We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (920)
Filter reviews
920 results
Traveller rating
792
87
23
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
792
87
23
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine hour hour lounge small luxury hotel beautiful hotel old mansion local snacks lounge area free flow blue mansion red garden food court the hotel manager coffee machine interior design modern amenities light sleeper tourist attractions
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 920 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2022

Stayed for 4 nights recently. Beautiful property, excellent location within the historic part of the town, very walkable to many parts. The staff was very attentive and helpful at all times, they went over and above too in providing some great recommendations for local food and drink. 5 stars, I would highly recommend it, I loved my stay here! Thanks again!

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank B7112TXjordanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Team Edison, Guest Services / Front Office at The Edison George Town, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2022

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your stay and was able to explore Penang with our recommendations. We strive to provide our version of personalized service in making all of our guests feel at home during their stay with us. It is the opportunity to care and serve guests like yourselves that makes our work so much more gratifying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2022

Stayed here for a long weekend in Penang.

Me and my wife really like the hotel in overall. Great room with high ceiling, equipped with coffee machine and nice amenities.
Good lounge area with free drinks and snacks.
Amazing hopitality with helpful recommendations and really caring, as well.

Highly recommended for holiday in Penang.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank anthonyreza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Team Edison, Guest Services / Front Office at The Edison George Town, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2022

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you and your wife had enjoyed your stay and TheLounge.
We strive to provide our version of personalized service in making all of our guests feel at home during their stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you and your wife again to The Edison George Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2022

A beautifully restored Anglo-Colonial mansion with an absolute interior design of whimsical touches of heritage within. The fresh concept combines timeless elegance, extending a blend of modern and traditional elements with quality and charm which definitely blown my mind.

Very helpful and welcoming staff. Served a light and good breakfast which definitely a good idea for those traveler which opted for local food hunting in Georgetown. Ample space for parking area. The lounge open for 24/7 which served free flow coffee, tea, local snacks, fruits, juice & carbonated drinks.

Recommended!!!

Room tip: High floors rooms are more privacy
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank faezjafri
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Team Edison, Guest Services / Front Office at The Edison George Town, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2022

We thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear your appreciation of the aesthetic of this Grand Old Dame and our boutique heritage concept. We serve a Continental Breakfast as part of our all-inclusive offering so that guests can head out to savor more of the street food that Penang is so well known for. We are delighted and happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your recommendations. Looking forward to welcoming you again to experiencing more of #TheEdisonExperience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2022

We loved the Edison in Penang. Very friendly staff and in a beautifully renovated mansion in an excellent location. Our room was spacious and very comfortable.
Albert in particular was very helpful. An excellent place to stay in Penang.

Room tip: The first floor is the best and quieter
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pnaguipulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Team Edison, Guest Services / Front Office at The Edison George Town, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2022

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Penang and your kind review.
Your comments have been shared with the team and all are delighted and happy that they managed to create #TheEdisonExperience for your holidays with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2022

The rooms were really well designed to fit in with the original Peranakan styling, yet still felt modern and spacious. The amenities were great, in particular the 24h lounge stocked with complimentary snacks and drinks. The staff were extremely friendly as well, and they do not hesitate to answer guest queries or give food or activity recommendations. All in all I have to say this was among the best experiences I have ever had at any hotel and would definitely recommend to my friends and family!

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sumedha_lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Team Edison, Guest Services / Front Office at The Edison George Town, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2022

Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are happy that you had been able to Experience the Exceptional. It is important to us that we provide to all guests our signature of personalized service and localized experience, to ensure that they get that authentic experience of visiting Penang. We thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews