, Manager at The Edison George Town, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

We thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience staying with us especially our "impeccable" personalised service. We are also happy to hear that you managed to explore our neighbourhood thoroughly. Last but not least, we are also thrilled to hear that our all-inclusive offerings especially our Continental Breakfast and pre-dinner wine discovery had met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Edison for 3 nights, visually it is a stunning hotel inside and out and even nicer than we expected. The staff are super friendly and cannot do enough for you, when we arrived we were given a guided tour by Sophie and she then sat us down and talked us through the best places to visit whilst in Penang. Sophie provided us with a map and a list of the best spots to eat at, which proved extremely useful for us. During our stay other members of staff also offered us advice on places to go and each one was great. The staff are a testament to this hotel!

We loved the hospitality and were pleasantly surprised to find that they offered a cheese and wine hour each evening, when you could eat and drink complimentary cheese and wine, we thoroughly enjoyed this. Drinks and snacks were also on offer throughout the day and were complimentary, we absolutely loved it!

The only reason we haven’t given 5 stars is due to the noise we experienced in our room, which was located above the kitchen, which woke us up each morning. However the rest of our stay was fantastic and we would definitely return again and recommend to others.

Finally the staff allowed us to store our luggage after check out as we had a later flight, which helped us out massively.

Thank you to all at The Edison you do a fantastic job!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank laurenbD9981LN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan K, Manager at The Edison George Town, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Thank you for staying with us during your recent to Penang and recommendation of us. We are elated to hear your appreciation of this stunning Grand Old Dame, our personalised service and all-inclusive offerings especially at The Lounge. We are also happy to hear that our recommendations had met your expectations. We have taken note on your comment on the noise level experienced from your room and have since begun the process to better our guests experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you again hopefully in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

This is a charming boutique hotel in the Small Luxury Hotels group, beautifully and sympathetically renovated from an old heritage building. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. It is conveniently situated in town and within walking distance to many eating places and temples.The bedroom suites are well stocked and the lounge is open 24/7 to residents. Breakfast, snacks at teatime and wine during happy hour in the evening are all included in the room charge.

Room tip: The front rooms can be noisy at night due to the singing from the bar opposite. Earplugs are provided though.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank MichaelChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan K, Manager at The Edison George Town, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Penang. We appreciate your recognition of the restoration work done to this Grand Old Dame, our personalised service and your enjoyment of our all-inclusive offerings. We would like to know how your experience could have been enhanced, and would appreciate if you could share some of your comments on wecare-GT@theedisonhotels.com. We look forward to welcoming you again to experience more of The Edison Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews