We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
RM 373
Fully refundable before Thu, 18 Apr
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
RM 241
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Genau1855
Zurich, Switzerland
Beautyfull Hotel with a few but’s
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Aug 2023
A beautyfull inside with some but’s
We had a beautyfull room with all you need. We loved the wood theme and it was clean. We did not like that the air conditioning was working poorly. We didn't have a window to get some light from outside. The bathroom was without ventilation so the humidity stayed in the room. Yes you could open the window to the stairways but then again Moskitos humidity and heat. So we thought nice concept, great to stay at city center but way over priced.
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
RM 510
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    RM 239
  • Expedia.com
    RM 342
0.5 km from Areca Hotel Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 800
  • Expedia.com
    RM 672
  • Agoda.com
    RM 445
  • Hotels.com
    RM 583
0.6 km from Areca Hotel Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
Booking.com
RM 230
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    RM 177
  • Vio.com
0.3 km from Areca Hotel Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 1,000
Fully refundable
  • Hotel Website
  • travelup.com
    RM 820
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,073
0.9 km from Areca Hotel Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
Aerial View of Savv Boutique Hotel
Booking.com
RM 413
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    RM 267
  • Trip.com
1.2 km from Areca Hotel Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 664
Fully refundable
  • Hotel Website
  • KLOOK
    RM 419
  • Expedia.com
    RM 565
3.1 km from Areca Hotel Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Building
Booking.com
RM 157
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 135
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Areca Hotel Penang
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 524
  • Hotel Website
  • Agoda.com
    RM 391
  • Expedia.com
    RM 482
3.0 km from Areca Hotel Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 162
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • KLOOK
    RM 122
  • Hotel website
0.8 km from Areca Hotel Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in George Town
Reviews (761)
Filter reviews
761 results
Traveller rating
562
171
20
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
562
171
20
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room roti bakar family suite walking distance famous chendol chowrasta market free afternoon tea excellent hotel boutique hotel tourist attractions free bus heritage building pleasant stay the ground floor street food easy access stayed for nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 761 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2023

The location is excellent as it is in easy walking distance to places of interest and great food. The Areca has an old-world charm as well as modern amenities providing both comfort and atmosphere. The rooms are spacious and the internal atrium has a range of comfortable seating options in a light and calm space. The staff are exceptionally helpful and thoughtful making our stay relaxing and enjoyable. I would happily stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Odyssey22800534895
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Areca Hotel, General Manager at Areca Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2023

Dear Odyssey22800534895,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about your stay. We are delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant experience during your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Areca in the future for another enjoyable stay!

Best Regards,

Wah Eng Hong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2023

I stayed two nights in Areca Hotel.The location is absolutely great.There are several tourist spots nearby.You can walk to have Roti Canai and Chendul just in 1min.
The room size is small but clean.It’s quiet at night so that you can get a nice sleep.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jr-Shian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Areca Hotel, General Manager at Areca Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2023

Dear Jr-Shian,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback regarding your recent stay. We're thrilled to learn that you had such a delightful experience during your time with us. We eagerly anticipate the opportunity to welcome you again at the Areca Hotel in the coming days, ensuring another wonderful stay for you.

Best Regards,

Wah Eng Hong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2023

On arrival we received a warm and kind welcome at the reception with a drink. The rooms are very large with a beautiful style. We loved the rainshower. The breakfast buffet was great with several pastry options, several eggs, bacon, and we loved the yoghurt cups!

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Brenda_van_Geest
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Areca Hotel, General Manager at Areca Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2023

Dear Brenda_van_Geest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about your stay. We are delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant experience during your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Areca in the future for another enjoyable stay!

Best Regards,

Wah Eng Hong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2023

An amazing hotel that tops in their hospitable service. We really enjoyed our 4-night stay here. Our room was huge, clean and comfortable. Service was impeccable and from the heart. Everywhere we went, the staff was ever ready with a smile and if need be, ever ready to assist. Loved the personal touch of a welcome drink that was the nutmeg juice. We were even more delighted with their daily afternoon tea. A really classy hotel with classy hospitality. Thank you for the memories, Team Areca!! Truly no regrets choosing Areca Hotel for our trip.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GemJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Areca Hotel, General Manager at Areca Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2023

Dear GemJourneys,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience! We are thrilled to hear that you had such a fantastic 4-night stay with us and that you enjoyed our hospitality to the fullest.

Our team takes great pride in providing impeccable service from the heart, and it's truly rewarding to know that we succeeded in making your stay memorable. We're delighted that you found your room spacious, clean, and comfortable, and that the staff was always ready to assist you with a smile.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope to welcome you back in the future to create more cherished memories.

Best Regards,

Wah Eng Hong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2023

Staying at the Areca is like being in the house of a rich relation. The rooms are characterful, homey but comfortable. Complementary iced water in the lobby and afternoon tea provide welcome respites after a day out. Roti Bakar Hutton Lane is just outside the hotel, Chowrasta Market is across the road and the free CAT bus is nearby too. All this at reasonable prices in the middle of town.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank LBoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Areca Hotel, General Manager at Areca Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2023

Dear LBoey,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about your stay. We are delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant experience during your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Areca in the future for another enjoyable stay!

Best Regards,

Wah Eng Hong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews